Vietnam

jqpooling

Just came back from my Hanoi-Sapa-Halong Bay-Cat Ba-HCMC trip. Total of 10 days with a couple of days at HCMC for R & R and shopping before hitting back home. Overall quite hectic with the travelling consisting domestic flights, trains, long bus rides. Some pics taken to share.
(Limited, so post Sapa only)
Sapa

Hey YelloGorilla,

Can you tell me what is ur iternary? Day 1 when? day 2 where? How you get to Sapa from Hanoi? and to Halong Bay? Are there train stations?

Thanks.

Byleek

hi ya,

I juz came back fr hcm & hanoi. HCM is really damned hot~!!!! cannot survive in jeans there, i dun understand why the locals can dun switch on the aircon in the shops, and still can wear shirts! In hcm, i took sinhcafe tour, sigh kinda disaster cos the aircon broke down in the middle. Hanoi is much cooling though..

I think for shopping, cant buy much clothes and shoes, unless u r interested in fake branded tops. Shoes, think guys will like the leather shoes there. For me, as a ger, din fancy any, feel they are too "lian". Also, i notice, the nicer tops are imported from china, which is so much more expensive compared to SG.

Only thing that's very gd there: FOOD~!

- try the grilled fish in hanoi( S$9/pax, our moz expensive dinner) near dong xuan market . shiok!
- miao2, the lotus seeds do not sell $30000/kg, mebbie u mean per 100g:s! i asked around, usually $320000/kg! ( cost me S$8 for 250g). But is really very nice :)
- Pho 2000 pho is better den pho 24, but try the hotpot in pho 24, lotsa of veg and meat, a 2 pax share can feed 4 gers ( $8 per pax). Think Pho 24 in Millenia walk will be so much expensive
- i cant find coffee powder that sells US$1 in ben tahn market. Moz range US$3-5..
- But the cafe is really v nice! I addicted to the coffee, drink 2 cups at least everyday

In summary, i prefer hanoi to hcm. Cooler and safer to walk around, there are more traffic lights :) No need worry abt communication, most of them can speak simple english or some even chinese. While i went for massage ( foot and shoulder, S$10 for 70mins), the massagers even try to act they dunno wad we saying. In fact, they knew( in chinese saying, we called it, act pig eat the tiger). Sickening:s

YelloGorilla

Went Hanoi during late March, still quite cooling ard 18 - 24 deg. However Sapa was still cold. According to the people there, if I was there 2 months earlier, the temp will hit something like 0 deg.

My itinerary goes like this,

Day 1 - HCMC
Day 2 - HCMC to Hanoi (domestic flight on Viet Air)
Day 3 - Hanoi (City tour and Tam Coc)
Day 4 - take overnite train to Lao Cai station (pronounced as "Lao Gai", a town near Sapa)
Day 5 - from Lao Cai take mini bus to Sapa
Day 6 - Sapa trekking
Day 7 - over nite train back to Hanoi
Day 8 - Halong Bay (Cave walk), Cat Ba island
Day 9 - Halong Bay (Cave ride via mini boat), Hanoi - HCMC via domestic flight
Day 10 - HCMC - Sin in the late afternoon (So still got time go Ben Than market buy kopi)

Anyway, bought some Blue mountain and G7 3-in-1, G7 quite aromatic and not too sweet, blue mountain haven't try.

miao2

Oops Byleek, think i got the figure wrongly. haha.. I still unable to comprehend the numbers of zero todate. but glad u found it in the end though.

Techadd

Hi ,

I am thinking of going HCM free n easy. But just to check if there will be any communication problem.

Thanks

I dun think you will have much of a communication problem, if you opt for a free n easy, you should more or less be prepared with a local map and an idea of where you want to go and what you want to do with your time there, shopping wise, most shop keepers are able to communicate in simple english. Eating wise, if you opt to eat in a normal outlets in the city, they do usually have english words written on the menu, if you think about eating pho noodles, pho 24, pho 2000 actually sucks compared to the real local stalls, although that would mean you need to speak a little Vietnamese ;)

If you need accomodation arrangements in the city central, do send me a pm :p

bslim67

I dun think you will have much of a communication problem, if you opt for a free n easy, you should more or less be prepared with a local map and an idea of where you want to go and what you want to do with your time there, shopping wise, most shop keepers are able to communicate in simple english. Eating wise, if you opt to eat in a normal outlets in the city, they do usually have english words written on the menu, if you think about eating pho noodles, pho 24, pho 2000 actually sucks compared to the real local stalls, although that would mean you need to speak a little Vietnamese ;)

If you need accomodation arrangements in the city central, do send me a pm :p

Hi ,

I plan to travel during 29 May to 3 Jun. Have anyone been there during this period? How is the weather during this period? Was it very hot?

Thanks

Techadd

Hi ,

I plan to travel during 29 May to 3 Jun. Have anyone been there during this period? How is the weather during this period? Was it very hot?

Thanks

weather would be kinda wet ..wet...wet.. :) its rainy season with occasional showers during the day and night.. i wouldn;t say its very hot as currently now.. and yea, we do have groups visiting during this period as well in saigon ;)

socrates

Best time to go is in Dec/Jan when the weather in Hanoi/Sapa is nice and cool..

DSCF3799.jpg

Should look to go during that time

jqpooling

Went Hanoi during late March, still quite cooling ard 18 - 24 deg. However Sapa was still cold. According to the people there, if I was there 2 months earlier, the temp will hit something like 0 deg.

