Vietnam

nubhead

Agree! Pizza4p is really good. Just ate there this afternoon. Everytime come Vietnam sure visit.

Beefsteak

Besides Vung Tau. Any other place I can go outside of the city for day trips?
I'm not much of a beach person and prefer nature, sightseeing and some hiking.

fortunehunter

Ganh Ho is in my list.
Just that I have a few seafood at HCM.
So abit sian. :(

Shouldn’t eat seafood so fast. Lol.
Now abit sian of Vietnamese food.
Need to find others to jiak. \o/ \o/

You can try some vietnam food that may be you didnt try.
or just go to their so call fast food resturant Mon Hue

http://nhahangmonhue.vn/

BUN BO HUE

Bun-bo-gio-heo1.jpg

BO LA LOT

bo-la-lot.jpg

Henabi

Ahhhh.... There are many places.

Da lat.
Mekong Delta (my tho, Ben Tre)
Sơn Đoòng Cave
Mui ne
Ban Gioc Waterfall
Cát Tiên National Park

So far....I only went to da lat and my tho

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

popdod

So confirm bro popdod, henabi and the rest of you can converse fluently in Vietnamese right?

I use caveman language. :(

Hands & fingers , point here point there.
Still dun understand.
Show them the picture.

They get it.

Usually for local food which doesn’t provide English menu
I just google the images and show them.

Afterall, picture speaks a thousand words.
Universal language.

Back in the caveman era. We called that cave motifs. Lol

\o/ \o/ \o/

popdod

I’m heading cu chi tunnel now.

Some places better join the local tour
Don’t venture alone.
Eg. Mekong delta , cu chi tunnel

These places have limited transportation and
Your phone signals not accessible.

Even in Vung Tau, some attractions I can’t find grab bike
Must wait about 10-15mins to find one.
So take note.

popdod

Today morning went to cao dai & cu chi tunnel (booked with Klook)
But
Before we go there. We went to this handicapped handicrafts
Some of them r just born deformed.

Remember the Vietnam war that *********s use chemical warefare?
The Agent Orange.
Till this day. The chemical affects the 4 generation :(

So this group of unfortunate have limited job opportunities:(

F0-C42750-38-BA-4534-8-E3-D-F50-D946-C929-B.jpg

Basically they create art pieces and sell locally & overseas

084-CE1-FD-8-C37-46-EC-A716-1547-A0-AA10-EA.jpg

First of all. They collected all the egg shells. Chicken or duck egg shells
And glue to the base.

C03129-D9-0478-4-C24-9-E06-8-A09-C328178-C.jpg

Then they will use knife to crack the shells.

62-E55-BDA-1-ED6-414-B-B974-929-AE23-EE48-B.jpg

Once is completed. they will apply lacquer to give a nice finishing
And washed it ( first picture)

Loiter around this place for 20 mins.

popdod

F93-A3-FEE-DD00-454-B-B3-A1-8-E40-CA61-B9-EA.jpg

After visiting the handicraft. Next destination is the Cao Dai temple which is 3 hours away car ride from HCM.

Super far.
But worth coming.

This is one of the most interesting architecture.
It has the Neo gothic , French & Chinese design
Like a fusion of eastern & western design.

Cao Dai is a new kind of religion. It consists of a few religions
Buddhism, Confucianism, Taoism, catholic. The followers r called Caodiasts
Indeed one of unheard religion in the world.

Hence u see different god sculptures on both sides

9078-F037-EA54-4-B52-84-DC-C5833659-F190.jpg

On the top right is like the catholic Pope & on the bottom left is the Taoism door god.

What a weird combination.

70-F81-E6-C-4-F02-4889-A4-F6-8874-F19141-A4.jpg

Once inside the temple. You will be amazed by the interiors
So much details.

EA34893-B-490-C-4-A4-B-A671-B9-F48-F6155-A4.jpg

Look the columns.
The body is Chinese dragon.
The top is Roman pillar
Really a fusion.

462-C5-B69-75-DE-44-A2-8-DCE-BD36-E333-FAAD.jpg

In case u r wondering who or what they r praying.
Actually they worship The Eye.
They called it the Divine Eye

9-EF95760-200-B-45-AA-AADF-A03-DA7-C92-ABD.jpg

You can see the eye all over the place.
Probably the olden days of CCTV.
So u don’t do hanky panky in the temple. :-O

0422-ACCA-F6-A7-4-A6-E-8209-D0-AFA761788-B.jpg

We are lucky to see the followers doing some kind of prayer rituals
Tourists can only walk on both sides but not the center
The center path is meant for the followers prayer
Most of them wear white.

White = Purity.
Reminds me of the move Wong Fei Hong = 白莲教!:-O

F7-AFC94-D-06-D4-4-C82-BB06-DCBBE70-E7-AB6.jpg

And the musicians & choir at the 2nd level.

figo16

i think hanoi much better than hcm. halong bay, tam coc, mui chao ,sapa aloo got nice nice scenery

mekong delta looks like a giant longkang.

popdod

B5-CEB283-6853-4-C7-D-91-A6-7-CBDC3-E85-D09.jpg

After Cao Dai temple. Time for lunch.
Klook will include lunch if is a full day event. But most lunch r simple stuff. Can eat lor. But dun expect foodie standards

36-B17030-1-D31-4-AAB-8844-80-D6688-FE0-D6.jpg

After lunch. Proceed to the exciting Cu Chi Tunnels which is about
1.5 hours from Cao Dai temple
Cu chi tunnels is a must visit place.
This is the place where they fight against Americans and a lot Americans lost their lives there.

