Unreasonable Neighbour

Kanko San

Revenge. Vengeance. Justice.

I know what you mean.

But seriously, it is better to LET GO. The past is the past. Forget. Move on.

Practice gratitude for what now holds.

As for the future. Yes should plan to some extent. But when it starts to provoke anxiety that becomes difficult then you know time to focus on the now and practice mindfulness.

It is not natural. Our brains are wired to base on what happened in the past especially traumatic and painful difficult unhappy things. To protect self from ending up with same suffering. But this constant reminder from the Default Mode Network about the painful past itself becomes a problem to peaceful living in the now.

LET GO. MOVE ON.

What you said cos you are not in my shoes.
That noisy nuisance family, had fired the 1st Shot by issuing me a PPO.
Even our lawyer said that this is a neighbourhood dispute n the Judge also hinted that it should not be a court case.
Just because he is rich n use laws to disturb n distressed my family.
I hope Karma will strike his family.

tinwhistle83

Even our lawyer said that this is a neighbourhood dispute n the Judge also hinted that it should not be a court case.
never get into altercation with the neighbour. anyone who hurl vulgaraties or throw the 1st hit will legally be in trouble.

actually as a guy, will not be good for you to be in the frontline. best if your wife can step up. she can also issue him a PPO if he intimidate her in anyway.

Phongchi

Though I have no solution to your problem, I have dealt with problematic people through indirect help without me showing face.

Know the regulations and which agency to email and the problem become their problem. I just watch show with pop corns. 😂

Darkshadows

we have a retractable awning installed. but my helper usually retract it when theres sun to dry the clothes

i did said the zapping machine works for us. they can try too. talked to them nicely.

he paid for his own worker to cut the tree in his garden.
Problem with awnings is that it's opaque. Can try those shelter that allows sunlight to shine through. I remember there's clothes hanger with built-in shelter like that in Taobao.

tuxguy

Get industrial pest control to mass spray industrial grade insecticide back. Do it three times a day for one month, they will come nego

tinwhistle83

Problem with awnings is that it's opaque. Can try those shelter that allows sunlight to shine through. I remember there's clothes hanger with built-in shelter like that in Taobao.
i just installed when i moved in. cost me a few grands. so at least need to use for a few years haha. anyway tree situation solved for now

cyke69sg

PPO you get so upset.
In some places they rape and murder the wife or daughter. Then say hope karma strike his family.

Nemesis_lane123

As Singapore population gets bigger , won't be easy staying landed. Too dense and less neighbourliness. Your case not unique. In fact there are thousands of landed neighbourly disputes all over the island.

Future Singapore landed more prone to flooding, heat. Can't settle simple tree cutting, I see future will be less harmiouness. The biggest issue I see is that new citizens and new families moving to landed the social norms are diff compared to existing elderly residents.

What i see the main problem is the lack of a mediation party in landed. Only advice is to seek legal, which to me is the wrong choice cos once go that route, then future relations will be tit and tat. Even short term win will be long term loss.

Hdb estates governed by hdb(internal), town council(external), RN( everything else).

Condo governed by mcstaa, bca act , RN (everything else)

Landed like machiam is grey area. Everything must go legal route. Sian. If got essier middle party route then better but guess it's fully private so like everything thing is private.

Kanko San

PPO you get so upset.
In some places they rape and murder the wife or daughter. Then say hope karma strike his family.
I accepted the "Consented PPO" due to my financial stand, if not will fight all the way.
Now they hv created more noise and there is no way to tell or put a post tik requesting them to minimise or cut the. Noise totally.
As you said that in some country, if there is no laws, I would have taken more action but cos I don't want my family to be in trouble, hence swallow humble pie and yet they are still breathing on my neck.

cyke69sg

I accepted the "Consented PPO" due to my financial stand, if not will fight all the way.
Now they hv created more noise and there is no way to tell or put a post tik requesting them to minimise or cut the. Noise totally.
As you said that in some country, if there is no laws, I would have taken more action but cos I don't want my family to be in trouble, hence swallow humble pie and yet they are still breathing on my neck.
Swallow more humble pie for your family.

But if I were you I would just move.

I know SGreans don't like change. Don't like to move.

But also if move might end up same problem also.

cyke69sg

As Singapore population gets bigger , won't be easy staying landed. Too dense and less neighbourliness. Your case not unique. In fact there are thousands of landed neighbourly disputes all over the island.

Future Singapore landed more prone to flooding, heat. Can't settle simple tree cutting, I see future will be less harmiouness. The biggest issue I see is that new citizens and new families moving to landed the social norms are diff compared to existing elderly residents.

What i see the main problem is the lack of a mediation party in landed. Only advice is to seek legal, which to me is the wrong choice cos once go that route, then future relations will be tit and tat. Even short term win will be long term loss.

Hdb estates governed by hdb(internal), town council(external), RN( everything else).

