Vietnam

koala2004

Hi guys, newbie here gonna venture into HCM for the first time.
Booked my air tic via jetstar, supposed to be $97 to and fro, but they charge me $14 for using CC. :s22: No option to pay via SAM/AXS

Anyway, im heading over with 3 friends(guys) from 24-28 nov. And i'm currently super lost with all the information i read. Would appreciate some helps from lao jiaos here!

Friend recommended me to stay in D1 ben tanh market. I'm kinda lost because there seems to be so many district in HCM. Feels like hunger games to me :s13:

So far what i gather was,
1. buying prepaid at HCM airport, vinaphone preferred?
2. taxi to ben tanh is about 160k VND? take either vinasun or mai linh
3. Uber is more convenient and cheaper?
4. Changing money at the goldsmith in D1, higher rates?
5. Hotel - Blue diamond and the lavender, read from a bro here. (are they girl friendly)?
6. tipping 50k-100k or unless stated?

Other than that, i'm totally lost in planning activities..

Any other hotels to reccommend with the budget of $50+-/night? Or should i look for airbnb?

Besides all this, what are the things i can do in HCM? Will most likely be doing some sight seeing during the day and party at night.

Any places recommended for sight seeing and also "fun" places to do in the day/night? ;)

Tipping usually for services such as massage. Massage is good and cheap, can try 137 Foot Massage Salon (btw it do all massage, not just foot), take the whole body from head to toe, really good.

Enjoy their café, street food, BT market/Binh Tay Mkt/Saigon Sq Malls, enjoy their authentic viet cuisine, BBQ seafood etc. Go Mekong Delta, Cu Chi tunnel, all attractions within walking distance in city centre such as Independence Palace, Notre Dame Cathedral, Saigon Post Office (next to Notre Dame), Bitexco (tallest building, viewing gallery) etc. At night go BT Night market, Backpackers' Street (more happening at night), go walk at Nguyen Hue Walking Street, very nice at night. Other night life activities other bro can recommend as I am a family man, don't play such thing LOL :D

If you need specific food recommendation, I can PM you.

Actually HCM is simple, go by District, most tourists will stay D1 as it's most convenient and happening, wont be wrong. 2-3 star hotels cheap too, in 20 - 40s range, I go for at least 3 star, good reviews and not exceeding 50. I am the one recommending Lavender and Blue Diamond, room bigger and clean.

Uber is cheapest but you need to be sure location is right, else will be comm issue as most drivers don't spk English/Chinese, but I did met some who can spk English and they are educated people. Most in service line cab spk eng/chi, such as massage/hotel. So not an issue. I tried uber several times and mostly 50% cheaper than flag down cabs, but flag down cabs good too as it is readily available, no surcharge anytime 24h (even advance booking) unlike SG, cabs new and clean. Only go for Mailinh or Vinasun. But for me easier as I have viet wife, else I may feel handicap too.

Delsamor

no tips required for proper restaurant.

tour package - typically they will say tips recommended.. not necessary. good to have as gratitude. 100k is more than fine if you find him good.

if i paid with big notes, typically i will take the big notes back ie 50k, 100k.. those 1k-2k and 5k, i will just leave behind.

Restaurant no give tips ...
if go to day tour, such as mekong tour, abt 10sgd half day tour
also no give tips ...

Thanks both for the helpful tips! :s12:

XiaoZen

newbie going vn for lady fun... good luck.. get ready to get chop chop chop...

and let me guess, one of ur friend probably got a vnb contact in vn and promise to bring u all around..

the thing is the vnb most probably is from village. so she herself probably also dun know alot of thing about saigon.

uncle me give u some guidelines so that u dun get chop too much.
KTV
GRO tip: 500k.
GRO manager: same as GRO. 500k.
Waiter/waitress: 100K
Going rate for GRO to go out: 3mil

Massage:
Those Q1 clean massage which cost around 300K per 1.5hrs. tip 50-100K.
Those cheaper clean massage u find in Q5 100K per 1.5hrs. Tip 100k
Hotel Spa with facility and possible HE - ticket from 150-300k, Tip 300 onwards.

btw, lavender is not girl-friendly..

finale1

and let me guess, one of ur friend probably got a vnb contact in vn and promise to bring u all around..

the thing is the vnb most probably is from village. so she herself probably also dun know alot of thing about saigon.

KTV

Massage:
Hotel Spa with facility and possible HE - ticket from 150-300k, Tip 300 onwards.

