Vietnam

grapewall

Then why buy with shells? Get the normal ones lah. Taste really good. My colleagues like. I will get it again in Nov trip.

Hee.. i first tried it when my hotel gave me a small bowl of cashew nuts as breakfast snacks. It tasted good and not difficult to de shell. That's why i go buy a packet of it. Mistake. A big pack is tough to de shell. Do until hand pain. Ha ha. So now i don't buy anymore.

grapewall

No patience to wait it drip so dun like this type. Ice or no ice black coffee good for me, with milk one also can.
Reminds me of one of my adventures. I was at a disco cafe.. you know, the type with sexy dj playing techno music but people inside watching football, smoking or, doing school homework. Weird. Anyway, i feeling adventurous, and ordered a rum coffee. My coffee came. Really is rum+coffee. 1 small glass of rum, and 1 small glass of thick milk coffee for you to mix. I'm not an alcohol person, and this look weird. Eventually, i just swallowed the coffee and leave the rum alone.
I stick to iced milk coffee from there on..

koala2004

Ok thanks, how about food products souvenirs like coffee, dry goods etc? Any recommended ones and where to buy?.

For coffee, recommend to get it at Café Nguyen Hoang (277E Le Thanh Ton, Ben Thanh). The coffee beans are authentic and you can request grinding and packing. It go by weight, I usually get 250g each pack. The coffee beans or powder could be fake in Ben Thanh, and may not be cheap, and need the hassle of bargaining.

For dried stuff, recommend their dried jackfruits, cashew nuts which are most famous.

koala2004

Tried UberBlack from Airport but didn't work out. Driver spoke no english and I spoke no vietnamese and we couldn't find each other. I stood by the designated pre-selected pickup point.

UberBlack from hotel to airport was fine though since I had the hotel staff confirm my destination with the driver. UberBlack sure is cheap in HCMC, will use it again next time from hotel to airport or traveling around the city. From airport to hotel will probably just take the taxi.

Is UberBlack bigger car, 7 seater type? Or just premium car? We found normal uber car can be pretty small....hard to predict. We kanna once at airport, the car so small, almost cant fit in our not-very-big luggage...very chump. I almost wanted to reject it on spot but in the end, just squeeze in, pity him lah.

XiaoZen

Reminds me of one of my adventures. I was at a disco cafe.. you know, the type with sexy dj playing techno music but people inside watching football, smoking or, doing school homework. Weird. Anyway, i feeling adventurous, and ordered a rum coffee. My coffee came. Really is rum+coffee. 1 small glass of rum, and 1 small glass of thick milk coffee for you to mix. I'm not an alcohol person, and this look weird. Eventually, i just swallowed the coffee and leave the rum alone.
I stick to iced milk coffee from there on..
i think i know where is that cafe.. is it along a big long kang (river)..

actually, most of the waitress there can make it.. got time go sianz the waitress..

some cafe, the waitress will double as hostess as well.. so they may sit with you. (aka cafe om). can talk with them etc, tip as necessary.

lcpteck

Is UberBlack bigger car, 7 seater type? Or just premium car? We found normal uber car can be pretty small....hard to predict. We kanna once at airport, the car so small, almost cant fit in our not-very-big luggage...very chump. I almost wanted to reject it on spot but in the end, just squeeze in, pity him lah.

UberBlack is at least a 4 door sedan and bigger. Toyoto Innova is also operating as UberBlack here in HCMC.

The normal uber could be a small car like a hashback. I suggest a UberBlack since it is very affordable for us due to currency exchange.

Next time I'm in HCMC I'll probably request a hotel car cause sometimes even the Taxis are unreliable.

XiaoZen

Been to the nearby districts accessible by motorbike. furthest is D7. Can speak simple TV words. What special hideout you recommend? :)
on 1 of my adventure.. i got lost at night walking round and round a cremetorium in q5.. no matter how i walk, i just keep round the cremetorium...

their cremetorium is just beside a huge hospital. so convenient.. lol

then, vietnamese sell coffin openly.. you can see a eatery which beside selling coffin. vietnamese still can eat like not wrong.

AngeLx

For coffee, recommend to get it at Café Nguyen Hoang (277E Le Thanh Ton, Ben Thanh). The coffee beans are authentic and you can request grinding and packing. It go by weight, I usually get 250g each pack. The coffee beans or powder could be fake in Ben Thanh, and may not be cheap, and need the hassle of bargaining.

For dried stuff, recommend their dried jackfruits, cashew nuts which are most famous.

haha thanks...=:p ..first time going there..last time always go BKK/HK/TW only

koala2004

on 1 of my adventure.. i got lost at night walking round and round a cremetorium in q5.. no matter how i walk, i just keep round the cremetorium...

their cremetorium is just beside a huge hospital. so convenient.. lol

then, vietnamese sell coffin openly.. you can see a eatery which beside selling coffin. vietnamese still can eat like not wrong.

LOL....so interesting. They so "see open" such taboo things.

koala2004

haha thanks...=:p ..first time going there..last time always go BKK/HK/TW only

Good! From now on, do visit Vietnam often...many things to explore, many thing to eat and drink. Think VN is coming up as next hot destination as people start to get tired of BKK and increasing costs.

rayban

actually, most of the waitress there can make it.. got time go sianz the waitress..

some cafe, the waitress will double as hostess as well.. so they may sit with you. (aka cafe om). can talk with them etc, tip as necessary.

till now i never see cafe om before.... lol

rayban

Good! From now on, do visit Vietnam often...many things to explore, many thing to eat and drink. Think VN is coming up as next hot destination as people start to get tired of BKK and increasing costs.

should consider side up business at vietnam to earn extra income haha

koala2004

should consider side up business at vietnam to earn extra income haha

Any idea or lobang? My wife and I have many ideas but details are the devils, we not there so pretty hard to run biz there. Sigh. VN market really big and many untap or non-mature areas to venture in.

rayban

Any idea or lobang? My wife and I have many ideas but details are the devils, we not there so pretty hard to run biz there. Sigh. VN market really big and many untap or non-mature areas to venture in.

same idea have many , but my main concern who the one to bank in the cash daily .... Cause vn now all the cost is low, so profit margin high

XiaoZen

http://www.kinderworld.net/

koala, remembered i said education is a damn good sector in vn as vietnamese sees singapore with very good education?

got ppl do liao and do damn big..

rayban

ur trusted vnb... lol

ya... i got think ask VNB do but.... it mean you must be steady with her throughout the whole business time leh.... haha if get caught doing something fishy.... business GG.... when i travel taiwan and vietnam, i see many business that doable , and true enough one 2 years later, people bring it in to vietnam and taiwan.

grapewall

Ha ha... This kind of disco cafes every corner also got. I didn't even describe it, how you know is which one ? In fact, if you go truong son area, at least 5 there. But really, there's nothing much there other than wondering why Viets find it interesting...

grapewall

In one of my trips, i was having sui cao soup at the street. Just right next door is a wake. The table beside mine is occupied by the family for rituals. What's interesting is, the chants are actually tunes of HK tv shows like wu xia di nv hua.. i stood there for 20 mins to listen to the songs...

qhong61

In one of my trips, i was having sui cao soup at the street. Just right next door is a wake. The table beside mine is occupied by the family for rituals. What's interesting is, the chants are actually tunes of HK tv shows like wu xia di nv hua.. i stood there for 20 mins to listen to the songs...
Same as Jonker Street in Malacca.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.