Vietnam

nuahster

any one with experience traveling to Mui Ne to visit the sand dunes?

kinda last min decision to try and visit as i've some free days without itinerary in HCMC to fill next week on 31st Aug to 2nd sept. so thinking either a 1d or 2d1n trip for 2pax to visit mui ne.

Their independence day is 2sept, so seems like private transports have extra surcharges during tt period, quick search on google and its about avg USD$100++ per way, so tts $200++USD just for gg there and back.

can't seem to book a train ticket to phan thiet (mui ne) either as vietnam railway website doesn't seem to be selling them or its sold out for tt period i guess.

wondering if anyone got any advise on how to get there or if you've got private transport providers contacts to share and recommend?

caytruc

can't seem to book a train ticket to phan thiet (mui ne) either as vietnam railway website doesn't seem to be selling them or its sold out for tt period i guess.
you can take the train to Binh Thuan station

(it's then just a short motorbike/taxi ride to Phan Thiet)

koala2004

Gonna try an Uber from airport to hotel and vice versa at Ho Chi Minh City.

Uber cheaper and more popular than Grab in HCMC...unlike SG. We used to take Mai Linh or Vinasun but not anymore since cheaper by at least 40-50%, unless it's wee hours when no private cars on road.

lcpteck

use grabcar also can :)

Uber cheaper and more popular than Grab in HCMC...unlike SG. We used to take Mai Linh or Vinasun but not anymore since cheaper by at least 40-50%, unless it's wee hours when no private cars on road.

Yeah I regularly use Uber overseas if I need to use a Taxi. My first time in Ho Chi Minh City and Vietnam, hope the Uber experience is okay as I don't speak vietnamese.

rayban

Yeah I regularly use Uber overseas if I need to use a Taxi. My first time in Ho Chi Minh City and Vietnam, hope the Uber experience is okay as I don't speak vietnamese.

have to input the right address lor.... if early take bus from airport go ben thanh is cheap also

XiaoZen

same as in singapore.. if u expect heavy jam, then use the flat rate grab.. if no jam, just use uber..

i prefer uber now primarily because can change destination anytime. grab does not have that flexibility.

those that use uber or grab from airport, can i ask where u normally meet ur driver?

XiaoZen

District 1 . if u eat at the roadside zi cha, rmb to check your bills.
they would confirm tell you to pay more ... happened to us all the times...

hcmc have some stalls selling cashew nut, those with skin one ...
500g abt 100,000 vnd. bargain from them ...
always check the bills.. not matter where.. if their service is good, dun forget to leave some tips.. most waiter in vn have very low basic and rely on tips.

XiaoZen

if that is the case, please use grab.. u dun need scare the driver go one big round..

XiaoZen

any one with experience traveling to Mui Ne to visit the sand dunes?

kinda last min decision to try and visit as i've some free days without itinerary in HCMC to fill next week on 31st Aug to 2nd sept. so thinking either a 1d or 2d1n trip for 2pax to visit mui ne.

Their independence day is 2sept, so seems like private transports have extra surcharges during tt period, quick search on google and its about avg USD$100++ per way, so tts $200++USD just for gg there and back.

wondering if anyone got any advise on how to get there or if you've got private transport providers contacts to share and recommend?
https://www.thesinhtourist.vn/busschedule

typically there are 2 schedule for the day tour in phan thiet/mui ne..
1 in morning and 1 in evening.

afternoon, the sands are too hot to even walk.

pay the money for the ATV. its worth it.

u should able to get the tour from the main road at muine.

tips: rent a motorbike.. 100-150k per day.. not much traffic.. save alot money on taxi and more flexible in transportation.

koala2004

same as in singapore.. if u expect heavy jam, then use the flat rate grab.. if no jam, just use uber..

i prefer uber now primarily because can change destination anytime. grab does not have that flexibility.

those that use uber or grab from airport, can i ask where u normally meet ur driver?

Uber can also go to other locations before destination, Grab cant or need topup since price fixed.

Prefer Grabcar as Uber really hard to predict road conditions, eg. accident.

You mean in TSN airport? Thought is same area where the cabs are lor.

If Changi airport, so far only tried at T1, is at the pick-up area.

AngeLx

May I know where to get Vietnam SIM card in sg if possible before I fly over? Hmm

I scare the counters close when i reach the airport at evening.

grapewall

May I know where to get Vietnam SIM card in sg if possible before I fly over? Hmm

In SG? Nobody sell. Maybe in HWZ somebody rent. when you need it ?

kitkat2

get it from outside the airport. ask your hotel staff to help you to buy.

someone of us do keep vn sim cards. wonder if anyone is lending out :)

AngeLx

Does anybody know what time does the airport telco closes? Cos I will touch down around 7+ in HCM/.

If they are still open then, I should be able to get one easily.

grapewall

Does anybody know what time does the airport telco closes? Cos I will touch down around 7+ in HCM/.

If they are still open then, I should be able to get one easily.

Not too sure their working hours. But vietnam people work till very late. High chance they are still open. Otherwise you can buy off the shops.

AngeLx

Not too sure their working hours. But vietnam people work till very late. High chance they are still open. Otherwise you can buy off the shops.

Ok thanks, how about food products souvenirs like coffee, dry goods etc? Any recommended ones and where to buy?.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.