US help.

derazor

That is why I went to the North Rim. Provided you are there from Jun to late Sep. It is nearer and you still need to setup base at one of the towns preferably Kanab or Mt Carmel Junction.

Take helicopter? :D Maybe a propeller plane flight over the GC?

Can't help you here.

If really I can't make it for the North Rim, due to timing issues, best is to get the helicopter ride? Like that no need to suffer the 6 hrs drive to South Rim.

BTW, I read quite a bit of guides, they seem to encourage the mule ride.What did you do there actually? SSRR the scenery?

derazor

Alexljy, thanks for your lengthy reply.

SF
- Most likely will skip Yosemite already
- We were thinking of just going to 1 winery - Domaine Carneros Winery which is recommended at Tripadvisor and only an hour drive away from SF via Hghway 101 north across the Golden Gate Bridge.
- Will go Gilroy as recommended by friend. Desert Hills think we’ll see how much loots we got from Gilroy before deciding.
If we think domestic flight from SF to LV, hmm.

Possible itinerary?
- Alcatraz, Fisherman’s Wharf, Pier 39, Lombard St, Palace of Fine Arts (optional)
- Golden gate bridge, Domaine Carneros Winery, Union Sqr, Chinatown (only SSRR, slot here?)
- Legion of Honor can be combined with?
- Gilroy (stay 1 night) and next day drive to airport for domestic flight to LV/LA. Any recommended hotel here? How long is the drive to airport?

LA
- I read that the bridge on Hollywood & Highland Center level 3 & 4 can view the Hollywood sign. Is it open to public or I need to follow the guided tour? Since I can view the sign here prob will skip Griffith Observatory if I have no time.
- What else is there to do at Hollywood?
- What should the driving/playing sequence be? LA -> Universal Studios > San Diego > Disneyland?

LA should be our last stop back to SG if we can get “cheaper” multi city tickets. Keeping a lookout for SQ, Cathay, ANA or Asiana.

Thanks once again.

Still digesting the rest of the replies. Thanks to bro genie47 too.

Derazor - Based on your itinerary:

SF -
-4 days is abit short to do all that you said.
-Yosemite is a 4 hours drive from SF and back, probably even need to stay 1 night to see much stuff
-Napa valley is usually a day trip - I did it from 9am - about 6pm with about 4 vineyards with a car
-If you are driving, Gilroy can be done together on your trip down to LA, but if you are already visiting Desert Hills, I suggest you just skip it all together, not worth, desert hills is enough.
-From my visit a few weeks ago, it's possible to do Pier 39/Fisherman's etc etc, all in 1day, provided you don't spend too much time shopping in fisherman's wharf

Las Vegas
- Hoover dam + whatever rim of Grand Canyon can be done together. West rim is about 4hrs, south rim longer a drive, so depends on how early you intend to set off. I left vegas at 8am, reached back at about 9 (Remember sunset is around 8.30 in the summer, so depends on when you are coming + grand canyon is actually 1 hr behind vegas due to it being in arizona, so can gain some extra viewing time)
- Horseshoe bend and Antelope canyon are rather far from the South Rim and Hoover, so if you want, you need another day to do that

Desert Hills
- The premium outlet is not near vegas at all. There's a Las Vegas north outlet
- It's actually nearer to Los Angeles, since it's near palm springs around 1.5hrs drive
- I have been to 4 outlets since I was here, this is the nicest and with the most things

Los Angeles
- Hollywood + griffinth is doable in half a day if you are fast, or maybe 1 full day if you want to do beverly hills as well
- The themeparks looks nice time wise, but do note that Seaworld is actually in San Diego - a good 2 hrs drive from LA, so you may consider staying a night there. What I suggest is staying in Anaheim for the Seaworld day, or even San Diego if it's cheaper. San Diego has some pretty nice mexican and italian food.

