Vietnam

stix

I went down there (the backpackers area De Tham St) to book just a day before my travel. There are many tour agencies down there to choose from. I even book my Mekong tour just the very night before the day, but from another agency.... The agency can also pick me up from my hotel in the city centre early in the morning so I don't have to rush down and can have my breakfast easy at the hotel.

But they drop you at the travel agency, not back to hotel, at the end of the tour

Alright, thanks for the advice :)

reverseBungee

book marked.

Currently planning for...
one day halong bay
2D3N Sapa tour
3D Hanoi tour (actually adds up to only 1 plus day since first and last day is for flying)

Total 6 days.

weidino

Hi am staying at Saigon Sports 3 Hotel now in HCMC.
During the check in, passport have to be kept at the reception counter.
Is this a norm for all hotel in HCMC?
Urgently need advice.

No problem with keeping with them.
I stayed with them when i am in Saigon too. :)

stix

Hi guys, need urgent assist. Do you guys book sinh tourist or TNK travel? Any difference for these 2? Which is better?

Cashcow

Is it good to visit there during cny?

Cos my Viet friends all told me most places are closed and prices at tourist area jacked up to chop carrot.

ComTruise

Da Lat is nice .. :s13:
Have dinner at Thanh Thuy Blue Water Restaurant, its right on the lake, about 10m away from the Heineken sphere ball thats in the middle of the lake. Nice place to chill out and all.

Thanks never been to that restaurant. Last time I was there the lake was pumped out.:D

ZeissM

Hi all,

I might be going to HCM City this coming dec for about 5 days 4 nights.

can ask if a budget of around 800 sgd (exclude air fares) able to tahan for 2 persons for the duration? we may be visiting Dalat. I will also bring 1 credit card just in case but the shops there will accept credit cards mostly?

Thanks in adv :)

swimmingtadpole

Hi all,

I might be going to HCM City this coming dec for about 5 days 4 nights.

can ask if a budget of around 800 sgd (exclude air fares) able to tahan for 2 persons for the duration? we may be visiting Dalat. I will also bring 1 credit card just in case but the shops there will accept credit cards mostly?

Thanks in adv :)

Yes definitely can last you for 5D 4N. But given so little time, I would not suggest you to leave HCM. So just stay around the city, explore and enjoy the place. Everytime i go over, I would stay at the AnAn2 hotel (http://www.anan2hotel.vn/anan2hotel/). Friendly people, relatively cheap, clean rooms, cosy and walking distance to several attactions like the Ben Thanh market, and some shopping malls. If you wanna do a HCM city tour, you can drop by the Sinh Cafe, which is on the same row as the hotel.

Oh ya, $800 is enough. The two main currencies there are USD and DONG, but paying in DONG is more worth, however just keep some USD incase. If you want more money to spend then pay the hotel in credit card, but I would suggest you to see and count it out if paying in cash or credit card is more worth. Most of the restaurants there are over-rated, so just settle for the roadside food stalls. Unless you're the kind that don't really like such experiences or are not really comfortable sitting by the roadside and eating with all the other locals there.

ZeissM

Yes definitely can last you for 5D 4N. But given so little time, I would not suggest you to leave HCM. So just stay around the city, explore and enjoy the place. Everytime i go over, I would stay at the AnAn2 hotel (http://www.anan2hotel.vn/anan2hotel/). Friendly people, relatively cheap, clean rooms, cosy and walking distance to several attactions like the Ben Thanh market, and some shopping malls. If you wanna do a HCM city tour, you can drop by the Sinh Cafe, which is on the same row as the hotel.

Oh ya, $800 is enough. The two main currencies there are USD and DONG, but paying in DONG is more worth, however just keep some USD incase. If you want more money to spend then pay the hotel in credit card, but I would suggest you to see and count it out if paying in cash or credit card is more worth. Most of the restaurants there are over-rated, so just settle for the roadside food stalls. Unless you're the kind that don't really like such experiences or are not really comfortable sitting by the roadside and eating with all the other locals there.

Thanks for the advice, will take note of all these.
appreciate it :)

Mountain_Tortorise

Da Lat is nice .. :s13:
Have dinner at Thanh Thuy Blue Water Restaurant, its right on the lake, about 10m away from the Heineken sphere ball thats in the middle of the lake. Nice place to chill out and all.

there is one hotpot near the night market, damn cheap and nice... best at cold night...

I also tried Thanh Thuy Blue Water Restaurant, food so so nia... but nice atmosphere...

Try this hotel Ngoc Lan Hotel Dalat, good location and nice view... but maybe a little noisy at times...

Mountain_Tortorise

no need for USD at HCM lah... can change SGD to Dongs nearby ben thanh market... unless u gg out of HCM, then some cities dont do exchange for SGD... mainly only USD.

Change Dongs at HCM airport or Ben Thanh market area... better rates compared to SG...

swimmingtadpole

there is one hotpot near the night market, damn cheap and nice... best at cold night...

I also tried Thanh Thuy Blue Water Restaurant, food so so nia... but nice atmosphere...

Try this hotel Ngoc Lan Hotel Dalat, good location and nice view... but maybe a little noisy at times...

Haha, yeah. its the atmosphere. Sit down with a bottle of beer, shiok.

IIRC the other time i went, we changed SING-USD-DONG. the rates were better. but of course, just do your maths and see if it still applies now.

Nha Trang is nice also, theres the water paragliding for the adventurous ones. The island tours have a stop where they will let you down and go diving, can see all the corals and fishes swimming around :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.