Unreasonable Neighbour

PARKRANGER

its not i complained, my helper was the one who started feedbacked. also she said the trees attracting a lot of birds keep pooing on our laundry. she had to rewash quite a few times

This is one big problem
U are listening to your helper đŸ˜…

Hire her to listen to her complaints

That’s her job for god’s sake

tinwhistle83

This is one big problem
U are listening to your helper đŸ˜…

Hire her to listen to her complaints

That’s her job for god’s sake

actually she didnt actively complain to me whenever it happens. only when there were a few occasions that i was asking why my kids laundry not done. like need uniform but dont have then she said she rewashed cos got bird poopoo. then that is when she start to feedback it didnt happen one or 2 times but theres like at least 5-6 occassions she need to rewash within the short 2-3 months when we were staying there.

tinwhistle83

actually she didnt actively complain to me whenever it happens. only when there were a few occasions that i was asking why my kids laundry not done. like need uniform but dont have then she said she rewashed cos got bird poopoo. then that is when she start to feedback it didnt happen one or 2 times but theres like at least 5-6 occassions she need to rewash within the short 2-3 months when we were staying there.
also my wall pillar also have a lot of birds dropping and we can see there are always birds hanging around the trees to eat the fruit. rarely the trees no birds.

if its not affecting our laundry i will not have really bother but it come to a point when we need it, they are rewashed.

not just that that neighbour tree is encroaching our space such that the awning when deployed in our own area will always get hit and scratched cos their tree came over to our area

Kanko San

also my wall pillar also have a lot of birds dropping and we can see there are always birds hanging around the trees to eat the fruit. rarely the trees no birds.

if its not affecting our laundry i will not have really bother but it come to a point when we need it, they are rewashed.

not just that that neighbour tree is encroaching our space such that the awning when deployed in our own area will always get hit and scratched cos their tree came over to our area
Move to a HDB Unit.
More problems than landed.

EJB

Can tell me how to deal with unreasonable neighbour?

As last 2 months there was an increase of mosquito, my neighbour started to spray insecticide every day or other day within his house compound, however the area he sprayed is quite near to my living room window and everytime they spray, the smell will drift to my living room. however when they spray, they will know when they spray so they can quickly escape back to their own house and close their door while we have to breathe in their insecticide. its quite bad that sometimes it drifted all the way to my dining area.

so they started spraying somewhere in dec, then we tolerated till feb and we felt its like going on forever. so last week i tried to be nice and gave the owner's sister (who is staying there too) those electrical mosquito device that can zap mosquito and suggested to them to use. so this week they started spraying again, and i tried to speak to them but they were very hostile. the owner said he has been staying 40 years + and no issue until we came. cos when we first moved, their tree was infringing to our side so my husband asked him to trim it as legally we had every right to do so. this was only 2-3 months, after we moved in as the tree branches was growing to our side and affecting the fixture we had on our area. also my helper complained the tree had too many leaves and keep dropping to our compound, and attracting too many birds which fly past and pooed on our laundry. now when we told him about the insecticide thing, he felt we are picking bones at him. he said the behind neighbours also not happy with us cos of the trees. to be fair, in the end the tree that is at the neighbours at the back, we paid people money to trim it down ourselves because after checking with behind neighbours they said its not theirs as it was just nice growing on the fence and public drain area. so this neighbour at our side, just need to pay money to trim his tree because that was obviously growing in his garden. we had 2 young children in the house. and its only now in feb that we brought this up after 2 months cos its been too long of almost daily spraying of insecticide.

its an old uncle and his sister at 80+ years old age. sorry to say, but felt such boomers only think of themselves and not others. and funny thing is they dont pay for waste removal service but they will walk 30m to the public tree and throw their waste there.

how do you think i should go about? my in law felt we should not spoil neighbourly relationships but maybe tolerate and try to pacify them to be on their good side cos she said we have young children so we are always at the losing end.
Take cans of spray, spray with them, where they spray, you also spray, go do it with them, build a bond. Boomers just want somebody to talk to them, not throw law and legalities, ask them to trim trees.

NOT saying they are right, or you were wrong, but Boomers require a different way to start bonding.

Ironside

Can tell me how to deal with unreasonable neighbour?