Some general stuff about driving:
-Driving from SF - LA is about 6hours by I-5(boring route) or 8 hours by 1/101 (Scenic route). If you think of doing I-5, I suggest you just fly, since it's much more worth it.
-Driving from LV - LA is about 4 hours provided you get no traffic jams, if not about 6 hours
- You don't really need to drive in San Francisco, it's actually a hassle to drive in the city for both LA and SF + parking is insane
- If you intend to book cars from City A to City B, use priceline/breezenet and get cars from National or Alamo, they dun charge drop fees, which can be 200-300 dollars
- If you are renting a car for more then 5 days, and need GPS, just buy one, it's alot cheaper. Amazon has some refurbished sets for like 40USD. I tried driving without GPS before, can be done, but prepared to get lost.

derazor

Genie47,

SF
- Googled Walgreens it’s like our Guardian lol.. tks for ur tip will take note to get souvenirs here!
- More interested in Legion of Honor museum actually. Palace of Fine Arts more for the beautiful architecture. Will give it a miss if no time.
- Here’s what I found from the web on golden gate bridge, yes we intend to drive north up to Napa Valley after finishing with GG.
“To Golden Gate Bridge: Head towards Marina District. Stroll along the marina and make way to the footpath to the southern end of the bridge. Arrive at de Young Museum, Golden Gate Park. Walk out of the park and head into the Haight. Explore the Haight-Ashbury district for vintage and happening shops. Explore The Castro for more happening shops”
- Will check out Yountville! Any idea if it’s near Domaine Carneros?
- Also tik we shd skip Yosemite!

LV
- Able to combine Hoover dam with any other places? Will try to slot it at night then
- Should be going mid Oct or early Nov due to work schedule, hence which Grand Canyon rim should we go?
- Might skip Horseshoe bend and antelope canyon if it’s not so near Grand canyon

Thinking of multi city flight if price do not differ much :p
Current plan is land in SF, domestic flight to LV den drive to LA. Fly back from LA.
Any place that we can slot in during the drive from LV to LA?

alexljy

From what I know, there's nothing to do from LV to LA. The only thing I can remember is stopping at Barstow to buy Strawberry milkshake.

If you are going in Oct/Nov, I think the sun starts to set alot earlier, like 6pm or so, so your plans have to be around that.

Souvenirs, can buy @ walgreens or CVS ba, both are pharmacy like, both sell almost everything else in the world.

If you want to visit the palace of fine arts for the archi, can do it along with golden gate. It's along the way towards the bridge.

xtwis7

Any issues with usage of credit card? Most shopping/restaurants accepts it?

As long as it's a local bank debit/credit card, they'll accept most of the time. Carry a spare just in case 1 doesn't works.

stormcontrol

Current plan is land in SF, domestic flight to LV den drive to LA. Fly back from LA.

I'm not sure why but i don't think multi-city flight is expensive.... I tried to book using Travelocity. IAH-SFO-LV-IAH is only slightly more expensive than IAH-SFO-IAH ?? :s11:

genie47

If really I can't make it for the North Rim, due to timing issues, best is to get the helicopter ride? Like that no need to suffer the 6 hrs drive to South Rim.

BTW, I read quite a bit of guides, they seem to encourage the mule ride.What did you do there actually? SSRR the scenery?

Mule ride if you only got time. Basically mule ride is more like a hike but the animal hike for you. :s13:

genie47

Genie47,

SF
- Googled Walgreens it’s like our Guardian lol.. tks for ur tip will take note to get souvenirs here!
- More interested in Legion of Honor museum actually. Palace of Fine Arts more for the beautiful architecture. Will give it a miss if no time.
- Here’s what I found from the web on golden gate bridge, yes we intend to drive north up to Napa Valley after finishing with GG.
“To Golden Gate Bridge: Head towards Marina District. Stroll along the marina and make way to the footpath to the southern end of the bridge. Arrive at de Young Museum, Golden Gate Park. Walk out of the park and head into the Haight. Explore the Haight-Ashbury district for vintage and happening shops. Explore The Castro for more happening shops”
- Will check out Yountville! Any idea if it’s near Domaine Carneros?
- Also tik we shd skip Yosemite!

LV
- Able to combine Hoover dam with any other places? Will try to slot it at night then
- Should be going mid Oct or early Nov due to work schedule, hence which Grand Canyon rim should we go?
- Might skip Horseshoe bend and antelope canyon if it’s not so near Grand canyon

There is another pharmacy there which also sells souvenirs cheap cheap and that is CVS. Like Walgreens, everywhere.

Hoover at night is doable. OK to drive at night.

