Vietnam

grapewall

Ok thanks, how about food products souvenirs like coffee, dry goods etc? Any recommended ones and where to buy?.

As a tourist, your best bet would be District 1 Ben Thanh market where the packaging would be more suitable as gifts. Of course, tourists prices you pay. Just make sure you slash and bargain the prices.
If you don't mind the packaging, any local markets will do. The chinatown market at D3 call Cho Lon would be fine.
As for sim cards, airport would be a bit pricy. But still affordable for a tourist. No 4g LTE in vietnam though.

dede1217

Ok thanks, how about food products souvenirs like coffee, dry goods etc? Any recommended ones and where to buy?.

U can buy thsoe cashew nuts with skin ...
those vaccum packed ones abt 100.000 vnd for 1x 500g
other stalls selling about 110.000 to 150.000

Can also buy back lotus seed
they deep fried the lotus seed ...
ben thanh market morning one is expensive ...
the night one is better ...

can buy coffee back
the jackfruit cracker also can buy back, 100g about 2.20sgd
the purple color packaging ... famous for that ...

grapewall

U can buy thsoe cashew nuts with skin ...
those vaccum packed ones abt 100.000 vnd for 1x 500g
other stalls selling about 110.000 to 150.000

Can also buy back lotus seed
they deep fried the lotus seed ...

The skinned cashew nuts i bought last year for cny. It was tough trying to break the skin away. A little bit is fun, but a whole pack is tiring and painful. Not worth the trouble. But the taste is good though.
The lotus seeds, buy the factory packed ones instead of the self packed. But then, not many people like it. It's tasteless and hard.

My last trip, I bought a small container of peanuts. It was very nice. Will go back and buy more.
Can buy some mangoes and dragon fruits at the local markets. I go chinatown buy bird nest.

lcpteck

Tried UberBlack from Airport but didn't work out. Driver spoke no english and I spoke no vietnamese and we couldn't find each other. I stood by the designated pre-selected pickup point.

UberBlack from hotel to airport was fine though since I had the hotel staff confirm my destination with the driver. UberBlack sure is cheap in HCMC, will use it again next time from hotel to airport or traveling around the city. From airport to hotel will probably just take the taxi.

XiaoZen

Does anybody know what time does the airport telco closes? Cos I will touch down around 7+ in HCM/.

If they are still open then, I should be able to get one easily.
7+ no problem.. i always take the 7:50pm flight to vn.. reach vn around 9pm, still open.. dun worry.

XiaoZen

The skinned cashew nuts i bought last year for cny. It was tough trying to break the skin away. A little bit is fun, but a whole pack is tiring and painful. Not worth the trouble. But the taste is good though.
The lotus seeds, buy the factory packed ones instead of the self packed. But then, not many people like it. It's tasteless and hard.

My last trip, I bought a small container of peanuts. It was very nice. Will go back and buy more.
Can buy some mangoes and dragon fruits at the local markets. I go chinatown buy bird nest.
i believe you are taking about the macadamia nuts instead of cashew nuts. macadamia nuts with shell, they will give u a key to crack open the shell.. yes, its tough...

lotus seeds of all form..
fried lotus seeds - hearsay healthy snacks.
fresh lotus seeds - can buy from market, tasty even if eaten fresh. cons - cannot keep long.
dried lotus seeds - can be bought like a chain, good for desserts like red bean soup etc.

cho lon is actually very touristy and most likely you cant get any good bargain there as well. price similar to benh thanh market.

from Q1 to Q5, 1 local market is called cho hoa binh. This is the real local wet market. dun worry abt language, q5 alot ppl can speak chinese or cantonese. (note the price in benh thanh market and come here ask) should be easy, 10-20% off. uber should not cost you more than 60K from benh thanh market area.

XiaoZen

in my opinion, all the dry goods and coffee in benh thanh market are all the same. based on normal logic of rental rates, i typically find those inner shop to buy these goods. i find them more receptive to bargain etc.

coffee, there really too much coffee variant in vn. as such, i recommend u get 200g of each variant and good back and try. note that u can ask them to ground the coffee finer to suit ur taste or coffee machine.

i have coffee lover friends and i do help them buy coffee once a while. first you really need to know ur taste. arabica or robusta. there after narrow down ur choice. if what i said just now is too foreign for u. i recommend just buy abit and try. keep trying until u find ur fav.

AngeLx

Thanks dede1217, grapewell and XiaoZen. I am going next week alone to meet people there haha..so i must make sure i got SIM Card to communicate with them that why i ask about the operating hours of airport counters.

As for food souvenirs, etc will look out accordingly. Coffee actually thinking of getting some to give people as gift but i think its quite personal taste so maybe i see how it goes..

grapewall

I'm talking about cashew nuts.. they sell in vacuumed pack with brown shells. It's very troublesome to deshell them.

Heard that it's the rainy season now. I'm going next weekend. Hope it won't spoil my adventures..

dede1217

Thanks dede1217, grapewell and XiaoZen. I am going next week alone to meet people there haha..so i must make sure i got SIM Card to communicate with them that why i ask about the operating hours of airport counters.

As for food souvenirs, etc will look out accordingly. Coffee actually thinking of getting some to give people as gift but i think its quite personal taste so maybe i see how it goes..

one thing special about their coffee is that...
you need to drip the coffee for a period of time ...
if u r buying, please check if the coffee is in powder form or is it coffee beans ...

XiaoZen

I'm talking about cashew nuts.. they sell in vacuumed pack with brown shells. It's very troublesome to deshell them.

Heard that it's the rainy season now. I'm going next weekend. Hope it won't spoil my adventures..
dude... you are suppose to eat those brown skin.. (if i'm not wrong) lol..

what adventure in vn? share share leh...

AngeLx

i think he is refering to this kind
with shells
hat-dieu-rang-muoi-vo-lua.jpg

img_0686.jpg

grapewall

i think he is refering to this kind
with shells
hat-dieu-rang-muoi-vo-lua.jpg

img_0686.jpg

Yes yes... I'm talking about this one. The shell or skin cant be eaten. I tried already it's like, pui!

My adventures, ha ha. I just like to ride motorcycle around the city and live like a vietnamese, but spend like a Singaporean. I usually avoid D1 because too touristy for my liking.

XiaoZen

Yes yes... I'm talking about this one. The shell or skin cant be eaten. I tried already it's like, pui!

My adventures, ha ha. I just like to ride motorcycle around the city and live like a vietnamese, but spend like a Singaporean. I usually avoid D1 because too touristy for my liking.
shiok... i also like...

which district you tried? need me to recommend some special unique hcmc hideout?

can you speak vietnamese?

grapewall

shiok... i also like...

which district you tried? need me to recommend some special unique hcmc hideout?

can you speak vietnamese?

Been to the nearby districts accessible by motorbike. furthest is D7. Can speak simple TV words. What special hideout you recommend? :)

hungryfriend

any places good to go other than hcmc and hanoi?
jetstar fly to quite a few places in vietnam
intend to go solo in oct

grapewall

any places good to go other than hcmc and hanoi?
jetstar fly to quite a few places in vietnam
intend to go solo in oct

Jetstar fly to quite a lot of Vietnam places, but mostly internal flights. I checked and it doesn't fly direct to Hue.

koala2004

Then why buy with shells? Get the normal ones lah. Taste really good. My colleagues like. I will get it again in Nov trip.

koala2004

one thing special about their coffee is that...
you need to drip the coffee for a period of time ...
if u r buying, please check if the coffee is in powder form or is it coffee beans ...

No patience to wait it drip so dun like this type. Ice or no ice black coffee good for me, with milk one also can.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.