Vietnam

butterbarter

Sashimi if not from safe sources or properly prepared (flash frozen) is in fact, unhygienic, due to presence of parasites. Bloody steaks are usually OK, but so is blood since it is very thoroughly cooked. Chances of getting salmonella from raw eggs from certified suppliers is very low, so is considered safe although most people in developed nations don't eat them raw (except Japan).

I don't know if I would consider blood to be rich, but as in anything, eat in moderation.

Are sashimi and steaks eaten raw deemed to be unhygienic? On the same vein then, raw eggs? The blood curd is nutritious and may in fact be too rich for some people.

dleodleo

what the rate in hcm now?

Vietnam currency is tagged againist USD. If USD rise, Dong also rise.

Vietnam hygenie is not there yet. Better dun eat raw food. My daughter got diahorrea on the first day, she only drank their welcome drink. Luckily I brought medicine.

Do not drink water from tap, drink only bottled water and bring medicines along.

audiovideo

roadside stalls hygiene have to observe
but so far ok for the rest
hanoi people comparatively more unhygienic than hcm

dede1217

Very hot. Some ppl say it is this is the best time to visit sapa. How is the weather in dec? Is it cold like hk winter?

nah .. went there before in dec
same as singapore ... abt 26 degree lol ...
u wont get hk taiwan weather in hk bkk, coz we are south east asia =.=

butterbarter

If you are referring to Sapa or North Vietnam in general, the weather can be quite extreme in Dec. In Dec 2013 and Jan 2015, Sapa was very cold and it actually snowed with temperature dropping below freezing.

http://vietnamnews.vn/society/248978/tourists-flock-to-see-rare-sight-of-snow-in-sa-pa.html

http://www.thanhniennews.com/travel/sapa-covered-in-snow-37466.html

Very hot. Some ppl say it is this is the best time to visit sapa. How is the weather in dec? Is it cold like hk winter?

cobragold

I have two viettel SIM cards for anyone going there this month. Valid till 6/9/15. You can top up if you need more data. Self collect at my place in tampines in the evenings. Hopefully after you use you top up a bit to keep it alive and pass it on. I can be contacted at 91793441.

figo16

dede1217

think now hcm have promo by jetstar 103sgd two way nett taxes in :)
dates not very good though, cant fri depart unlike the last time promo
can fri fly, sun back, at 56sgd lowest being the lowest, till 79sgd two way nett taxes in ...

audiovideo

If you are referring to Sapa or North Vietnam in general, the weather can be quite extreme in Dec. In Dec 2013 and Jan 2015, Sapa was very cold and it actually snowed with temperature dropping below freezing.

similar longitude as HK region

idrinkecoke

Just before i head for my vietnam trip, gotto confirm that there's a taxi stand just outside thee airport's left exit?

dede1217

Just before i head for my vietnam trip, gotto confirm that there's a taxi stand just outside thee airport's left exit?

there r many taxi companies after immigration custom
if you take vinasun, then the gal would go outside and call for vinasun taxi lol
is the same as you go out and call yourself lol ...
thats what i learn lol ... rather than pay slightly more, why not call urself, 150k
vinasun n mah ling is good, saigon cab expensive , others too !!!

koala2004

Yes, after exit, go left, you will see taxis lined the roadside. Dun let people call for you...just go to any VINASUN or MAILINH taxi. At end of journey, you need to pay VND10k (airport exit fee) on top of the metered fare. On the meter, it usually starts at 11 (this means VND11K), each jump is VND3K, pretty similar to SG's one.

Another advice is to change your VND only in hcmc, if desperate, airport money changer also better than here. If you stays near Ben Thanh, just go to HA TAM or MAI VAN gold jewellery shops to change, best rate in hcmc. You can google to get the location.

koala2004

15822 at HCMC airport :( the rate become so bad...

It's just timing issue, if you need to go, you need to go, no choice. I got worst at around 15600 in Mar 15! Then better at 16350 in Jun. As USD rises, it also rises, as it is crawling pegged to USD. So I hope USD goes down, pray hard. I bought a house there, so good rate good for me :D Now fluctuating between 15700 and 16000 to 1 sing.

Make it a point to keep some VND (around 1-2m) for next trip just for the cab from airport to hotel. Then change at the jewellery shop at BT market.

idrinkecoke

Are there any big supermarket in D1 where I can buy local snacks and tidbits?

Any local food/snacks is MUST bring back one?

koala2004

Ben Thanh Market lor...everything is there. Try 1/3 rule in bargaining which I never tried before. When I was there, I leave it to my viet wife to bargain, esp. clothings, to at least 50-70% off.

My colleagues all like their dried jackfruit. Must try.

dede1217

there is one big supermarket, at district 1 ,
Co-op Supermarket
is 5 min walk from eden saigon 4 stars hotel ...went there coz stayed at eden saigon

bought alot of jackfruit tibits in purple packing ...
bangkok also got sell ...
but that one is made in vietnam
think the 200g or 250g is about 2+ sgd ...
quite cheap

bought about 15pkacets from there
then also bough vietnam coffee trung nguyen powder from their main store
they have 8 grade of coffee beans...
the cheapest is abt 100g 105vnd ... up to 420vnd ...
not very expensive...
you go there drink n try urself

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.