Vietnam

fortunehunter

Will be going hcm for the 1st time at early Dec. Is the bus from the airport safe for a lone traveller? My friend advised me against taking the bus as it is not really safe.....

You can take the airport bus to D1 ben thanh bus station.
This bus service is mostly mean for tourist and is safe, cost is about 20K VND that less than $2.00.

Once you exit the arrival hall, go straight and you able to see a bright yellow bus.

Saigon-Bus-tan-son-nhat-international-airport-to-ho-chi-minh-city-center-vietnam-vacation.jpg

I'mpossible

haha i kena before just 1 time from vinasun. that time enter the taxi after not being able to get a cab for a long time, driver straight up try to ask me for 500k for a short distance. then i ask him use meter. he then tried to bargain down to 300k. i just say no and alight.

well but i end up waiting even longer but no cab in sight. :(

taxi scams in all vietnam international airports are HORRIBLE! even those taxi stands they will quote you a very high flat price and dont go by meter one. even if got meter also got some is tweaked one. even if got vinasun logo also might be fake logo one. even if got grab drivers try to ask them pay directly to him and show you grab app through his phone, its faked price also one. just don't get confused with the exchange rate, if its more ex than SG, means they trying to scam you liao. go for the cheapest option you can, and get out of airport asap lol

grapewall

i think it's a psychological thing, cos the bus ride around 6.5 hours, u will sure scared if need to pee haha. they do stop one time. if u go with night bus, just try to sleep then won't feel the need to pee le. also sure don't dare to drink much water...hahah

No, it's not psychological. I checked online on the bus and there is some theory about cold weather will cause frequent peeing..

xwen90

Any hotel in district 1 have casino? Can name a few? Thanks thanks... planning to go and it will be a plus if i can play some games at times. Are there table games or all machines?

ParkJinYoung

taxi scams in all vietnam international airports are HORRIBLE! even those taxi stands they will quote you a very high flat price and dont go by meter one. even if got meter also got some is tweaked one. even if got vinasun logo also might be fake logo one. even if got grab drivers try to ask them pay directly to him and show you grab app through his phone, its faked price also one. just don't get confused with the exchange rate, if its more ex than SG, means they trying to scam you liao. go for the cheapest option you can, and get out of airport asap lol
Just take those airport transfer at the airport la.
Fixed fare according to district.

If not book Grab

Sent from Google PIXEL 2 XL using GAGT

Junken

not so jialat lah. don't scare ppl. the taxis are ok, just don't get into random cars telling u can bring u to your location for a certain price. legit taxis are generally ok. the one where i kena ask for flat rate is one time ever only.

Junken

No, it's not psychological. I checked online on the bus and there is some theory about cold weather will cause frequent peeing..

but in the bus the temperature ok lah, not so cold. colder yes but just by a bit. macam aircon nia.

Junken

Any hotel in district 1 have casino? Can name a few? Thanks thanks... planning to go and it will be a plus if i can play some games at times. Are there table games or all machines?

http://www.vietnam-guide.com/ho-chi-minh-city/top10/top10-ho-chi-minh-casino-hotels.htm

they have table games but all computerized. so basically u blackjack or whatever games with a screen. which is kinda lame. even roulette also, there is an actual roulette but many screens so u just take one screen.

no feel one...

Valien

There are 10 casinos in Saigon, but I usually go to these four casinos; Monte Carlo, Majestic Hotel, Caravelle Hotel, and Palazzo Club.

Almost every one of the casinos gives out free US$100 credits to any foreigner who creates a first time membership with them.

The credits are given in the membership card for electronic games like jackpot machines.

If you won, take your membership card to the cash out counters to withdraw. It's possible to cash out to SGD, USD, VND, and other major currencies. Cashing out to USD is the best option due to better exchange rate.

Henabi

Sheraton

If you intend to spend big... Let me know. I contact the Sheraton Saigon Entertainment RM

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

Henabi

from what i know, june will be a good time to visit.

be prepared to pay more for CNY period... most vietnamese are flying during this time (from varying provinces cos going back their hometown), and many of them have annual leave + public holidays summing up to around 2 weeks. so any time during the CNY period also will be expensive.

if i were u i would avoid this period ba.
Danang... July and August best period
So far from my own experience

After that... Keep raining and raining and raining and raining and typhoon

grapewall

Danang... July and August best period
So far from my own experience

After that... Keep raining and raining and raining and raining and typhoon

Last Dec i visited Bana Hills in Danang. it was raining and foggy. Cant see any scenery on the Golden Bridge, and have to wear rain coat. Wasted 700k for the ticket.

Henabi

Last Dec i visited Bana Hills in Danang. it was raining and foggy. Cant see any scenery on the Golden Bridge, and have to wear rain coat. Wasted 700k for the ticket.

That sucks... :( go during August or Sept...

after that its always raining and you must really check the weather forecast everyday

My recent trip to Danang in the middle of Sept. I was quite lucky.

1st day I reached danang around evening. After I reached my hotel and wanna go out eat dinner.

The sky suddenly big downpour around 7pm. It was really WTH. LLST dined in
By the time the rain stopped around 10pm, already shag Liao

But luckily next day it was clear blue sky and big sun...

Decided to go to the Temple

XNJRSLPl.jpg

sDRLOUfl.jpg

Y209ARCl.jpg

GWkTh4Yl.jpg

s7460597

First half January good time to visit Hanoi?

Looking for hotel at Hoàn Kiếm. Was suggested Melia Hotel but exceeds budget of S$100. Suggestions welcome.

Not into casinos and nightlife. Foodie trip.

Henabi

First half January good time to visit Hanoi?

Looking for hotel at Hoàn Kiếm. Was suggested Melia Hotel but exceeds budget of S$100. Suggestions welcome.

Not into casinos and nightlife. Foodie trip.
Yes. And it's quite cooling during that time. January is one of the best period to visit Hanoi and other northern Vietnam region

You can also see their Chinese New year decorations, local food for Chinese New year (known as Tet)

Night time maybe around 10 to 16
Day time 16 to 20

Light winds. few days rain.

With a budget of 100 sgd per night, There are many nice hotels in Hoan kiem area.

You can consider Tirant Hotel
Oriental suites hotel
Silk collection hotel
Golden lotus luxury hotel
Shining central hotel

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.