Vietnam

Henabi

the problem is.... the shopping malls in D7 don't open so early... at most the cafes like Highland coffee etc

as tourist.. logically speaking maybe go there around 11am, whereby the traffic already built up

Beefsteak

Is HCMC very similar to BKK?
Relatively safe to travel alone?
Cos I'm considering going there for solo getaway.

Heard there isn't any subway there.
So what's the main mode of transportation?

dede1217

Is HCMC very similar to BKK?
Relatively safe to travel alone?
Cos I'm considering going there for solo getaway.

Heard there isn't any subway there.
So what's the main mode of transportation?

Been to bangkok and hcmc at many times ...
For airport to city area, no subway ... would take about 25 to 30minutes to reach your hotel if u r staying at d1 area ...

Try to go to crowded area ...
hcmc people not so fluent in english, even for some 3* hotels ...

For HCMC, their main mode of transport is motorbike ...
When crossing the road, have to be very careful, since bike coming from every direction ... u must be firm when crossing the road, dont be indecisive ...
else the motorbike driver dunno to cross from your front or back ...
must be careful with your bag. have heard stories that people on the bike snatched their bags while they are crossing the road ...

For hcmc, you can easily get a taxi (take vinasun and mai linh)
best to take grab if you can ... since nowadays those drivers started to bring us go de tour ... 10+min trip grab is 26k, they detour until 56k ...
not much jam there, compared to bangkok ...

Go out to the airport arrival counter to get your own cab ...
hop on to vinasun and mai linh, try not to take other brands ... they will carrot head you ... friend taken saigon tourist, price is $30+
From airport to city area, around ben thanh market , is about $9+ sgd

dede1217

You might want to read up on scams in hcmc.
https://www.tripadvisor.com.sg/Show...-Scams_to_avoid_in_HCMC-Ho_Chi_Minh_City.html

Avoid taxi that are parking outside ben thanh ...
Friends have encountered taking one of them ...
Instead of 30k+ to vincom mall, they have paid 650k instead ...

the driver have changed their meter so that the price jump very rapidly
From 30k to 60k to 90k to 120k, until 600k +

One more thing to note is that their 10k and 100k note are in green color
You must open your eyes big especially at night

Also, when you dine at the zi char shops in ben thanh night market, do check your bill ... twice, they overcharged us more plates of the same item ...

roborovsky

Easy to get Grab in HCMC?
Looks like the scams there are quite serious.

Very easy to grab.

When I was there, just grab. You key in the destination, no miscommunication. Don't bother to take taxi.

From airport also by grab to hotel, need to pay extra 10k toll on top of what grab quotes.

fortunehunter

there are some apps or web page like our Chope or eatigo when you made reservation you able to get some discount.

just google for Delviery Now or grab food.

Henabi

Easy to get Grab in HCMC?
Looks like the scams there are quite serious.

for taxi... approach those official tax stands. or get the hotel reception to help you to book.

most hotels have a dedicated hotline for Mai Linh Taxi & Vinasun taxi

for Grab... it is very well established in vietnam. very simple and very easy.
if they try to be funny, just file a complaint to GRAB HQ

Grab Vietnam even has this "appreciation" scheme whereby they will credit 500 grab pts into your grab account if a Grab driver cancel your order.

popdod

You might want to read up on scams in hcmc.
https://www.tripadvisor.com.sg/Show...-Scams_to_avoid_in_HCMC-Ho_Chi_Minh_City.html

Avoid taxi that are parking outside ben thanh ...
Friends have encountered taking one of them ...
Instead of 30k+ to vincom mall, they have paid 650k instead ...

the driver have changed their meter so that the price jump very rapidly
From 30k to 60k to 90k to 120k, until 600k +

One more thing to note is that their 10k and 100k note are in green color
You must open your eyes big especially at night

Also, when you dine at the zi char shops in ben thanh night market, do check your bill ... twice, they overcharged us more plates of the same item ...

Sounds like a bunch of dishonest ppl in HCM.
Thailand r so much better. :(

Ole Gunner

Actually why nobody take public bus.

From TSN airport just take bus 152 in, the price is agar 5k if I remember correctly. Quite fast and very comfortable and not much crowd. For tourists it alights all around benh tanh.

It’s a good experience and I daresay it’s more pleasant than squeezing in grabcar

Ole Gunner

Also for shopping I never see recommendations for D2 vincom mega mall.

Its damn big, can spend one whole day there. Many popular chain stores but quite many good deals if you look carefully.

Yeah abit far out but if you want a one stop shop this is the place to go

popdod

From TSN airport just take bus 152 in, the price is agar 5k if I remember correctly. Quite fast and very comfortable and not much crowd. For tourists it alights all around benh tanh.

It’s a good experience and I daresay it’s more pleasant than squeezing in grabcar

If I’m taking luggage I won’t take bus.
My priorities r comfort & convenience. :(

But

I will try to take local transport if I’m visiting around
Nothing much to carry. Easier to move around. \o/

Ole Gunner

If I’m taking luggage I won’t take bus.
My priorities r comfort & convenience. :(

But

I will try to take local transport if I’m visiting around
Nothing much to carry. Easier to move around. \o/

Haha you’ll be surprised

The public bus is not crowded, got many space to put luggage, and the ride is very smooth. The aircon also very strong :)

I find that grab car in Vietnam tends to be stuffy. In the car too long will feel abit sick.

I am headed there for work for the next week. During R&R I am going to Suoi Tien Park in D9.

Henabi bro got go b4? :)

Henabi

So good... Still can R&R

Never been to any of their theme parks, not even the saigon zoo

Once my work finishes in Vietnam, I go straight to airport and fly back sinkie liao *sad*

I never have issues with grab. Never feel stuffy. On days in vietnam whereby it is the hot season, like now is super hot in Hanoi, I will ask the driver to switch on the aircon and make it cooler.

I travelled to Vivocity once or twice. That was a few yrs back when it just opened in 15/16. Never been back there since.

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

ParkJinYoung

Public bus more pleasant than Grab ??

Sent from 大哥大 using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.