Vietnam

Cloud_Evolution

I'm going on 4 Nov but will take a night train to Nha Trang same day, stay few days then to Dalat, also few days, then back to HCM only on 10 Nov for 2 days. But we will be staying at my ILs house.

Just be more careful of own assets...everywhere the same lah. I also careless previous trip, the guy damn fast, even in group he also dare to xia shou..my wife's old phone Note 3 gone in seconds, from my short's side pocket. :(

i usually put everything inside my sling bag, then i hold tight in front. i think i better dont bring my camera there liao.

i cannot speak also , survive 2 years of going there on and off
u probably motivated by viet bu, :s13:

koala2004

i usually put everything inside my sling bag, then i hold tight in front. i think i better dont bring my camera there liao.

u probably motivated by viet bu, :s13:

Everywhere the same, just be careful. Even in Copenhagen (Denmark) also same, so many pickpockets....probably more than Vietnam. I kanna there once too. Italy, such an advanced economy, is famous for pickpockets too. LOL. Dont tell me you dont bring camera/phone there??

AngeLx

Crossing roads there is challenging and stressful, soon you realise the traffic lights and the white lines on the roads no use hahaha you just have to follow the locals how they just step onto the roads and walk slowly,/9'ehoe the cards and bikes will slow down for you to cross lol
And they habit of honking for everything, initially give me headaches but still not used to it.

Ben Thanh market is tourist trap hahaha we wanted to buy some clothes but keep asking how much they purposely won't tell you the price. Only ask you what size and color you like then I think depend how you react to the selection I think they will decide how to carrot. Got this top she purposely show us this 950k price sticker behind the top tag say that one for tourists but we "friend friend" then charge us "cheaper" but end up we bargain til quite abit but already lazy and feel tired to bargain anymore.

Some of my friends bought those lacquerware from tourist shops to give as gifts.

They also fell in love with the green chilies they served here and bought some back from the Ben Thanh market. Not sure whether sg got sell viet products or not? Lol

Tried Highland, Phuc Loc, Trung Nyguen all the coffee and tea very nice.

Stumbled upon this nice chilled out cafe near palace call Propogana cafe as the rain suddenly rain quite heavily so we just want to find a place to hide. The decor of the cafe is with nice colorful murals, good to take photos.

Their buildings and culture very French and laid back. Even coffee bean and tea leaf outlet exterior decor very European design.

dede1217

My friend went to buy the coaster set, one set think have 6pieces.
eventually he bargained until about 2+sgd per piece ...

took quite some time , we walked around, then keep bargain
the morning ben thanh market is mainly for tourists.

ruantingguang

Crossing roads there is challenging and stressful, soon you realise the traffic lights and the white lines on the roads no use hahaha you just have to follow the locals how they just step onto the roads and walk slowly,/9'ehoe the cards and bikes will slow down for you to cross lol
And they habit of honking for everything, initially give me headaches but still not used to it.

Ben Thanh market is tourist trap hahaha we wanted to buy some clothes but keep asking how much they purposely won't tell you the price. Only ask you what size and color you like then I think depend how you react to the selection I think they will decide how to carrot. Got this top she purposely show us this 950k price sticker behind the top tag say that one for tourists but we "friend friend" then charge us "cheaper" but end up we bargain til quite abit but already lazy and feel tired to bargain anymore.

Some of my friends bought those lacquerware from tourist shops to give as gifts.

They also fell in love with the green chilies they served here and bought some back from the Ben Thanh market. Not sure whether sg got sell viet products or not? Lol

Stumbled upon this nice chilled out cafe near palace call Propogana cafe as the rain suddenly rain quite heavily so we just want to find a place to hide. The decor of the cafe is with nice colorful murals, good to take photos.

Their buildings and culture very French and laid back. Even coffee bean and tea leaf outlet exterior decor very European design.

Golden mile complex supermarket got sell viet products.

