Vietnam

Junken

I'm bringing a duffle bag, carry-on. I didn't opt for checked in luggage. My cabin sized luggage a bit too odd and small the size for me to put stuff. Esp shoes

GG simida liow... 11am to 3pm *** along roadside....

i'm thinking to fill it up with lunch + hot toc / massage lor

the thing about vietnam, esp hcm, is to just take your time and relax lah. don't need to try to fill your schedule with many things. if you are the kind that want your schedule packed, you come hcm 1 time u won't come again liao.

ZacharyA

the thing about vietnam, esp hcm, is to just take your time and relax lah. don't need to try to fill your schedule with many things. if you are the kind that want your schedule packed, you come hcm 1 time u won't come again liao.

tbh

my 5d4n almost maxed out liow

sat touch down, taking it easy and exploring saigon square, and BT night market...

sun - lunch time sight-seeing for 4hrs thereabouts, evening street food tour 5.30pm to 9.30pm

mon - full day mekong delta tour

tues - full day vung tau tour

wed - prepare to check out by 11, go makan and massage a bit / hot toc before heading towards airport at 2+ for 5.20pm flight

then slot in some bitexco sightseeing, bui vien night street walk, and bars to chill on sat / sun / mon / tues whenever feel like lor....

also shortlisted some places to go for meals, but would most likely clear in 1st 2 days... that's why needed the street food tour to quickly shortlist what i like and revisit in the next few days

still undecided on vungtau tho, cos travel 1 way is 2hrs... easily spend 4.5hrs traveling... dunno worth it to spend a day there bo... otherwise, if i spaced out my itinerary, my Tuesday got about 4-5hrs empty slot to spare in the middle...

Rxgn

tbh

sat touch down, taking it easy and exploring saigon square, and BT night market...

sun - lunch time sight-seeing for 4hrs thereabouts, evening street food tour 5.30pm to 9.30pm

wed - prepare to check out by 11, go makan and massage a bit / hot toc before heading towards airport at 2+ for 5.20pm flight

then slot in some bitexco sightseeing, bui vien night street walk, and bars to chill on sat / sun / mon / tues whenever feel like lor....

also shortlisted some places to go for meals, but would most likely clear in 1st 2 days... that's why needed the street food tour to quickly shortlist what i like and revisit in the next few days

still undecided on vungtau tho, cos travel 1 way is 2hrs... easily spend 4.5hrs traveling... dunno worth it to spend a day there bo... otherwise, if i spaced out my itinerary, my Tuesday got about 4-5hrs empty slot to spare in the middle...
At moment is okie liao.. vn is like singapore, thus adjust if raining days.. also some streets will be flooded even if rain short while nia..

So go there adjust plans accordingly.

Sent from Samsung SM-A705MN using GAGT

Henabi

woah you tall sia. if you sleep on the upper bunk u will also find difficulty ba.

what kind of new bus and what kind of complaints are u referring to?

the TV not "working" because the driver don't switch on the system. :s13: but whenever I take the coach, everyone is looking at the phones

Junken

tbh

wah! you really pack yourself gao gao :eek:

i never even been to vung tau yet. i heard mostly just beach and seafood leh.

Junken

the TV not "working" because the driver don't switch on the system. :s13: but whenever I take the coach, everyone is looking at the phones

i just test test nia. i also don't intend to watch haha. the resolution more cui than the phone already.

Henabi

My tour guide recommend tipping 100k per boat staff for halong bay tour on the junk boat.

that's ridiculous amount but I guess its already "spoilt market" by those amdk & amdl.... to them, 100k is only like 3 euros or 5 USD
whereby its equal to one snack meal in a cafe.

but 100K in vietnam is equal to like 3-4 meals

5.20pm flight, i buffer to leave by 3-3.30pm (self check-in for scoot right?)

cos I don't want to reach airport zobolan and beat aeroplane.... but yeah, 3pm should be a good time to start leaving D1.

11am to 3pm dunno do what with a luggage + backpack

5:20pm flight.... if your flight is on a weekend,

Here's my recommendation:
1) try to see if you can late check out ard 1pm, leave your luggage with the Hotel and go for a good lunch
2) leave for airport around 2:30pm
3) reach there 3pm / 3:30pm
4) the long Qs @ the scoot counter + the immigration + the security checks should be enough to sap at least 1.5 hrs

that leaves you just enough time to go for a quick toilet break and then board the plane.

Henabi

tbh

Ben Thanh Night market only starts to fully operate around 7:30pm and closes around 11pm.