As last 2 months there was an increase of mosquito, my neighbour started to spray insecticide every day or other day within his house compound, however the area he sprayed is quite near to my living room window and everytime they spray, the smell will drift to my living room. however when they spray, they will know when they spray so they can quickly escape back to their own house and close their door while we have to breathe in their insecticide. its quite bad that sometimes it drifted all the way to my dining area.

so they started spraying somewhere in dec, then we tolerated till feb and we felt its like going on forever. so last week i tried to be nice and gave the owner's sister (who is staying there too) those electrical mosquito device that can zap mosquito and suggested to them to use. so this week they started spraying again, and i tried to speak to them but they were very hostile. the owner said he has been staying 40 years + and no issue until we came. cos when we first moved, their tree was infringing to our side so my husband asked him to trim it as legally we had every right to do so. this was only 2-3 months, after we moved in as the tree branches was growing to our side and affecting the fixture we had on our area. also my helper complained the tree had too many leaves and keep dropping to our compound, and attracting too many birds which fly past and pooed on our laundry. now when we told him about the insecticide thing, he felt we are picking bones at him. he said the behind neighbours also not happy with us cos of the trees. to be fair, in the end the tree that is at the neighbours at the back, we paid people money to trim it down ourselves because after checking with behind neighbours they said its not theirs as it was just nice growing on the fence and public drain area. so this neighbour at our side, just need to pay money to trim his tree because that was obviously growing in his garden. we had 2 young children in the house. and its only now in feb that we brought this up after 2 months cos its been too long of almost daily spraying of insecticide.

its an old uncle and his sister at 80+ years old age. sorry to say, but felt such boomers only think of themselves and not others. and funny thing is they dont pay for waste removal service but they will walk 30m to the public tree and throw their waste there.

how do you think i should go about? my in law felt we should not spoil neighbourly relationships but maybe tolerate and try to pacify them to be on their good side cos she said we have young children so we are always at the losing end.
This kind of people to solve it properly, first you need to have good relationships with them. Give them some friendly gifts, greet them when you see them. Once you feel the relationship is good enough, find a good timing and tell them nicely if they can inform you before spraying so that you can close all the openings as the chemicals cause some irritation to you and your family members. The better the mutual relationship, the better the chance it can be solved.

Darkshadows

feel so bad but maybe my family will die first inhaling such air.
I feel that it's because of your trees. Go to them and try again with a sorry first and ask about what actually caused them to spray insecticide daily. If it's because of the trees, come to a consensus with them that if the trees go, they stop spraying insecticide.

I'd rather clear the trigger point than to breathe in insecticide daily.

tinwhistle83

yah again as entitled PG, they must feel they are right.
I feel that it's because of your trees. Go to them and try again with a sorry first and ask about what actually caused them to spray insecticide daily. If it's because of the trees, come to a consensus with them that if the trees go, they stop spraying insecticide.

I'd rather clear the trigger point than to breathe in insecticide daily.
thats not my trees. its theirs. lol.

prob they unhappy i ask them to trim away the side that was encroaching to our area in the 1st place. they think they stay here 50 years they are the laojiao in the area and we newbies cannot say anything if its something that affect us badly

tinwhistle83

Move to a HDB Unit.
More problems than landed.
last time i stay hdb neighbours were nice.

except one that always smoke topless in the middle of the night just outside his and our house. but since he seldom smoke in e daytime when my kids are awake, then i also forget it, just closed the door instead whenever he smokes if im still awake at midnight.

Shion

Senior Mentor
there is nothing u can do

u read newspapers, a lot of rogue people create havoc and stir shyt but nothing happen to them

always is people ownself buay tahan and move out

Kanko San

last time i stay hdb neighbours were nice.

except one that always smoke topless in the middle of the night just outside his and our house. but since he seldom smoke in e daytime when my kids are awake, then i also forget it, just closed the door instead whenever he smokes if im still awake at midnight.
Yes. This type, for me.
I would just ignore n closed the window and get away from the source, which my below unit.
But my family was harass with noise nuisance daily, even CNY n CNY eve.
Their family will die die distress us. Due to that, my heart n BP got high n eventually went for Stent Ops.
I just hope Karma will take it place.

wongminmin

the way u talk ba....
8 pages the way u type here, i can roughly know ur personality and char....

u always think from ur pov.....ur legal rights etc.
But if put in his shoes, why he live there 40 years also no such issue until u moved in?

yes u got all ur rights etc and what he does is wrong.... but if u want to solve this perm or continue to live there peaceful.... u need to go by soft approach.

