Vietnam

dede1217

1) Pho shop along Truong Dinh street, opposite Xavier hotel and diagonal to Baskin Robbins. One of the best and tastiest meatball noodles i tried here. Just look out for a blue store with lots of vietnamese locals in it.

2) Mi Cat, 62 Truong Dinh Street, Benh Thanh D1. This shop very crowded with locals and they sell pigs liver, pork noodle. its abt 50k vnd for a bowl and super tasty. Its located right next to Marakuma Udon.

3) Pizza4P near Benh Thanh Mkt (they have 2 more locations in D1). This is the bestest of the best pizza places in Saigon and possibly Vietnam. Homemade cheese and servings of the cheese is super generous. The pizza here is woodfired and better than those u get in 5 star hotels.

Tried pizza4p few years back, quite nice and delicious
can mixed two flavor for two pizza
one pizza is about 13sgd if i rmb correctly ... :)

rrr2015

for those who needs to bring their mama papa friends to sit & dine comfortably may consider asiana food town @ Phường Phạm Lão :)

around ben thanh you can find vietnamese, malaysia, singapore, japanese, good (but not cheap) burgers, plenty of cafe, craft beers etc .....

recently i tried tractor coffee (small cafe who grow, roast & brew their own coffee in Bao Loc Highland) very good & cheap

greenpeacookies

Highly recommend blue diamond! Buffet is shiok until... and of course the room is also good, very clean.

agree , blue diamond was in one of my shortlisted hotels too.
Others that i have shortlisted, le duy, vien dong, elios, lan lan 1 , lan lan 2 :)
Would be good for those who want to have a better breakfast buffet spread
look at their tripadvisor images, those that people takes ...

finale1

Theres always a code for 10% discount for 1 night stay. Just have to look hard enough. =)

OCBC10HOL, requires minimum 2 nites stay
discount code only works for most hotel, international chains or some other hotels not included :) Discount is 10% before taxes ...
Eventually the discount is about 8.6% off your total room rates ...

koala2004

avoid visiting Vung tau durig their school holiday.. jun till aug?
or you will get very rude shock with the locals :s13:
another spectacular view at vung tau ... to me .. is the locals will go to the beach in swimming costume straight from their hotel room and vice versa :s13:
i.e. lots of swing flesh and bouncing tummy

Yup, their school hol is 3 mth one shot, once a year, unlike SG, in 4 instalments...LOL

Straight to beach in swim wear is ok lah, since the hotels mostly along the beach, we did the same. LOL

finale1

Yup, their school hol is 3 mth one shot, once a year, unlike SG, in 4 instalments...LOL

Straight to beach in swim wear is ok lah, since the hotels mostly along the beach, we did the same. LOL

Koala, do u know of any good places in D1 where theres good hair wash/ grooming services? Decent ones... haha

koala2004

yes .. I prefer that too
otherwise still have to hunt for place to eat

No need to hunt, we know where to go for nice local food. There are so many food available, it is a waste to eat in hotel. But if hotel package with bf, we will still eat a little then venture out ..LOL

koala2004

Parents and their friends want to sit down comfortably and dine in ...
more choices is good for them ...
have to see who you are traveling with...

Try the famous Bun Moc (14 Truong Dinh Street, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City). The old restaurant only sells this but biz damn good. Morning eat this with their iced coffee, shiok.

dede1217

I like Blue Diamond too but price has been pretty steep now...

Last year flew to hcm, checked their blue diamond price is about 40sgd per nite for two w breakfast ... think is under promotion tats why ...

eventually have chosen other hotels ... 3* also . about 42sgd per nite for two w breakfast ... normally is about 55sgd per nite

blue diamond, lan lan 1 , lan lan 2 seems like under same boss in my opinion ...

dede1217

Try the famous Bun Moc (14 Truong Dinh Street, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City). The old restaurant only sells this but biz damn good. Morning eat this with their iced coffee, shiok.

Thanks, shall take a look next month when flying to hcm ...

greenpeacookies

On my second visit I stayed with City Hotel. Location is much better than Blue Diamond, directly situated in one of the alleys along the Ben Thanh night market.

they have decent breakfast too - not buffet style but u choose one dish from the very extensive menu. Comes with fruits and a drink.

We stayed in family room- is very big and spacious.

I like Blue Diamond too but price has been pretty steep now...

koala2004

Thanks, shall take a look next month when flying to hcm ...

Go for the big bowl one...only 5K diff. Their coffee comes with free Vietnam tea (those taste a bit plain but refreshing type).

Put some green chilli...even better, but you got to be able to take spiciness. LOL.

koala2004

Last year flew to hcm, checked their blue diamond price is about 40sgd per nite for two w breakfast ... think is under promotion tats why ...

eventually have chosen other hotels ... 3* also . about 42sgd per nite for two w breakfast ... normally is about 55sgd per nite

blue diamond, lan lan 1 , lan lan 2 seems like under same boss in my opinion ...

In the past, we have no issue getting this price for better 3* hotels...but recent years, have to go for triple room as my son crossed 11 years old (most hotels 11 yo is adult liao)...so options less, I mean cheap and yet triple/family room LOL. Recently tried Ha My 3 and Truong Thinh for family or triple room, the latter is better, location good too, along Ly Tu Trong and near BT. Breakfast included and not bad, mini buffet on rooftop. Only 40 plus a night.

rrr2015

This is my first meal for my very first HCM trip :)
Still good but I prefer Hủ Tiếu Mì Cật nowadays

do you happen to know any Cháo lươn (eel porridge) around D1 or 3.

caytruc

Aren't taka stuff like expensive? I want buy stuff like in BKK platinum mall, got such places?
I think An Dong market would fit your description. It's in D5 but only 10 mins from D1 by cabs, not as far as Chinatown.
Saigon Square will be more central, but smaller and maybe not as cheap as An Dong.

btw, there is 2 "An Dong", An Dong 1 and An Dong 2, just next to each other, An Dong 2 is more like a mall

XiaoZen

REPOST!

Hahaha those fixed are arrange by company. Not that i have a choice though. Anyway cu chi or mekong delta is better? Mekong delta can go without tour? How to go and whole day there? Also with those fixed how much shld i exchange from sgd?
cu chi is better.. and fit your time slot better because if u choose Mekong, you may not make it in time for your dinners. Mekong trips typical is whole day tour.

for how much money to change.. I recommend you change 200-300sgd to vnd first. then bring 500sgd along just in case. 300 sgd should change approx. it really depends on ur spending etc..

XiaoZen

I think An Dong market would fit your description. It's in D5 but only 10 mins from D1 by cabs, not as far as Chinatown.
Saigon Square will be more central, but smaller and maybe not as cheap as An Dong.

btw, there is 2 "An Dong", An Dong 1 and An Dong 2, just next to each other, An Dong 2 is more like a mall
typically I dun recommend ppl to go an dong.. because the quality of stuff there is low. can they dun communicate well in other languages. you may even find them hostile as they are doing wholesale business.. and not interested in your 1 pieces sales.

sticky to BT market, Saigon square etc for cheap buys.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.