Vietnam

Nitez86

curious how is Vietnam. Hanoi or HCM better.? End of this year thinking to go for a short break with my wife. Any recommendations or suggestions.?

Nitez86

Thinking of Taiwan or Vietnam. I been to Taiwan many times so kind of familiar but my wife never been to. But I never been to Vietnam. Hahas. And I see tickets Thailand to Vietnam cheap lor.😅😅😅

rayban

Thinking of Taiwan or Vietnam. I been to Taiwan many times so kind of familiar but my wife never been to. But I never been to Vietnam. Hahas. And I see tickets Thailand to Vietnam cheap lor.😅😅😅

lol go all three..... cheapest i go taiwan 2 ways 60++ vietnam 80++ and thailand 80++.....
Cheapest in term of spending Vietnam >thailand>Taiwan..
But to singaporean actually all three all cheap

diffuser911

Thank you!

Thanks to all you guys for responding to my queries earlier. Had an awesome break in Vietnam, with a 2D1N cruise on Halong Bay, and a day trip on Mekong Delta. Taxi and Uber tips worked great, though Uber was **** at peak timings due to surge pricing - upto 2.x! A bit disappointed for not having carried VND to begin with - was short-charged at every possible moment possible. Time to learn from the mistakes, coz I am definitely going back to see the cities, something I didn't get do this time around.

grapewall

SIM card better to get at airport or Ben Thah market? Since changing money at BT's gold smith shop, Ha Tam.

Also, what's a decent amount for tipping? Tipping usually for what services?

Some vinaphone sim cards are ezcom cards, only have data. Mine bought in some market stalls is the Xtra sim.. can make calls and use data. I didn't realised this until i went there last week and tried to activate D5 data but couldn't. The helpline girl told me mine cannot use D5, but can use D7.

grapewall

Naisseee, I will look out for the shops!

Have a ton of food places, shops and massage places to visit. Can't wait!

Have changed S$100 into VND and will bring approximately S$400 as backup.. hopefully will be enough
I admired your thrifty!!
I spent $600 last week... Including half on bird nests.

Sg_Stone

Hi guys, where is a good place to do some tailoring for formal wear in hcm?

Thank you every much in advance :s12:

Delsamor

only 2 places to take note required u to tips.

1. massage place. depends on the duration of massage etc.. and ask the cashier before entering. if the cashier say, up to u... 50k should be sufficient. 100k if its longer duration. some place massage ticket is 100K, hence they will say minimum tips is 100k. (this is because the massage lady dun have basic pay, their income is on tips only). always ask what is the minimum tips.. some singaporean guys like to go those pretty hair wash place.. tip can be 300k-500k.

2. local vn stall, non-air type or road side type eatery. those waiter and waitress have very very low basic. they survive on tips as well. typically i will left my change for them. anywhere between 50-100k is more than sufficient.

if u want to tip bell boy etc, $1 USD is more than sufficient.

newbie to vn always have problem counting the cash.. please dun hand ppl 1k-2K vnd as tips, its pretty insulting.. as well dun tip..

Good information, thanks. Is there any other instances where I need to give tips? Like to the tour guide or at a proper restaurant? Also, if paying for something and I gave a bigger note, will they automatic give me back the change or will they see it as a tips?

kitkat2

Some vinaphone sim cards are ezcom cards, only have data. Mine bought in some market stalls is the Xtra sim.. can make calls and use data. I didn't realised this until i went there last week and tried to activate D5 data but couldn't. The helpline girl told me mine cannot use D5, but can use D7.

d5 is for ezcom and ezcom is the data card product line. d5 is sometimes available on voice call cards during promotion but your number needs to be in the whitelist.

