Vietnam

diffuser911

Hanoi - 400k

HCM - <200k

I took public air con bus only S$0.25 per pax to Ben thanh market.

HCM taxi drivers, vinasun and mai linh
they would go by meter ...
u wont need to worry that you get cheated.
going to hcm airport from district 1 should be around 160.000 vnd ...
would take abt 30min due to slight jam along the way ...

This looks quite in line with what the hotel quoted. Thanks for the info, and the tip on taking the air-con bus. I will be reaching HCM quite late, hence bus won't work for me, but I will remember it for the next visit :)

rayban

This looks quite in line with what the hotel quoted. Thanks for the info, and the tip on taking the air-con bus. I will be reaching HCM quite late, hence bus won't work for me, but I will remember it for the next visit :)

uber still work at night, i book for my cha bor that time 9 pm uber to bien hoa....

koala2004

While this news is probably not applicable to 99% of this thread visitors, just an info - Vietnam just jacked up visa fees for US citizens - now cheapest Vietnam visa is US $180 via VoA or US $220 if done at embassy. Before it was appx $40 via VoA and $80 - at the embassy.

Americans were #4 in terms of visitor numbers in the country and probably spent most per visitor. I would expect that with these visa fees their numbers will decrease tenfold. If family of four finds out that they need $650 more just for visas, they will skip Vietnam altogether and go to Thailand, Malaysia or Indonesia where it is visa free.

Really good way to shoot yourself in foot.

P.S. I am glad that I have second passport in additional to US - still can get Vietnam visa for US $40.

You are not Singaporean? Singaporeans are so good, visa free almost everywhere. LOL.

koala2004

I took public air con bus only S$0.25 per pax to Ben thanh market.

Ya it's really cheap there...end to end one price only. Usually VND5K or 6K. But from airport, $0.25 is a bit low...did you calculate correctly? How much in VND you paid per pax?

koala2004

HCM taxi drivers, vinasun and mai linh
they would go by meter ...
u wont need to worry that you get cheated.
going to hcm airport from district 1 should be around 160.000 vnd ...
would take abt 30min due to slight jam along the way ...

Take uber lah....only pay 100K. Used to take taxi but uber much cheaper. Unless odd hours then no choice take normal taxi.

koala2004

To hotel in D1 is around 160K, pretty accurate, few times all about there. But if you want cheaper, try Uber or Grab, but Uber is cheaper than Grab in HCMC and there are more Uber then Grab drivers.

JivBunny

7+ no problem.. i always take the 7:50pm flight to vn.. reach vn around 9pm, still open.. dun worry.

Hello, just a quick check.

The Sim card shops selling at HCM airport, roughly where are they located ? I suppose they will help you with all the necessary settings ?

Also wondering if the sim cards support hotspot, so that i can just get one and turn on tethering for all my other devices.

XiaoZen

Hello, just a quick check.

The Sim card shops selling at HCM airport, roughly where are they located ? I suppose they will help you with all the necessary settings ?

Also wondering if the sim cards support hotspot, so that i can just get one and turn on tethering for all my other devices.
after the custom officer, take escalator down 1 floor.(where the luggage collection area). After the luggage collection area, proceed to scan the bags. after scanning bags u will reach a area with many shops mostly money exchanger, taxi airport transfer and sell sim card.

tips: facing the main exit. walk towards ur left.. most of the official sim card stores are at the left.

of cos they will help u.. because they are charging u premium.. lol...

XiaoZen

How is it for taking Uber in Vietnam?

Is it straight forward ?
i never take uber from airport b4.. because the taxi stand is so convenient.

elsewhere, i almost only take uber only. see my last post for basic of vn address.. its important, because they can find u with that system. u tried to tell them landmark, its actually more difficult for them.

XXX (number) follow by road name.. follow by district.

XiaoZen

first time when i find her by cab, 500 k by taxi..... 45min - 1 h....
uber - 300k lol.... see how the metet overcharge you at times
not overcharged la... taxi is really that expensive in vn.

JivBunny

District 1 . if u eat at the roadside zi cha, rmb to check your bills.
they would confirm tell you to pay more ... happened to us all the times...

hcmc have some stalls selling cashew nut, those with skin one ...
500g abt 100,000 vnd. bargain from them ...
What do you mean by asking to pay more ?

Pay tips or pay how much more ??

So is kinda like kana robert?? :(

Thanks

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.