Even though Americans are bigger build & hav advanced weapons
But
They still lose to Vietchong clever Guerilla tactics

191-A6-D71-C31-E-44-C6-955-F-2-E85137290-A1.jpg

First. We must cross then underpass fo get in the entrance
Why underpass?? Cu chi tunnel mah.

4-F7180-B8-2-CCD-445-C-BAEC-CA6-FF50-B0-C77.jpg

And u come out from the other side.
All the vietchong mei mei ready to welcome u. \o/ \o/

FFBE4029-0-A53-40-FC-93-EB-5-EEA512727-C0.jpg

My Yandao local guide demonstrate this is the entrance to the tunnel back then.

Very small right? This is the tactic from Vietchong.
Coz
Ang Moh GIs r very big size. So they can’t squeeze in to look for them
Smart right. Using their vietchong small petite size as an advantage.
And they cover the top with leaves.

1-F80-A170-74-B9-4911-8290-7-B6-EE949-D89-D.jpg

Bui kia better don’t try.
Kanna stuck must call for help. :[
Don’t waste people time.

83-EDC7-B2-7-E47-484-D-8715-F7-B0558-E2409.jpg

This is how small the hole is.
San por Kia then can go in. \o/ \o/

popdod

9254-A6-AC-2502-4-BD7-AF7-D-D90013-AE8730.jpg

Next. My yandao guide show how vietchong set up traps
To slow down the Americans or kill them.

54362-C1-D-C2-A4-47-E0-9-AD2-4-C604078-ADBE.jpg

Since vietchong have limited weapons.
They use nature to create weapons.
They dig holes and fill the holes with bamboo spikes
And cover the top with leaves.

Americans GIs walk until damn tired.
Saw green grass and walk into it.
And kanna the spikes.

501640-E0-1261-4918-ADB8-3-EAE5-B43-F3-D0.jpg

Once vietchong kanna spotted. They will run into the tunnels

577218-F9-5-FC1-41-DC-B691-2-B68-F13-BAE2-A.jpg

Tunnels so small and hot. How to breathe?
Vietchong using ant nest theory.

images

They create holes and cover with soil.
These holes acted like air vents.
But
Americans GIs thought is an ant nest.

D35-D5-A50-1541-4-D43-AC3-F-D87-F4-A022-C5-B.jpg

In terms of warfare tactic. Vietchong wear Green during the day
And sandals. Coz they r too poor to afford shoes.
And sandals also good for monsoon season.
Vietnam got 2 seasons. Summer & monsoon period

Thatz why American soldiers need to dry their feet.
Constantly soak in water will get foot disease.

9980-CED2-E54-C-479-D-B474-E186-CAE16-D77.jpg

When night falls. They change to black uniform
This is the most basic camouflage.

C78-F0-BBC-9090-4752-B624-CF35979-D12-D5.jpg

This is the actual American tank kanna land mine.

popdod

214561-AB-DAA8-4-DCD-9238-22-DA0-CB6028-C.jpg

Next stop. Vietchong guide show us the few traps
To slow down or kill American GIs.

5-A757-B3-A-E0-D8-4-A9-D-9-B85-60-D5-BDA5-D8-B5.jpg

6-FC0538-A-150-B-4-E93-BA48-495-C0-CDDAFC8.jpg

C8-CBC907-4-E05-422-A-B614-F18248706915.jpg

Basically they use Bamboo spikes and put inside the hole
If u step on it and fall into the hole.
Thatz it.

The spikes r made like an arrow.
Pierce into your flesh and if u wanna pull out.
It will inflict pain and serious wounds.

Now u know why Americans never win the Vietnam war
Despite 17yrs engaging with them

C93-A53-F4-4-E93-4-E2-B-9526-2-B4-FBF451813.jpg

Even the children also help out.

278587-A1-C38-E-4-BFB-8702-56-EC545-D2857.jpg

Once u finish seeing those traps.
U can pay $$$ to shoot, depending what gun u choose
And
How many bullets u wanna shoot. :-O

popdod

402-D1-B3-E-3-EDD-4151-A95-A-8-CBE4-CBEFD95.jpg

Back then. Vietchong scandals r made from tyres.
Lasting & comfortable.

873-B0830-B00-F-47-EF-AA60-D30-BC972-EE3-E.jpg

Last station. To climb in the tunnel.
This is modified tunnel for the tourists.
Much “bigger” size.

9649-CB43-B012-4264-882-A-5-FABADC63-B7-B.jpg

The hole is so much bigger compared to the previous one

AE8-D625-D-B10-F-479-F-B77-A-D3-A41-F8-BC024.jpg

The tunnel have 4 exits.
• 20m
• 40m
• 60m
And last one 100m.

A4-F47124-1-D9-E-47-B5-A97-A-C6164-ADF7923.jpg

Pardon for the blur image.
The tunnel is very small and humid.
And hard to move.

After 60m , some of us cannot take it.
Need to come out and breath fresh air.
I feel stuffy inside. :[
Never complete the 100m

Can imagine the those vietchong war conditions.

421230-B7-7-CCB-4-F35-8-CCE-907734-D4-E7-A8.jpg

This is how they build the tunnels.
Like Ant Nest.

They build 3 levels.
First level for soldiers.
2nd & 3rd level for cooking or meeting
And
They have an exit tunnel to the river. (See bottom
Right)

Most vietchong know how to swim.

And they use underground water to drink.
The food they eat is simple cannot cook.
Else
Americans can see the smoke from the air vents.

Very smart vietchong warfare

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.