Vietnam

didymus

Wow i statying at christian at saigon too. They have motorbike tour service? Cool

if you kiasu a bit, then u buy beforehand on klook or other online tour websites. otherwise, just go there, there are many tour package shops, especially along pham ngu lao area.

typical tours will include cu chi tunnel and mekong delta. for things to do within the city, suggest u can search online for a half day motorbike tour. last time i went to hanoi i booked with christinas.vn and the motorbike tours were conducted by students so it was a fresh experience. it's a donation based service, so give them a tip that you think is reasonable. website as follow:

https://www.christinas.vn/saigon/experience/student-city-tour/

also, if you like museums, do give war remnants museum a try. to me it was quite interesting and heartbreaking when u see pictures of the victims from agent orange.

for money wise, for 5 days i think u can bring around $200 in VND but bring extra SGD just in case. besides, the money changers here offer quite competitive rates compared to singapore. u can find them near Ben Thanh market.

Junken

Wow i statying at christian at saigon too. They have motorbike tour service? Cool

they have it too in hanoi. you can check them out on their site. their typical tours are expensive, but from the reviews it seems they are going for the more atas/exclusive kind of tour experience. but for the motorbike tour it's donation based, so it's really up to u. the students motive is to practise english with foreigners so they're more than happy to show u around.

anyway in general i didn't really enjoy hanoi as i'm also not really a nature or arts/culture kind of person.

rrr2015

ok i know one but he based in nha trang
not familiar with Vietnam road so pefer to have a guide
what u mean by bike tour? i guess you can ride your own bike there. but i don't think there's a tour per se... who wanna ride u there for 8 hours and back sia

rrr2015

if u bought from klook then u can change less vnd right? cons is you can't change your mind once u r there
5d4n trip to saigon

how to plan? aside from the central attractions and malls / markets for shopping...

for tours like mekong delta, buy package tour from klook or?

lastly, aside from accommodation and air ticket, how much to bring for normal traveling and makan expenses? (exclude shopping)

$200 enough?

rrr2015

hanoi famous for egg coffee (ca phe trung) & pho ga. but u should try sticky rice (xoi yen pretty good), bun cha also.
Going Hanoi 3 nights Saigon 3 nights.

Any suggestions? Halong Bay overnight cruise worth it? Anymor where is the best coffee and pho in Hanoi? Lol 🤠🤭

ZacharyA

if u bought from klook then u can change less vnd right? cons is you can't change your mind once u r there

I have been reading some, not all, of the thread here. I'll probably change enough to go there? Say $100? And the rest in Ben Thanh money changer / gold shop as and when necessary since I'm intending to stay in D1 around BT

I budgeted approx $300-400? Inclusive of shopping cos I intend to get some clothes and a Northface backpack and running shoes if they have something that I like

ZacharyA

if you kiasu a bit, then u buy beforehand on klook or other online tour websites. otherwise, just go there, there are many tour package shops, especially along pham ngu lao area.

typical tours will include cu chi tunnel and mekong delta. for things to do within the city, suggest u can search online for a half day motorbike tour. last time i went to hanoi i booked with christinas.vn and the motorbike tours were conducted by students so it was a fresh experience. it's a donation based service, so give them a tip that you think is reasonable. website as follow:

https://www.christinas.vn/saigon/experience/student-city-tour/

also, if you like museums, do give war remnants museum a try. to me it was quite interesting and heartbreaking when u see pictures of the victims from agent orange.

for money wise, for 5 days i think u can bring around $200 in VND but bring extra SGD just in case. besides, the money changers here offer quite competitive rates compared to singapore. u can find them near Ben Thanh market.

Thanks. I might give cuchi tunnel a miss and I have not really plan the outline of my itinerary. It's meant to be free and easy cos it's a solo trip. I'll want 2 days of slow exploring within the city, shopping and makan, 1 full day (from morning till evening) for mekong delta. And another day open for free and easy. (Not necessarily in the above order)

Furthermore, I've been doing some research on YouTube and seen a lot of cuchi tunnel vids. I'm afraid the real experience is gonna bore me cos there's quite limited things you can do and most of the time is spent traveling to and fro.

Last day is a half day as I'm coming back via 5+ pm flight and need to be at the airport by 2-3pm

Will defn bring more sgd, but only intend and budget to change ard $400 for now..

Just afraid their food (apart from ban mi and phot) doesn't suit my taste and esp when language is a barrier.

Junken

Thanks. I might give cuchi tunnel a miss and I have not really plan the outline of my itinerary. It's meant to be free and easy cos it's a solo trip. I'll want 2 days of slow exploring within the city, shopping and makan, 1 full day (from morning till evening) for mekong delta. And another day open for free and easy. (Not necessarily in the above order)

Furthermore, I've been doing some research on YouTube and seen a lot of cuchi tunnel vids. I'm afraid the real experience is gonna bore me cos there's quite limited things you can do and most of the time is spent traveling to and fro.

Last day is a half day as I'm coming back via 5+ pm flight and need to be at the airport by 2-3pm

Will defn bring more sgd, but only intend and budget to change ard $400 for now..

Just afraid their food (apart from ban mi and phot) doesn't suit my taste and esp when language is a barrier.

i have actually been to cu chi tunnels 3 times. not that i wanted to, but cos i went to hcm with 3 different groups of people (family, then friends, then army people). i would say, if u enjoy understanding a bit of history, u would like it. it's interesting to know how the vietnamese went through the vietnam war.

since you are intending to go really free and easy. i recommend u to take some time to relax and go for massage at miumiu. they have a few outlets within hcmc. it's a little pricier (+/- 500k) but it's good quality.

i think food u don't need to be worried. food here is delicious and in general quite well-suited to our sinkie tastebuds. do try their hu tieu and bun rieu.

