Vietnam

grapewall

In hcm now. It's public holiday tomorrow, so today onwards the streets not so busy. Many shops closed.
Subscribed the Vinaphone D2 plan, 2gb at 10k dongs per day. Only used less than 100mb after almost 24 hours.
The Vinaphone customer service girl told me "due to new regulations, your 2gb plan can only use data but cannot use internet." Wth she talking? Me still using as normal..
Noticed police patrolling quite frequent.

rrr2015

Hey guys am going to HCMC in Aug, where should I stay? Looking at airbnb. Also what to do there? Any outskirts worth going to? Thanks.

just to add on to dede1217 suggestions
stay around ben thanh or at least district 1
street food market near ben thanh market ~ tourist price but at least all prices are listed & you get to taste wide variety of food
cafe hopping & craft beer
there are some underground nightlife (just google)

koala2004

use uber or grab in hcmc, use data plan only or need to use voice?

In case call back to confirm location since not all location is accurate based on GPS. But if they spk Vietnamese, then....

Usually we bought data with some voice plan.

sellbuyboy

No need voice. Grab will do. But just make sure you wAtch out for the car plate.

sellbuyboy

In hcm now. It's public holiday tomorrow, so today onwards the streets not so busy. Many shops closed.
Subscribed the Vinaphone D2 plan, 2gb at 10k dongs per day. Only used less than 100mb after almost 24 hours.
The Vinaphone customer service girl told me "due to new regulations, your 2gb plan can only use data but cannot use internet." Wth she talking? Me still using as normal..
Noticed police patrolling quite frequent.

I bought 105k, 5gb plan. How to get your plan at airport?

grapewall

I bought 105k, 5gb plan. How to get your plan at airport?

My sim card was bought in the market. It does not has any plans unless i subscribe to it.
I think your sim card is already preset to a particular plan to make it easy for travellers.

audiovideo

I cant even finish the 1gb for 1 week, especially if 3g speed.. really, don't need 5gb lah..

indeed. like in bkk I thought 1.5GB for 1 week is just nice but end up only use few hundred MB cos surf net mostly end up in hotel room with free wifi. On the move hardly use except to pass time on train or to locate hunting ground :s13:

audiovideo

Went in Mar...the last shop no good leh in terms of their plans, so we go to 3rd from last. This is the shop we went to several times already.

come out turn left is before out of the building
otherwise turn left to the end is Popeye :s13:

audiovideo

Planning for HCM -> Dalat
i guess flight still the best option. but still like to know of any luxury bus to Dalat?

I understand there's a shuttle bus from Dalat airport 40K vnd
Any other options?

Been thinking if good idea to rent bike to go around since the bus transport network doesn't seems too developed

Thanks!

Planning to go nha trang and dalat by mpv, likely the same toyota fortuner.
Quoted price is 900k vnd
Hcm stop over at muine then proceed to nha trang 2 nights then to dalat 2 nights and back to hcm

Is this price for car rental with driver ok?
If price include driver settle own lodging then is good lol. Otherwise may have to find cheap room for him.

By flight and all transfers in may not be cheaper. Only plus is save 5hrs each way.

kitkat2

indeed. like in bkk I thought 1.5GB for 1 week is just nice but end up only use few hundred MB cos surf net mostly end up in hotel room with free wifi. On the move hardly use except to pass time on train or to locate hunting ground :s13:

This shows that you were enjoying your holiday. Some people just have to watch lots of youtube when on vacation.

koala2004

Planning to go nha trang and dalat by mpv, likely the same toyota fortuner.
Quoted price is 900k vnd
Hcm stop over at muine then proceed to nha trang 2 nights then to dalat 2 nights and back to hcm

Is this price for car rental with driver ok?
If price include driver settle own lodging then is good lol. Otherwise may have to find cheap room for him.

By flight and all transfers in may not be cheaper. Only plus is save 5hrs each way.

900K? It's one way 440km leh...2 way will be almost 900km and only VND900K? It's simply too cheap. For this type of charter, the driver usually sleeps in the vehicle, else they earn nothing. 900K is really cheap if true.

audiovideo

900K? It's one way 440km leh...2 way will be almost 900km and only VND900K? It's simply too cheap. For this type of charter, the driver usually sleeps in the vehicle, else they earn nothing. 900K is really cheap if true.

Holy... my bad... is 9 million

koala2004

Holy... my bad... is 9 million

Ok...thought why so cheap. Mine also 9m...but itinerary a bit different. Mine is 16 seater mini bus for family, we went to Nha Trang by night train, stay there 2N, then the charter service with driver started from NT to Dalat where we stayed for 3 nights and then back to HCM, the whole journey we have the service to go wherever we want, not point to point only. So its total 4D3N service. 9m net, we don't have to cater anything for the driver, but for some meals, we invited him to join us and treated him.

You can try check with Vietnam Budget Car Rental...service good and price reasonable. Can whatsapp +84 98 803 83 01

chin19

Ok...thought why so cheap. Mine also 9m...but itinerary a bit different. Mine is 16 seater mini bus for family, we went to Nha Trang by night train, stay there 2N, then the charter service with driver started from NT to Dalat where we stayed for 3 nights and then back to HCM, the whole journey we have the service to go wherever we want, not point to point only. So its total 4D3N service. 9m net, we don't have to cater anything for the driver, but for some meals, we invited him to join us and treated him.

You can try check with Vietnam Budget Car Rental...service good and price reasonable. Can whatsapp +84 98 803 83 01

Hi, can share me you family trip travel itinerary
I planing trio to hanoi, halong and sapa on dec17.
11A 2C.
Thanks

audiovideo

How about lodging for the driver?
Driver settle himself? Include in the 9m?
How many hours from dalat to hcm with the mini bus?

caytruc

if going to Dalat, should take flight, it's fast and not very expensive

road accidents in Vietnam are frequent, especially if going to the mountains area

koala2004

Hi, can share me you family trip travel itinerary
I planing trio to hanoi, halong and sapa on dec17.
11A 2C.
Thanks

Oh so coincidence. We are going to Hanoi, Sapa, Halong Bay and Ninh Binh (these are places where Kong is filmed) from 24 Nov to 2 Dec...on SIA promo tic. We 12A & 5C.

Details and cost still finalising with the Hanoi land tour agency. Roughly S$750 per pax, excl air tic, with 2 days Free & Easy in Hanoi city. Hotels/cruise all inclusive. Below is broad itinerary:

Day 1: Arrival at Hanoi, half day city tour
Day 2: Free & Easy in Hanoi, night train to Lao Cai
Day 3: Lao Cai - Sapa - Bac Ha Mkt - Fansipan Mountain
Day 4: Sapa - Heaven's Gate, Silver Waterfall, night train to Hanoi
Day 5: Hanoi - Halong Bay Cruise (2D1N)
Day 6: Halong Bay - Hanoi
Day 7: Hoa Lu - Van Long Ninh Binh Full Day
Day 8: Free & Easy in Hanoi
Day 9: Departure

I spent quite sometime to finalised the itinerary and details. Also prep a list of places to visit and food to eat.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.