Btw, I really like the French influence and cafe culture there. For food I recommend venturing out of D1 to surrounding districts. Try those shophouse stalls in the small alleys for cheap and more authentic food

Cloud_Evolution

Everywhere the same, just be careful. Even in Copenhagen (Denmark) also same, so many pickpockets....probably more than Vietnam. I kanna there once too. Italy, such an advanced economy, is famous for pickpockets too. LOL. Dont tell me you dont bring camera/phone there??
wanted to bring my proper camera there, my friend got his camera snatched away right outside his hotel on 2nd day, so i kinda worry. Phone i had to bring no matter what. too bad i dont have any spare phone :(

u use camera phone or dslr? show some pics leh.

Cloud_Evolution

few qns.

1. Which prepaid card/or telco for data is cheap and easy to activate/topup?
2. SG downloaded Grab/Uber able to use in vietnam directly? All cash transaction right?
3. Any night market recommended and their closing time?

kitkat2

few qns.

1. Which prepaid card/or telco for data is cheap and easy to activate/topup?
2. SG downloaded Grab/Uber able to use in vietnam directly? All cash transaction right?
3. Any night market recommended and their closing time?

if you are okay with dealing with the chinese, you can order a prepaid sim from taobao. they come preloaded with a few gigs of data and cost around $5.

my vietnamese friends in singapore always get preloaded cards every time they go back and discard them when they leave. usually not easily available to foreign visitors because you need to know where to find them. now that taobao sells them, we can also enjoy cheap data in vn :)

koala2004

Ha ha...now you know their road cultures....well, get used to it and enjoy! But I would say their accidents usually less fatal than those here, as their speed not really fast.

For cheaper prices and not so much bargaining (usually my wife bargain in tieng viet but she hates it too), can go Chinatown (Cho Binh Tay) or An Dong Market, less crowded (less touristy) and cheaper.

Me too, really like their café culture....

koala2004

which $$ changer at ben thanh? where is it?

At one side of BT market, opp it. There are 2, both gold jewellery shops: Mai Van and Ha Tam.

P1030880_zpsjarm0its.jpg

rayban

if you are okay with dealing with the chinese, you can order a prepaid sim from taobao. they come preloaded with a few gigs of data and cost around $5.

my vietnamese friends in singapore always get preloaded cards every time they go back and discard them when they leave. usually not easily available to foreign visitors because you need to know where to find them. now that taobao sells them, we can also enjoy cheap data in vn :)

taobao sell viet prepaid card? what the key word to find next time can order try, hope it got instruction how to do can buy a few to store

kitkat2

taobao sell viet prepaid card? what the key word to find next time can order try, hope it got instruction how to do can buy a few to store

google "taobao vinaphone".

they have expiry dates. why do you want to keep when they are so readily available?

rayban

google "taobao vinaphone".

they have expiry dates. why do you want to keep when they are so readily available?

taobao send to singapore need 1 week or so ma, some more cannot be just buy the card ask them mail over, sure buy a bit of other stuff and pack together....
For example, mum into winter clothes from taobao, cheap a lot and they mark up price when saw it sell in singapore. Some time buy mask but i dont trust china mask so not often. Buy more from taiwan mask as i can get make in japan mask which are dirt cheap.
"Toys" too if you know what i mean hahaha

kitkat2

i read is just for surf net only right? cause is s上网卡

mostly data only. no outgoing call or sms.
taobao send to singapore need 1 week or so ma, some more cannot be just buy the card ask them mail over, sure buy a bit of other stuff and pack together....

why not? i dont think shipping for a card alone is expensive. just put into envelope and airmail.

rayban

mostly data only. no outgoing call or sms.

why not? i dont think shipping for a card alone is expensive. just put into envelope and airmail.

never try direct air mail, maybe i try next time. cause normally tao bao i buy will send to a forwarder to send to sg.

Dont know if they can send direct without forwarder ma..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.