UOB one card

edwinttt1978

if oct statement example oct 5, mean 6 sept to 5 oct spending is included base on posting date by the way.
but not everyone belong to the oct5 with the new revision is the key.

If 5 Oct is the statement date, and as long as the card was opened in Oct 2014, then presumably the new qualifying quarter is Oct-Dec 2015 and there is no exception to this.

ska13a

If 5 Oct is the statement date, and as long as the card was opened in Oct 2014, then presumably the new qualifying quarter is Oct-Dec 2015 and there is no exception to this.

Oct Open might be nov 1st statement as u need 1 full month for 1 cycle, unless it was add on card etc etc.
No ideal what kind of other scenario.

Either way get the correct cycle from cso then identify is easier

In ur example I would deduce as nov dec jan statement

Trazora

Oct Open might be nov 1st statement as u need 1 full month for 1 cycle, unless it was add on card etc etc.
No ideal what kind of other scenario.

Either way get the correct cycle from cso then identify is easier

In ur example I would deduce as nov dec jan statement

If you read from the FAQ. If card opened in Oct, next full quarter after 1 Oct is Oct,Nov,Dec. Apparently, the quarter is define by the bank to start from card opened month and not the first statement date, as such the first month is never a full month.

ska13a

If you read from the FAQ. If card opened in Oct, next full quarter after 1 Oct is Oct,Nov,Dec. Apparently, the quarter is define by the bank to start from card opened month and not the first statement date, as such the first month is never a full month.

haha if not first full statement, then the rebate gonna get complicated/messy to count. bank system, lucky existing customer not affected, no issue for me.

ska13a

after u point out, i went to read. i think its really bad.

If the minimum amount is met in the
second and third statement for the first quarter, t
hen two-thirds of the Quarterly cash rebate
will be awarded.

in summary, before receiving 1st statement, try not to charge, as there will be 0% rebate! as rebate kick in on 2nd/3rd statment on pro rated basis on your spending on 2nd or 2nd+3rd statement. confusing?
well really have to read into the words.

wts2013

Your quarters are indicated at the back of your statement.

Take a look at that, match your quarters to the FAQ of the UOB ONE CC and you'll have your answers.

Why guess here guess there leh?

hahaha, you are right, just received my e-statement, the qualitying quarters are printed, and just a statement of the 1 Oct revised rebates, and fees are changing from 19 Aug, hahaha

derrickgoh

I average $400 a month and find it totally pointless to force myself to spend unnecessarily every month just to meet the quota.

Will probably revert to my ANZ Travel card or Manhattan World. The latter is more convenient as they auto credit cash rebates but the rebate rate is lower. ANZ Travel's new rate is lower than last time but still decent, just that need to keep track and manually redeem.

ska13a

I average $400 a month and find it totally pointless to force myself to spend unnecessarily every month just to meet the quota.

Will probably revert to my ANZ Travel card or Manhattan World. The latter is more convenient as they auto credit cash rebates but the rebate rate is lower. ANZ Travel's new rate is lower than last time but still decent, just that need to keep track and manually redeem.

like other say there is still maybank.
its good as it follow calendar mth like frank card.
but u have just miss the quarter. next one is oct nov dec

derrickgoh

like other say there is still maybank.
its good as it follow calendar mth like frank card.
but u have just miss the quarter. next one is oct nov dec
I know but sadly banks have the habit of monkey see monkey do. Kinda like telcos.

One telco start reducing data plan, others follow. UOB increase from $300 to $500, Maybank likely to follow next.

Imagine apply liao and next thing you know Maybank also ups their minimum spend. Then need to redo everything. Damn sian especially for recurring payment with so many forms to complete.

acetylcholine

I know but sadly banks have the habit of monkey see monkey do. Kinda like telcos.

One telco start reducing data plan, others follow. UOB increase from $300 to $500, Maybank likely to follow next.

Imagine apply liao and next thing you know Maybank also ups their minimum spend. Then need to redo everything. Damn sian especially for recurring payment with so many forms to complete.

UOB increased the lowest tier to $500 because many people were complaining that it was out of sync with the UOB One account. Don't think Maybank has a competing product as their Platinum Visa is a standalone product.

zoossh

UOB increased the lowest tier to $500 because many people were complaining that it was out of sync with the UOB One account. Don't think Maybank has a competing product as their Platinum Visa is a standalone product.

doubt so. if that is their real reason, they would just include one more tier of 500, without removing the tier of 300. so it is probably just an excuse. maybank can also use that excuse, dun need a good reason one.

acetylcholine

doubt so. if that is their real reason, they would just include one more tier of 500, without removing the tier of 300. so it is probably just an excuse. maybank can also use that excuse, dun need a good reason one.

Of course, banks are known to change minimum spending requirements or even redemption rates for miles/points at their own will. That was never in doubt. No one ever said that they have to give reasons for the change.

But in the present case, if you look at the UOB One account thread, there were many complains that the spending tiers simply don't make sense given that the minimum spending of $500 was neither here nor there. This is especially the case when the UOB One account is specifically tied to the UOB One card, such that spending on other UOB cards cannot qualify for the additional interest (unlike, for instance, the OCBC 360 account which is not tied to a specific card).

naro

What is the real reason?

sandwicher

Real reason is simply they want higher average spendings on their CC so that they can earn more. Commercial reasons, nothing else :)

AKK

hmm website don't show $300 tier but I didn't receive any letter to notify. Can feign ignorance? :)

I call the customer service and they confirmed no more $300 tier, so I ask them to cancel my card.

JC2015

Real reason is simply they want higher average spendings on their CC so that they can earn more. Commercial reasons, nothing else :)

In order to afford the 5% for $2000, they removed the 2% overseas and increased the tiers so more people drop off and they don't need to pay out a cent - simple as that.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.