Grand Canyon in Oct - Nov will be cold even if it is the South Rim which is warmer. North Rim confirm road closed or road is open but nobody dare drive in. Got a friend to who got stuck in the snow like you see on those TV shows. Paid a lot of money just to get tow truck to pull him out.

I didn't drive from LV to LA so can't give you any advice but it will be long. Don't forget the drop off charges for the car. Not every car is a CA plate car like the one I drove in LV.

genie47

I'm not sure why but i don't think multi-city flight is expensive.... I tried to book using Travelocity. IAH-SFO-LV-IAH is only slightly more expensive than IAH-SFO-IAH ?? :s11:

Will be expensive with the big carriers like United. I took the strategy of using multicity for the to and return flight. Land in SF, return from Chicago.

The "overland" portion from SF to LV, I booked Southwest. Delighted to have flown with them. Free seating, no frills for the short flight from SF to LV. Was served water and peanuts. Better leg space than Jetstar or AirAsia or Tiger. Their boarding is very top notch and because of free seating first come first serve and the Americans are very orderly and polite. Saw my tickets as "B" meaning one of the earliest, let us go in earlier when we missed the boarding. SGD169 for two of us. The cabin crew have just up from the morning bedroom hair. :s13:

LV to Chicago, I took United. Around SGD730 for 2 of us. The cabin crew looks better and younger but very crowded. There were some young black men who just had some fun in Vegas in front of us. Pretty lively bunch that joked and laughed very loud. Some old lady passing the aisle said this is the naughty section of the plane. :D

Friend flew with Virgin America from SF to LV to join us. He said the plane while boarding is um um one. Got disco neon lights and personal entertainment provided you swipe your card to view it. Rather top notch as a budget airline.

Erwinlow

Yeah I flew Virgin from SF to LV too. Love the plane actually. Leather seats were comfy. :) Much better than the China Airlines I took from Singapore to SF lol.

derazor

Tks, will review itinerary again. If we reduce probably will take out Sea World @ San Diego and add to Vegas. LV to Grand Canyon is such a llooooong ride! Ok will check out “O”!

SF: Basically you can see whole of SF within 2 days excluding Gilroy and Napa Valley.

Vegas: My friends and I drove from LV to South Rim which can be a long drive especially at night when directions are out of sight within the Canyon Village. I think you'll get a magnificent view from the North Rim as well. The outlet in the North of LV is pretty decent actually and I must say it's not the outlet but the season that you're going. I was in Woodsbury yet they didn't have as much stuff as LV outlet. I suppose it's all sightseeing and no gambling? Check out Cirque du Soleil's 'O' - a water-themed show. No regrets. 4 days in Vegas + Canyon is definitely very tight. I would suggest cut down stay in LA and stay longer in LV.

derazor

Mule ride if you only got time. Basically mule ride is more like a hike but the animal hike for you. :s13:

Yeah I know so if you're not doing helicopter, not mule-ing. so go there is SSRR scenery take picture? Paiseh..

derazor

My balls just shrank when I saw this.

If impatient watch from 0:50.

What are the best scenic viewpoints accessible by free park shuttle? South Rim = Hopi Point and Yaki Point, a 15-30 minute shuttle ride from Grand Canyon Village in either case (available dawn to dusk). Note: there is no park shuttle service on the North Rim.

What are the most dramatic scenic viewpoints accessible by private automobile? South Rim = Mather Point, Moran Point, and Lipan Point (a five, twenty and thirty minute drive from Grand Canyon Village respectively). North Rim = Cape Royal (one hour drive from Grand Canyon Lodge), and Point Imperial (half hour ride from Grand Canyon Lodge).

Mather Point is sick ( as per youtube ). Hopi is very nice and with railings(more safe ) . I'm kinda scared of heights.

I kinda believe if you see one canyon you'd see it all as per my Europe trip all mountain feels the same. Sorry for this comment.

Is it required to stay overnight here? I thought maybe just go to one scenie point? Vegas to South Rim, since it's about 4 hrs drives, any toilets or any suggested stop for makan?

Thanks.

stormcontrol

...Is it required to stay overnight here? I thought maybe just go to one scenie point? Vegas to South Rim, since it's about 4 hrs drives, any toilets or any suggested stop for makan?

Thanks.

Dude... LV to South Rim is 6 hrs 1-way...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.