ZacharyA

i have actually been to cu chi tunnels 3 times. not that i wanted to, but cos i went to hcm with 3 different groups of people (family, then friends, then army people). i would say, if u enjoy understanding a bit of history, u would like it. it's interesting to know how the vietnamese went through the vietnam war.

since you are intending to go really free and easy. i recommend u to take some time to relax and go for massage at miumiu. they have a few outlets within hcmc. it's a little pricier (+/- 500k) but it's good quality.

i think food u don't need to be worried. food here is delicious and in general quite well-suited to our sinkie tastebuds. do try their hu tieu and bun rieu.

I think I have watched sufficient YouTube videos to have a feel of what it is like, really comprehensively taken ones. Don't quite like the idea of traveling to and fro as I personally think it's be quite time exhaustive, altho the live firing at range seems interesting, and costly too..

Although I will be there for 5d4n, in actual it's only about 4 days, cos day of arrival and day of departure is 2 half days.

I will budget 1 day for Mekong Delta from 7am to 5pm, then at night walk around and for something to makan, don't think will have much energy for more walking...

then 2 of the other days, not in any order, is to do central saigon shopping in malls and also tour the post office, cathedral, and also find some must have food stalls...

so far, i got 1 day that is empty for me to research for new ideas.... planning the itinerary once I shortlist my activities.

rrr2015

you could get a tour for black virgin mountain, cu chi, cao dai temple. they are usually done together
I think I have watched sufficient YouTube videos to have a feel of what it is like, really comprehensively taken ones. Don't quite like the idea of traveling to and fro as I personally think it's be quite time exhaustive, altho the live firing at range seems interesting, and costly too..

Although I will be there for 5d4n, in actual it's only about 4 days, cos day of arrival and day of departure is 2 half days.

I will budget 1 day for Mekong Delta from 7am to 5pm, then at night walk around and for something to makan, don't think will have much energy for more walking...

then 2 of the other days, not in any order, is to do central saigon shopping in malls and also tour the post office, cathedral, and also find some must have food stalls...

so far, i got 1 day that is empty for me to research for new ideas.... planning the itinerary once I shortlist my activities.

AhBui168

Is it worth to buy gold from vietnam ?
just scare their gold is not really pure.

I seen their gold shop only have 999 & 18k gold, not like Singapore and Malaysia have 916 gold.

Especially others country people love to come singapore to buy gold, cause is authorize and pure.

Henabi

If you don't know anyone trustworthy there... Then just buy in Singapore

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

Junken

the cathedral still under renovation works fyi...

ZacharyA

the cathedral still under renovation works fyi...

oh man, i'm actually looking forward to visit the cathedral more than the post office...

so far, settled airbnb and air tickets, shortlisting some food places from research, shopping centres should be easy to settle

anything else to do??

my shopping list:
looking to buy a northface backpack - should I go BT market or is there any other malls / shopping places that can get these factory rejects or original copy?
some dri fit tops and shorts
and possible a pair of kicks if it's not too expensive and decent quality

can intro some places aside from BT market to look for these things at vfm pricetag?

ZacharyA

btw you live in saigon? for work?

i'll check miumiu out, 500k+ is acceptable, splurge a bit for comfort... but not cheap enough to go daily! :s13:

for food wise, generally ok with all the rice flour based dishes... i just don't really dare to try pig blood... the rest is ok...

Junken

oh man, i'm actually looking forward to visit the cathedral more than the post office...

so far, settled airbnb and air tickets, shortlisting some food places from research, shopping centres should be easy to settle

anything else to do??

my shopping list:
looking to buy a northface backpack - should I go BT market or is there any other malls / shopping places that can get these factory rejects or original copy?
some dri fit tops and shorts
and possible a pair of kicks if it's not too expensive and decent quality

can intro some places aside from BT market to look for these things at vfm pricetag?

for things to do, i have suggested war remnants museum and miumiu massage lor.

for other shopping area, u can try saigon square (opp takashimaya) and russian market at vo van kiet. the russian market is a bit out of the way but still in district 1.

for Ben Thanh market, there is 1 area where the prices are fixed, indicated all around. for the normal ones, u can try to start bargaining at 1/3 the price. ofc it'll help if can speak a bit of vietnamese, i've helped my friend get reasonable discounts before. also buy northface backpack.

Junken

btw you live in saigon? for work?

i'll check miumiu out, 500k+ is acceptable, splurge a bit for comfort... but not cheap enough to go daily! :s13:

for food wise, generally ok with all the rice flour based dishes... i just don't really dare to try pig blood... the rest is ok...

ya i live in saigon. district 7. but i work around 30-40km away from where i stay, considered outside of hcm.

miumiu - please do online booking cos they are typically full.
http://www.miumiuspa.com/#pgBooking

for food, i never really seen much pig blood anywhere leh. if u wish to splurge a bit more, u can try Pizza 4P or Tomatito. they are not like damn expensive, still very affordable compared to singapore.

ZacharyA

ya i live in saigon. district 7. but i work around 30-40km away from where i stay, considered outside of hcm.

miumiu - please do online booking cos they are typically full.
http://www.miumiuspa.com/#pgBooking

for food, i never really seen much pig blood anywhere leh. if u wish to splurge a bit more, u can try Pizza 4P or Tomatito. they are not like damn expensive, still very affordable compared to singapore.

sorry i was referring to the blood tofu.... it's not something i'll eat... haha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.