Vietnam

urban_closet

Naisseee, I will look out for the shops!

Have a ton of food places, shops and massage places to visit. Can't wait!

Have changed S$100 into VND and will bring approximately S$400 as backup.. hopefully will be enough

XiaoZen

SIM card better to get at airport or Ben Thah market? Since changing money at BT's gold smith shop, Ha Tam.

Also, what's a decent amount for tipping? Tipping usually for what services?
only 2 places to take note required u to tips.

1. massage place. depends on the duration of massage etc.. and ask the cashier before entering. if the cashier say, up to u... 50k should be sufficient. 100k if its longer duration. some place massage ticket is 100K, hence they will say minimum tips is 100k. (this is because the massage lady dun have basic pay, their income is on tips only). always ask what is the minimum tips.. some singaporean guys like to go those pretty hair wash place.. tip can be 300k-500k.

2. local vn stall, non-air type or road side type eatery. those waiter and waitress have very very low basic. they survive on tips as well. typically i will left my change for them. anywhere between 50-100k is more than sufficient.

if u want to tip bell boy etc, $1 USD is more than sufficient.

newbie to vn always have problem counting the cash.. please dun hand ppl 1k-2K vnd as tips, its pretty insulting.. as well dun tip..

koala2004

Have changed S$100 into VND and will bring approximately S$400 as backup.. hopefully will be enough

Only S$100??!! Pls lah...VN is cheap but don't take it as 3rd world leh...HCMC some more. Some of their things are more ex than SG. With $100, you still "Have a ton of food places, shops and massage places to visit"....

XiaoZen

Only S$100??!! Pls lah...VN is cheap but don't take it as 3rd world leh...HCMC some more. Some of their things are more ex than SG. With $100, you still "Have a ton of food places, shops and massage places to visit"....
i agree with koala.. 100 is abit too little.. unless urban_closet is student.. then i can teach him to tour and visit hcmc with 100SGD..

rayban

huh 100 worth of sgd? you think vietnam massage is 1 dollar ya? transport is 1 dollar also haha? sure not enough.... I have to admit that vietnam is one of the countries i been that spend the least compare to taiwan and thailand but 100 sgd per day or 2 days maybe

urban_closet

I intend to change the rest of the SGD there leh; understand that there are better rates in HCM?

For 4D3N, what would your estimated spend be?

koala2004

i agree with koala.. 100 is abit too little.. unless urban_closet is student.. then i can teach him to tour and visit hcmc with 100SGD..

LOL...the other way should be better to meet his objectives....changing $400 and keep $100 as spare.

koala2004

I intend to change the rest of the SGD there leh; understand that there are better rates in HCM?

For 4D3N, what would your estimated spend be?

Oh I see...misunderstood your meaning. LOL

It all depends on what you intend to do. For my purpose with family and activities, min 1K.

rayban

i student too why no teach me.....

Go hot toc do face wash and hair wash and piano massage , eat banh mi or road side noodle. rent motor to travel or take Xe om i think or uber. then confirm 100sgd enough. Take bus from airport to ben tanh and bus back to airport haha

XiaoZen

i student too why no teach me.....

Go hot toc do face wash and hair wash and piano massage , eat banh mi or road side noodle. rent motor to travel or take Xe om i think or uber. then confirm 100sgd enough. Take bus from airport to ben tanh and bus back to airport haha
you old bird liao..

xe om is the way to go... ubermotor and grabmotor is available readily in hcmc. if not, just walk.

pham ngu lao area have rooms as low as 300k per night.

Banh mi - 20k. pho 50-60k.

100SGD is 1 week pay for fresh graduate.

rayban

you old bird liao..

xe om is the way to go... ubermotor and grabmotor is available readily in hcmc. if not, just walk.

pham ngu lao area have rooms as low as 300k per night.

Banh mi - 20k. pho 50-60k.

100SGD is 1 week pay for fresh graduate.

i undergrad not fresh grad haha.... motor is thailand i think more safe than hcm or maybe i m wrong...

XiaoZen

i undergrad not fresh grad haha.... motor is thailand i think more safe than hcm or maybe i m wrong...
moto sai in thailand is same as xe om in vn... not problem... there's once i actually half drunk and xe om back hotel for 20mins.. lols

rayban

moto sai in thailand is same as xe om in vn... not problem... there's once i actually half drunk and xe om back hotel for 20mins.. lols

tomorrow fly liao, hope can pass custom, cause now sick sia hai

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.