After that you can head over to Bui Vien street. the bars there operate throughout the night.

most local vietnamese go Vung Tau just for Day-tour. They set out early morning like 7am, reach there 9am, then go "Christ the King", Vung tau light house, Duc Me Bai Dau, 12pm lunch, then visit white palace, Hong ba island... around 5pm go back

730pm reach hcmc bus terminal. then everyone go back home or go dinner/hot pot

rrr2015

haha … so how's the bus drive up, comfortable? can u choose lower/upper bed? how frequent they stop for breaks?
Went to Dalat on last Friday... Took the 8pm bus. Starting point is Phuong Trang (Futa Bus) at 272 De Tham, D1. Saw this at the bus station and really a bit scared.
G9hj5zb.jpg

At D1, gotta take a short bus (normal bus) ride to d2, where you then switch bus to the limousine bus. I don't know if you guys can tell from picture, but actually the seat was very narrow. if bbfa may have difficulty. my height is around 1.75m and my leg just nice reach almost the end, so taller people may have to fold your legs a little.
NNLrqNT.jpg

overall experience: 6/10, price around 500k 2-way.
it's ok i guess but i feel like the seats are not very comfortable and like over-reclined but not flat. otw back then i realise can recline lesser than default which i would have preferred. recommend to bring your own pillow or neck cushion, would be more comfortable than the leather seat.

plus point is that the bus is extremely clean. everyone gotta take off their shoes before entering the bus and they give u a plastic bag to put your shoes in it. one bottle of water is provided. tv doesn't work, light works, have several usb charging ports. there are also curtains u can close for your privacy. the ride was scheduled to be around 8 hours but i reach in around 6.5h. there is also free shuttle (16-seater) to your hotel when you reach the destination.

Junken

haha … so how's the bus drive up, comfortable? can u choose lower/upper bed? how frequent they stop for breaks?

honestly wasn't that comfortable because i don't really like leather seats. also, i'm not fat but it was quite narrow for me.

i don't know if can choose or not, but i was assigned lower bed. for the bus ride from hcm to dalat (night time), just stopped once. 20 min. for the bus ride from dalat to hcm (day time), stop 2 times. 5 min, then 30min.

rrr2015

at least you got your first bus experience :)
i think you will be more uncomfortable on upper since it's very close to ceiling

i read that silk products are good value in Vietnam
any where to get light silk sleeping bag? or anywhere i find can travel related products in HCM?
honestly wasn't that comfortable because i don't really like leather seats. also, i'm not fat but it was quite narrow for me.

i don't know if can choose or not, but i was assigned lower bed. for the bus ride from hcm to dalat (night time), just stopped once. 20 min. for the bus ride from dalat to hcm (day time), stop 2 times. 5 min, then 30min.

ZacharyA

Ben Thanh Night market only starts to fully operate around 7:30pm and closes around 11pm.

After that you can head over to Bui Vien street. the bars there operate throughout the night.

most local vietnamese go Vung Tau just for Day-tour. They set out early morning like 7am, reach there 9am, then go "Christ the King", Vung tau light house, Duc Me Bai Dau, 12pm lunch, then visit white palace, Hong ba island... around 5pm go back

730pm reach hcmc bus terminal. then everyone go back home or go dinner/hot pot

thanks for this, i'll ponder and see if i want to give vung tau a miss on tuesday... because that leaves me with Sunday morning and noon to complete what i need to do for sight-seeing, Monday and Tuesday full day zapped up

1 thing i dun like abt the 2 full day tours is that it starts damn early at 7am, then ends ard 6-7pm. really shagged liow, dunno how to go out for 2nd round at nite to find food and lepak

grapewall

There is no online check in for scoot. I've not heard of online check in for any other flights. But for scoot which i usually take, I'm sure don't have.

Leave your bulky luggage at the hotel and go for a foot or body massage. Or sit at the coffee shop watch the world turns.

ZacharyA

There is no online check in for scoot. I've not heard of online check in for any other flights. But for scoot which i usually take, I'm sure don't have.

Leave your bulky luggage at the hotel and go for a foot or body massage. Or sit at the coffee shop watch the world turns.

I staying in airbnb at D4. Checking out I'm on my own liow

Haha

saffronsatire

that's ridiculous amount but I guess its already "spoilt market" by those amdk & amdl.... to them, 100k is only like 3 euros or 5 USD
whereby its equal to one snack meal in a cafe.

but 100K in vietnam is equal to like 3-4 meals
Or maybe is 70k, might have recalled wrongly. Cos there were 4-5 of them and i remember giving 350-400k in total.

Junken

at least you got your first bus experience :)
i think you will be more uncomfortable on upper since it's very close to ceiling

i read that silk products are good value in Vietnam
any where to get light silk sleeping bag? or anywhere i find can travel related products in HCM?

yes, i see the upper one in order to climb up also difficult cos the walkways are kinda narrow also. those bigger size a bit sure have difficulty.

Junken

i took vietnam airlines before and there is online check-in. i used the app to check-in online and went to a shorter queue. and it seems the airport adding the self check-in kiosks as well from what i last saw, but not sure for which airlines. but the kiosks are not functional yet.

Junken

Or maybe is 70k, might have recalled wrongly. Cos there were 4-5 of them and i remember giving 350-400k in total.

regardless, i won't be surprised if they give 100k also. amdk/amdl all like to come SEA and spoil market. and also the other spectrum of them, come to SEA and begpack.

fortunehunter

Hu tieu Cambodia at d1 they open 24/7.
Cost around 100K VND for both got dry and sup version.

WooFlRyl.jpg

pJAvV01l.jpg

6AHoXrsl.jpg

rnG6xDil.jpg

jYdZI3pl.jpg

Sent from Food, Travel, Sleep And Repeat using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.