example:
my frd neighbour kids always play with her doorbell, she wanted to scold the kids.
i said no, later the kids go badmouth to their parent. try to know their parent and talk with them first.
in the end, the kids stopped doing it. this is soft approach.

i met a lot of people like u.....unless u change the way u think....else basically is dead knot.

when u curse people, also consider bad karma.....just saying :censored:
only wish is they faster uplorry. felt so bad that im thinking such evil thoughts.
Only hope Karma is true, cos a man can be great, but he is not greater than GOD OR BUDDHA OR ALLAH.
I had seen pple gotten their Karma n I believed ( of course some will said coward thinking, let it be ).

tinwhistle83

the way u talk ba....
8 pages the way u type here, i can roughly know ur personality and char....

u always think from ur pov.....ur legal rights etc.
But if put in his shoes, why he live there 40 years also no such issue until u moved in?

yes u got all ur rights etc and what he does is wrong.... but if u want to solve this perm or continue to live there peaceful.... u need to go by soft approach.

example:
my frd neighbour kids always play with her doorbell, she wanted to scold the kids.
i said no, later the kids go badmouth to their parent. try to know their parent and talk with them first.
in the end, the kids stopped doing it. this is soft approach.

i met a lot of people like u.....unless u change the way u think....else basically is dead knot.

when u curse people, also consider bad karma.....just saying :censored:
perharps may have issue but we didnt know. i think we are the 3rd or maybe 4th owner of the house. actually after he cut the main part of the tree, we realise theres still an old stump of the tree means he did cut the main part of the tree before. but cos the tree is those super old kind, it will take a long while for it to grow to be super big again. we didnt request him to cut the main tree stump but only those part affecting our area.

tried the soft approach. gave them a zap machine mosquito initially.

tinwhistle83

perharps may have issue but we didnt know. i think we are the 3rd or maybe 4th owner of the house. actually after he cut the main part of the tree, we realise theres still an old stump of the tree means he did cut the main part of the tree before. but cos the tree is those super old kind, it will take a long while for it to grow to be super big again. we didnt request him to cut the main tree stump but only those part affecting our area.

tried the soft approach. gave them a zap machine mosquito initiall

behind the neighbours may not have problem with him cos theirs are semi D and their main house is at least 6-7m from his backyard. but as we are the beside neighbours, so probably face more issue with them since we r a lot closer

Darkshadows

Think for your clothes hanger, see if you can install a sturdy shelter that can withstand strong winds, to shelter your clothes from bird poo. Shelter with angled panels to prevent birds from resting on it.

wongminmin

tried the soft approach. gave them a zap machine mosquito initially.
nope... to me, this isn't soft approach. u just adding the feud. lol

Hey i gave u mosquito killer lamp, u better @$##$@ stop spraying pesticides.
Hey i will give u money or hired specialist to help u trim ur tree. u better @$##$@ stop :poop: on my floor.
To me, this aren't nice gesture. is indirect hinting his fault.

Soft approach is trying to know the other party aka make friend, and provide nice gesture....
hey i just come back from jalan kayu, bought some prata for u.
Hey i just come back from jb, bought some banana cake for u.
hey i know this pesticides work well against pests, u want to try?
see him greet etc..... Good morning Uncle, u going out? :giggle:
i find 95% soft approach will end dispute. 5% is the person being too reasonable aka unreasonable. :geek:

tinwhistle83

Think for your clothes hanger, see if you can install a sturdy shelter that can withstand strong winds, to shelter your clothes from bird poo. Shelter with angled panels to prevent birds from resting on it.
we have a retractable awning installed. but my helper usually retract it when theres sun to dry the clothes

nope... to me, this isn't soft approach. u just adding the feud. lol

Hey i gave u mosquito killer lamp, u better @$##$@ stop spraying pesticides.
Hey i will give u money or hired specialist to help u trim ur tree. u better @$##$@ stop :poop: on my floor.
To me, this aren't nice gesture. is indirect hinting his fault.

Soft approach is trying to know the other party aka make friend, and provide nice gesture....
hey i just come back from jalan kayu, bought some prata for u.
Hey i just come back from jb, bought some banana cake for u.
hey i know this pesticides work well against pests, u want to try?
see him greet etc..... Good morning Uncle, u going out? :giggle:
i find 95% soft approach will end dispute. 5% is the person being too reasonable aka unreasonable. :geek:
i did said the zapping machine works for us. they can try too. talked to them nicely.

he paid for his own worker to cut the tree in his garden.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.