My itinerary goes like this,

Day 1 - HCMC
Day 2 - HCMC to Hanoi (domestic flight on Viet Air)
Day 3 - Hanoi (City tour and Tam Coc)
Day 4 - take overnite train to Lao Cai station (pronounced as "Lao Gai", a town near Sapa)
Day 5 - from Lao Cai take mini bus to Sapa
Day 6 - Sapa trekking
Day 7 - over nite train back to Hanoi
Day 8 - Halong Bay (Cave walk), Cat Ba island
Day 9 - Halong Bay (Cave ride via mini boat), Hanoi - HCMC via domestic flight
Day 10 - HCMC - Sin in the late afternoon (So still got time go Ben Than market buy kopi)

Anyway, bought some Blue mountain and G7 3-in-1, G7 quite aromatic and not too sweet, blue mountain haven't try.

hey YelloGorilla, How much is the flight from HCMC to Hanoi? I went to the Vietnam Air website but I could not find the price.

How did you book your flight? Did you went to the airport straight? or did you book your flight online?

Thanks a lot!

Also, How is the climate for Hanoi between late June and July?

YelloGorilla

hey YelloGorilla, How much is the flight from HCMC to Hanoi? I went to the Vietnam Air website but I could not find the price.

How did you book your flight? Did you went to the airport straight? or did you book your flight online?

Thanks a lot!

Also, How is the climate for Hanoi between late June and July?

Hi jqpooling

Think the weather in Hanoi will be hot during that period. I booked the flight through the local travel agency over there.

Telur17

anyone has any good tailors to recommend in HCM? :)

Thanks in advance.

seahmj

Hi all, i would like to check on certain stuffs in regarding to vietnam visits for F&E.

I have not been to viet for any kinds of visiting before. Therefore, it is my first time. As a first timer, i am thinking of the mode of transports if i am to travel from HCMC to other states like Dat Lat, Hoi An and Hanoi and finally back to HCMC.

I have heard from friends who have been to HCMC for 4 days saying that if you should wanna travel to places like Hanoi or anywhere further, the best way is either railway or flights. But i have been visiting different websites sourcing for various informations, but i just do not seems to understand the route of the railways and how it goes. Does any podders have any experience on the railways?

Some of my doubts:

1) If i should be travelling to HCMC and i decided to visit the several places like Dat Lat -> Hoi An -> Hanoi -> HCMC (to fly back by jetstar), whats the safest way of transport there and how much will it cost roughly for the transport itself?

2) Is USD a must? Or Dongs will do? I heard from frenz that USD is for hotel and local tours. Dongs are for food and basic shoppings. How true is that?

3) What kind of journey will podders recommend if i am going on a backpack visits starting from HCMC and Ending at HCMC with only SGD600 (Exclude airfare from SGD TO HCMC & Back to SGD) for all the spending in vietnam?

4) How many days can i survive with SGD500 if i am going to HCMC -> Dat Lat -> Nha Trang -> Hoi An - HCMC ?

Johnlaw2010

How to buy domestic air ticket?

I am going to HCM next week for 6 days 5 nights.

Will reach HCM airport at 11.30am. Thinking of flying to Dalat on the 13.45 flight on the same day.
However, Until now do not know how to buy the Dalat tickets. Just need the departure ticket.

Can i just use DONG in vietnam. Do not want change to USD. Will the hotel and tour agency accept Dong?

Any one use Phuong Trang Tourist & Transportation Co service before?

Want to try out Vietnam Train service for one hour to two hours. Any idea which place shall i go?

Any good and Cheap restaurant to reccomend in HCM? Example Meat and sea food buffet or Vietnanese Buffet?

Anyone been to the the North Korean Restaurant in HCM? What is the price range and location?

nk_waitress.jpg

nk_photo-op.jpg

Thanks for the help in advance.

Techadd

anyone has any good tailors to recommend in HCM? :)

Thanks in advance.

try De Tham St, Pasteur Street.

Dong Khoi in city central also has some but i guess due to its location, your suit/ao dai would not come cheap compared to the rest... ;)

Telur17

try De Tham St, Pasteur Street.

Dong Khoi in city central also has some but i guess due to its location, your suit/ao dai would not come cheap compared to the rest... ;)
Thanks! Will check the 2 streets out. :)

Techadd

I am going to HCM next week for 6 days 5 nights.

Anyone been to the the North Korean Restaurant in HCM? What is the price range and location?

Thanks for the help in advance.

1) Try www.pacificairlines.com.vn
2) Yes, it is receommended to pay everything in Dong, you can convert S$ to Dong, no need to convert your S$->US$->Dong..
3) You could ask others on that..
4) For train info, seek them out here - > http://www.vr.com.vn/english/index.html
5) there are lots pf restaurants with reasonable pricing, buffet wise, you can try the one located on the top of the parkson Shopping Center, for various local vietnames cuisine, there is one located just across the Reunification Palace..
6) Not yet, i would love to find out when i have time :)

Johnlaw2010

1) Try www.pacificairlines.com.vn
2) Yes, it is receommended to pay everything in Dong, you can convert S$ to Dong, no need to convert your S$->US$->Dong..
3) You could ask others on that..
4) For train info, seek them out here - > http://www.vr.com.vn/english/index.html
5) there are lots pf restaurants with reasonable pricing, buffet wise, you can try the one located on the top of the parkson Shopping Center, for various local vietnames cuisine, there is one located just across the Reunification Palace..
6) Not yet, i would love to find out when i have time :)

Thanks.

I find on the net.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2YGEhroODM
Beside of cafeV3.
80 Nguyen Thi Minh Khai, District 3

But not sure is it has change place.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.