XiaoZen

Good information, thanks. Is there any other instances where I need to give tips? Like to the tour guide or at a proper restaurant? Also, if paying for something and I gave a bigger note, will they automatic give me back the change or will they see it as a tips?
no tips required for proper restaurant.

tour package - typically they will say tips recommended.. not necessary. good to have as gratitude. 100k is more than fine if you find him good.

if i paid with big notes, typically i will take the big notes back ie 50k, 100k.. those 1k-2k and 5k, i will just leave behind.

dede1217

Restaurant no give tips ...
if go to day tour, such as mekong tour, abt 10sgd half day tour
also no give tips ...

grapewall

d5 is for ezcom and ezcom is the data card product line. d5 is sometimes available on voice call cards during promotion but your number needs to be in the whitelist.
Yes, something like that. Last time when i buy the sim card from airport, i can SMS and make calls too.
Another thing.. the vinaphone app... Very screwed. Ha ha. Unreliable. Previously i tried to top up using the app, but error message pop up saying top up failed after i key in the codes. I tot my top up card was hijacked, so i entered another card codes. Same error message pop up. This time, when i check with the customer services about these 2 cards, she told me both were used on the same day within mins of each other. That means actually the top up was successfully!. Tmd. Lousy app.

stan91

Hi guys, newbie here gonna venture into HCM for the first time.
Booked my air tic via jetstar, supposed to be $97 to and fro, but they charge me $14 for using CC. :s22: No option to pay via SAM/AXS

Anyway, im heading over with 3 friends(guys) from 24-28 nov. And i'm currently super lost with all the information i read. Would appreciate some helps from lao jiaos here!

Friend recommended me to stay in D1 ben tanh market. I'm kinda lost because there seems to be so many district in HCM. Feels like hunger games to me :s13:

So far what i gather was,
1. buying prepaid at HCM airport, vinaphone preferred?
2. taxi to ben tanh is about 160k VND? take either vinasun or mai linh
3. Uber is more convenient and cheaper?
4. Changing money at the goldsmith in D1, higher rates?
5. Hotel - Blue diamond and the lavender, read from a bro here. (are they girl friendly)?
6. tipping 50k-100k or unless stated?

Other than that, i'm totally lost in planning activities..

Any other hotels to reccommend with the budget of $50+-/night? Or should i look for airbnb?

Besides all this, what are the things i can do in HCM? Will most likely be doing some sight seeing during the day and party at night.

Any places recommended for sight seeing and also "fun" places to do in the day/night? ;)

finale1

Hi guys, newbie here gonna venture into HCM for the first time.
Booked my air tic via jetstar, supposed to be $97 to and fro, but they charge me $14 for using CC. :s22: No option to pay via SAM/AXS

Anyway, im heading over with 3 friends(guys) from 24-28 nov. And i'm currently super lost with all the information i read. Would appreciate some helps from lao jiaos here!

Friend recommended me to stay in D1 ben tanh market. I'm kinda lost because there seems to be so many district in HCM. Feels like hunger games to me :s13:

So far what i gather was,
1. buying prepaid at HCM airport, vinaphone preferred?
2. taxi to ben tanh is about 160k VND? take either vinasun or mai linh
3. Uber is more convenient and cheaper?
4. Changing money at the goldsmith in D1, higher rates?
5. Hotel - Blue diamond and the lavender, read from a bro here. (are they girl friendly)?
6. tipping 50k-100k or unless stated?

Other than that, i'm totally lost in planning activities..

Any other hotels to reccommend with the budget of $50+-/night? Or should i look for airbnb?

Besides all this, what are the things i can do in HCM? Will most likely be doing some sight seeing during the day and party at night.

Any places recommended for sight seeing and also "fun" places to do in the day/night? ;)

1) airport extreme left has 2 stalls selling simcard. personally i use mobifone, connection is good.

2) taxi from airport to benh thanh is max 8usd. abt 160k vnd. or u can take bus 152 outside burger king (air con and fast) only 5k vnd! Bus 152 stops at benh thanh bus station and u can walk to hotel.

3) Uber is half price compared to tax on 3 days in a week. Mon, Thurs and one more day. Weekends, its the same price as taxi.

4) Moneychanger is called HA TAM. facing benh thanh and theres another money changer opposite it. U cant miss it.

5) Blue Diamond breakfast good. U can try Lan Lan 2 or Bloom Saigon.

6) Vietnam has no tipping culture when u have meals there. Massage u can tip minmally 50k.

finale1

Hi guys, where is a good place to do some tailoring for formal wear in hcm?

Thank you every much in advance :s12:

Sorry bro HCMC not the place for tailoring. They likely send ur measurements to Hoi An. u have to wait 1-2 weeks.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.