UOB one card

maumu

Yes. You need to specify the payment date in cardup or ipaymy

thanks. i'll try it next month since UOB no longer give cashback after 16 March for paying insurance premium and my premium due date is 22nd of each month.

i'm just worried that they will double-charge (cardup pays them and yet they still go and charge to my UOB one card).

Trazora

thanks. i'll try it next month since UOB no longer give cashback after 16 March for paying insurance premium and my premium due date is 22nd of each month.

i'm just worried that they will double-charge (cardup pays them and yet they still go and charge to my UOB one card).

Btw you paying momthly? Think the premium will be lower if you pay annually. Also you get grab points if the use promo code for cardup/ipaymy, so may like to pay before the reduction in grab point earning wef 2 mar.

maumu

Btw you paying momthly? Think the premium will be lower if you pay annually. Also you get grab points if the use promo code for cardup/ipaymy, so may like to pay before the reduction in grab point earning wef 2 mar.

yup, paying monthly. if pay annually, I save 2% per month. but on the other hand, assuming cardup continues to be eligible for cashback by UOB one, I can get 3.33% cash back per month, so I still get a nett 1.33% rebate - better than nothing...

on the other hand, if pay annually, I can only earn the cashback for that anniversary month... and it's much more than $2000 (highest tier) so the amount in excess will not earn any rebate.

if one day cardup is no longer eligible for cashback, i'll change to paying annually...

Jazzbie

yup, paying monthly. if pay annually, I save 2% per month. but on the other hand, assuming cardup continues to be eligible for cashback by UOB one, I can get 3.33% cash back per month, so I still get a nett 1.33% rebate - better than nothing...

on the other hand, if pay annually, I can only earn the cashback for that anniversary month... and it's much more than $2000 (highest tier) so the amount in excess will not earn any rebate.

if one day cardup is no longer eligible for cashback, i'll change to paying annually...
U may have to pay annually. Cardup charges 2.25% / 2.6% fees. U won't have any nett after that.

Trazora

Yea incur 2% more premium and 1.99%-2.6% for ipaymy/cardup but only get 3.33% rebate, not worth it lah, unless u using cardup referral code then maybe earn a bit.

maumu

U may have to pay annually. Cardup charges 2.25% / 2.6% fees. U won't have any nett after that.

Yea incur 2% more premium and 1.99%-2.6% for ipaymy/cardup but only get 3.33% rebate, not worth it lah, unless u using cardup referral code then maybe earn a bit.

oh yah... now that cardup is involved, seems like it's not worth paying monthly (save the 2%).

I've a few months to my anniversary month (October) and prudential says cannot pay pro-rated annual premium in place of the remaining monthly premiums. meaning, have to continue paying the monthly premium till anniversary month and then can change to annual premium from then onwards.

so no choice but to continue paying the extra 2% lor. but at least when I use cardup, I can still qualify for 3.33% rebate and pay the 2.25/2.6% fees to claim some peanuts back.

kurt111494

Now the issue is if I don't pay monthly premium, then can't hit the $500 per month liao -_- sian to the max. Gotta continue paying monthly premium to earn the bonus interest.

Guess I'll just have to forgo the quarterly rebates...

HWZ1973

Just received sms that insurance premiums will no longer be counted as spending for the rebates! **** man! Cancelling card soon...

GameboyX

Now the issue is if I don't pay monthly premium, then can't hit the $500 per month liao -_- sian to the max. Gotta continue paying monthly premium to earn the bonus interest.

Guess I'll just have to forgo the quarterly rebates...
same lor, I also need to pay the premiums to earn bonus interest. uob smart, save money this way

happiee

I need some enlightenment pls cos am getting pretty confused with using cardup for Insurance payments with conflicting responses.
Understand from 16 Mar, insurance payments are excluded from the quarterly rebates. I m not too familiar with cardup but recall that I was told before tt the mcc codes by cardup will reflect the recipient. Thus I wonder if using cardup to earn the 3.33%rebate or 5%rebate for Insurance payment really works if the MCC shows up as insurance companies.
Will ipaymy works better?
Anyone who use cardup via UOB1 card to pay for Insurance payments recently can share experience?

Trazora

I need some enlightenment pls cos am getting pretty confused with using cardup for Insurance payments with conflicting responses.
Understand from 16 Mar, insurance payments are excluded from the quarterly rebates. I m not too familiar with cardup but recall that I was told before tt the mcc codes by cardup will reflect the recipient. Thus I wonder if using cardup to earn the 3.33%rebate or 5%rebate for Insurance payment really works if the MCC shows up as insurance companies.
Will ipaymy works better?
Anyone who use cardup via UOB1 card to pay for Insurance payments recently can share experience?

Cardup and ipaymy mcc 7399 for insurance payment. Not yet excluded

maumu

Yes. You need to specify the payment date in cardup or ipaymy

sorry to ask again, but just to confirm: if my monthly premium is due on the 22nd of the month, which is the premium due date I should state in the cardup to ensure the insurance company does not charge the credit card instead?

From their FAQ:
Payment speed - Normal
Your payment is delivered to your recipient in the next 3 business days.
The Payment Due date cannot be selected within the first 2 business days from today.

happiee

MCC for Insurance payments

Call UOB and check, or call and use the chat option.
Just for public info:
My Cardup rent payment is 6513 (excluded for UOB one after 16 Mar)
Ipaymy invoice payment is 7399

Thanks Trazora.
Just to share someone's comment earlier abt difference in MCC on rent so still great if kind folks here can share their experience for Insurance. 😊

happiee

sorry to ask again, but just to confirm: if my monthly premium is due on the 22nd of the month, which is the premium due date I should state in the cardup to ensure the insurance company does not charge the credit card instead?

From their FAQ:
Payment speed - Normal
Your payment is delivered to your recipient in the next 3 business days.
The Payment Due date cannot be selected within the first 2 business days from today.

I would suggest to pay earlier and not time close to the due date cos it depends on their processing time etc. Perhaps you can call your insurance company n check the notice needed if u intend to change your payment mode or credit card for deduction for reference.

Trazora

Thanks Trazora.
Just to share someone's comment earlier abt difference in MCC on rent so still great if kind folks here can share their experience for Insurance. 😊

Rental is the only one with rental mcc. All other cardup/ipaymy transaction has mcc 7399.

yiron

I believe using promo code also changes the MCC for some reason.

That's the part that I'm also worried about. The typical 7399 does not give grabpoints, yet iPayMy with promo code does give grabpoints. There's a good chance that IPM with promo code uses a different MCC. Might need to check in with IPM after 16 Mar.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.