What is GRO btw? Newbie here

stan91

Tipping usually for services such as massage. Massage is good and cheap, can try 137 Foot Massage Salon (btw it do all massage, not just foot), take the whole body from head to toe, really good.

Enjoy their café, street food, BT market/Binh Tay Mkt/Saigon Sq Malls, enjoy their authentic viet cuisine, BBQ seafood etc. Go Mekong Delta, Cu Chi tunnel, all attractions within walking distance in city centre such as Independence Palace, Notre Dame Cathedral, Saigon Post Office (next to Notre Dame), Bitexco (tallest building, viewing gallery) etc. At night go BT Night market, Backpackers' Street (more happening at night), go walk at Nguyen Hue Walking Street, very nice at night. Other night life activities other bro can recommend as I am a family man, don't play such thing LOL :D

If you need specific food recommendation, I can PM you.

Actually HCM is simple, go by District, most tourists will stay D1 as it's most convenient and happening, wont be wrong. 2-3 star hotels cheap too, in 20 - 40s range, I go for at least 3 star, good reviews and not exceeding 50. I am the one recommending Lavender and Blue Diamond, room bigger and clean.

Uber is cheapest but you need to be sure location is right, else will be comm issue as most drivers don't spk English/Chinese, but I did met some who can spk English and they are educated people. Most in service line cab spk eng/chi, such as massage/hotel. So not an issue. I tried uber several times and mostly 50% cheaper than flag down cabs, but flag down cabs good too as it is readily available, no surcharge anytime 24h (even advance booking) unlike SG, cabs new and clean. Only go for Mailinh or Vinasun. But for me easier as I have viet wife, else I may feel handicap too.

Hi bro, thanks for the recommendations. Can pm me some recommendations for food as well?

KTV

Massage:

Hi bro, apparently we do not have any vnb contacts as me and my friends are all more into siambu.... AHAHAHAHA. So this trip is totally new for us.

Is it possible for you to recommend me some specific places for some fun? ;)

Also i don't understand wads Q1 Q5 thingy, isit district? And what is HE? :s11:

koala2004

Hi bro, thanks for the recommendations. Can pm me some recommendations for food as well?

Hi bro, apparently we do not have any vnb contacts as me and my friends are all more into siambu.... AHAHAHAHA. So this trip is totally new for us.

Zen very naughty, teach bad people...lol

Q1 is District 1, Q is for Quan in viet.

HE I believe is Happy Ending....you siambu one should know right...LOL...but viet HE is mostly HJ only.

XiaoZen

oh... most of my friend whom cheong siambu have difficulties adjusting to viet style of fun..

but those whom managed to convert, will never go back to siam bu again.. most commented siam too mechanical..

good luck and enjoy..

XiaoZen

Has anyone taken Vietjet before? How is it like?
vietjet dun have use of aerobridge in Tan son nhat airport. So have to take bus to aircraft.. abit troublesome. IMO

but their air stewardess is pretty. convenience fee is much cheaper and even seat selection is cheap.

Cloud_Evolution

oh... most of my friend whom cheong siambu have difficulties adjusting to viet style of fun..

but those whom managed to convert, will never go back to siam bu again.. most commented siam too mechanical..

good luck and enjoy..

in terms of look, viet bu more oriental looks (to my preference).
Language wise, some of them can speak chinese.
At least they majority of them are not modified. :s13: you are more assured that u have a real woman beside u

lcpteck

in terms of look, viet bu more oriental looks (to my preference).
Language wise, some of them can speak chinese.
At least they majority of them are not modified. :s13: you are more assured that u have a real woman beside u

Well plastic surgery is also quite common among Vietnamese young women.

rayban

KTV

Massage:

Kor kor good tip sia...... hahahaha

rayban

Zen very naughty, teach bad people...lol

Q1 is District 1, Q is for Quan in viet.

HE I believe is Happy Ending....you siambu one should know right...LOL...but viet HE is mostly HJ only.

siam bu now go viet bu, once you go viet i think wont go thailand for sometime liao hahaha

rayban

good luck and enjoy..

same as i say too haha but i still go for twmm anytime

rayban

vietjet dun have use of aerobridge in Tan son nhat airport. So have to take bus to aircraft.. abit troublesome. IMO

but their air stewardess is pretty. convenience fee is much cheaper and even seat selection is cheap.

now vietjet go taiwan promo from hcm to taiwan 100+ 2 way nia....
By the way vietbu go taiwan should be need visa right

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.