Vinyl Flooring

IAmZlatan

Is their vinyl flooring safe for infants/toddlers? I couldn't find any related certifications on their website.

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX using GAGT

This was also one of my concerns.

I think Belgium vinyl is safer since it is made of virgin vinyl pulp unlike China vinyl. I understand that there is no glue used since it is a clip system but I still feel unsafe knowing that there is PVC inside.

My other concern is water sipping into the gaps when infants/toddlers spill water or accidentally urinate on the vinyl :s22:

PunggolLRT

pelangi15

i am quoted $6.75 psf for LURF Quicksteps. quite sad cannot bargain for better price QQ

Recently quoted by FloorXpert $7 and $8 psf Quickstep vinyls. Now then I know it’s risen over the year.

Anyone used vinyl for platform storage in living room? Any issue with water for gaps between “doors” of storage? Will water seep in and damage the vinyl from the side?

bleonz

i think quote thru' ur ID will be cheaper.

Recently quoted by FloorXpert $7 and $8 psf Quickstep vinyls. Now then I know it’s risen over the year.

Anyone used vinyl for platform storage in living room? Any issue with water for gaps between “doors” of storage? Will water seep in and damage the vinyl from the side?

PunggolLRT

Still can mop as usual. But to be prudent, dun leave any spills or puddles over prolong period. They will apply silicone sealant at edges between the vinyl and walls, built-in carpentry. For edges ending at the toilets or kitchen area (if you are not doing kitchen), they will “end” theese edges with trimmings.

pelangi15

i think quote thru' ur ID will be cheaper.
Both contractor and ID quoted laminated flooring. After some online research, I decided go for vinyl but not sure how contractor or ID will quote. I’m thinking to claim warranty from flooring company if I purchase directly. Rather than through contractor or ID

pelangi15

Still can mop as usual. But to be prudent, dun leave any spills or puddles over prolong period. They will apply silicone sealant at edges between the vinyl and walls, built-in carpentry. For edges ending at the toilets or kitchen area (if you are not doing kitchen), they will “end” theese edges with trimmings.
Just avoid spills? Or wipe quickly? I saw some platform with storage has long gaps between the compartment doors. Surely if spill, water will get inside. If water trapped inside, won’t the ply wood spoil over time. This is why I am thinking of just drawers from the sides now...

Why would those platform storage using real, solid wood last longer? I mean if the vinyl theory makes sense, won’t these expensive wood flooring rot faster than vinyl?

bleonz

Both contractor and ID quoted laminated flooring. After some online research, I decided go for vinyl but not sure how contractor or ID will quote. I’m thinking to claim warranty from flooring company if I purchase directly. Rather than through contractor or ID
savings can be up to 30% if quoted by ID/Contractors...but of cos that's before their commissions. Nett off maybe 10% cheaper (at your end) than you go direct.
as for warranty, as far as I know...for FloorXpert, you just have to go online to register with your invoice number...OR your ID/Contractor needs to help you register online (if they dont want let u see the true costs on the invoice....its the same portal.

gnowyx

savings can be up to 30% if quoted by ID/Contractors...but of cos that's before their commissions. Nett off maybe 10% cheaper (at your end) than you go direct.
as for warranty, as far as I know...for FloorXpert, you just have to go online to register with your invoice number...OR your ID/Contractor needs to help you register online (if they dont want let u see the true costs on the invoice....its the same portal.

i think that provided your id/contractor got tie up with the flooring company you want right? otherwise bo bian need go direct leh

Yuppie98

derrickgoh

When it comes to spills, only tiles are impervious. Whether its parquet or laminate both will rot if exposed to moisture frequently over long periods.

When i bought my flat & moved in, the laminate in the bedroom was so badly rotted. Luckily i was planning to reno anyway. Dunno what the stupid seller did, some more cleverly use dressing table to cover the rotted laminate during viewing.

Vinyl will not rot as its not wood but if the spill is big enough & left there long enough, im sure it will still seep thru the gaps. What damage the water does below the vinyl over prolonged periods is another story.

As far as moping goes, i dont think in this day & age anyone splashes water via buckets. That is so 1960s. Just make sure your mop is wrung well & not dripping wet when u mop.

Problem is many ppl tend to mop with dripping wet mop as the wetter the mop the faster & easier it is to mop. If its really such a concern just use tiles for the entire flat lor.

pelangi15

Thanks

So vinyl will be it...

Saw musee has promo for supreme floor’s vinyl at $5.5 psf. But how good is their vinyl compared to quick step LURF?

Yuppie98

Ready to move in but rather disappointed with e flooring installer.
2 guys came late, e minute they arrived they were both smoking at my front door, while I was testing e aircon, foul cigarette smell flooded my apartment, I told e 2 boys off, afterwhich I left them there to install e flooring when I came back, I saw all their revenge, they dented my doors, door stopper, tiles, walls.

The old man was alright but not his installers they were vindictive & irresponsible, they left with e heaters on for no reason albeit I’ve turned e main switch off.

M5PVvPq.jpg

Uq6aH5l.jpg

dyeE5nf.jpg

plbCuAh.jpg

Yuppie98

E old man is alright, his sub-installer is e one that is @fault. I don’t wanna affect his reputation, albeit he shd have managed these buncha monkeys better.

In anyhow Just use my bad experience as an example lesson learned.

1. Try to be around when Vinyl ppl are installing your flooring (usually youngster)

2. Understand that sometimes e supplier needs their installer hence will be quite defensive and deny everything.

3. Put up a big NO-SMOKING SIGN outside your main door. Cigarette butts, ashes can cause accidents/ damages/ smells to your brand new house. Especially when they turn on your Aircon smoke & work. They may not abide btw.

4. Know that contractors can be very vindictive even if they are in e wrong, spoil your aircon, hit & chip your tiles dent your doors etc. (This is what happened to me, tons of damages)

Who you use?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.