Condo governed by mcstaa, bca act , RN (everything else)

Landed like machiam is grey area. Everything must go legal route. Sian. If got essier middle party route then better but guess it's fully private so like everything thing is private.
Lucky SG not many landed. So not so many such problems.

hmyoth

Inconsiderate neighbor is hard to deal with. Talk to them nicely they will tell u off. U can call the relevant authority but means neighbor become enemy. Unless u still got option to move to other place but if unlucky other neighbors can be even worse.

BohemianSG

Your husband work for pap huh?

My sop towards neighbors is always talk and mediate politely for the first time. If shiit happens the second time I immediately go into war mode. Your mistake is thinking you can reason with unreasonable people. Some people are animals and you need to treat them as such.

Congrats.. then you will live in a warzone. You think u go into war mode, ppl will scared ah?

yves

HDB and town council can't do shix one lar. When I was staying with my parent last time the bloody neighbour upstairs dragging the chair on the floor and yet nothing can be done against them. Lan lan I decided to move out

hmyoth

If u look at the current BTO, one floor easily 8 units so higher chance to encounter inconsiderate neighbors like smoker, hoarder, noisy etc. my blk one floor only 4 units , also got one neighbor that smoke at common corridor. Talk to him , next day he sit at his door step n smoke. Same impact, no difference from smoking outside. Talk to him again he said he inside his house so not against the law. I didn’t call NEA cos I know if I do that he will smoke even more at his door step to make me suffer. But now he start to smoke at common corridor again but cut down on the frequency. So I also give n take . now he see me pretend never see. Inconsiderate person is like that . Even they are wrong , they blame others ..

hmyoth

HDB and town council can't do shix one lar. When I was staying with my parent last time the bloody neighbour upstairs dragging the chair on the floor and yet nothing can be done against them. Lan lan I decided to move out
Same here , my upstairs neighbor’s kid jump n run until 2am. no need to sleep one. Go talk to them the mother tell me off saying kids are like that , but at 2am ???? Lucky they moved out n the new neighbor ok.

Nemesis_lane123

Lucky SG not many landed. So not so many such problems.
Yes more n more landed estates and freehold estates being returned b to the state. Land acquisition act allows them to take b any area n compensate market price.

Next one is at Jalan Chempaka Kuning at Simpang Bedok. Would imagine govt to build mix used plus HDB there.

More HDB fr the govt less prob. No need deal with illegal parking in landed or complex neighbourly disputes involving trees or sentimental rocks. Infrastructure design can also prevent problems.

Hdb these days they narrow the corridor so u cannt put stuff outside. Also below no more hangout areas so so ppl cannot loiter. Also limit hdb size plus number of ppl in the hse. Also recently neighbours brought to court over smoking which affect neighbours so got use case for future enforcement.

Also everywhere no more corridors windows where u can peep in your neighbors hse. Really engineered gao gao. Hdb public areas are public property so agency like police really can enforce like common corridor.

Literally engineering infrastructure to limit human behavioural problems.

yves

Same here , my upstairs neighbor’s kid jump n run until 2am. no need to sleep one. Go talk to them the mother tell me off saying kids are like that , but at 2am ???? Lucky they moved out n the new neighbor ok.
Complaint to HDB , HDB imply nothing they can do , ask Town council they arrow HDB. Kao pei to HDB , they said bei tahan just poh mata. Poh mata liao, mata come in wayang, mata left noise startted again., LPPL

tinwhistle83

Yes more n more landed estates and freehold estates being returned b to the state. Land acquisition act allows them to take b any area n compensate market price.

Next one is at Jalan Chempaka Kuning at Simpang Bedok. Would imagine govt to build mix used plus HDB there.

More HDB fr the govt less prob. No need deal with illegal parking in landed or complex neighbourly disputes involving trees or sentimental rocks. Infrastructure design can also prevent problems.

Hdb these days they narrow the corridor so u cannt put stuff outside. Also below no more hangout areas so so ppl cannot loiter. Also limit hdb size plus number of ppl in the hse. Also recently neighbours brought to court over smoking which affect neighbours so got use case for future enforcement.

Also everywhere no more corridors windows where u can peep in your neighbors hse. Really engineered gao gao. Hdb public areas are public property so agency like police really can enforce like common corridor.

Literally engineering infrastructure to limit human behavioural problems.
i think regardless landed or not its about e civic mindedness. like my the other neighbour also use cone to block the parking. so sometimes in front of my house i no where to park. but its ok cos we usually park in the house. of cos sometimes maybe a bit inconvenience if within 20m i nowhere to park if my porch is occupied. but i also dont go make noise with my neighbour because i think its give and take. and also they put cone there cos sometimes people occassionally like to park their car there to wait for their kid (primary school nearby). im sure if i really need the place in front of my house to park eg moving heavy stuff, can just ask them to move the cone for a while. dont think they will be upset too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.