• Wax your car

Votes: 9 27.3%
  • Ceramic coat your car

Votes: 24 72.7%

• Total voters

EJB

Carbon Shield... Got ROYAL WARRANT one.... Aut*****.

That was in my shortlist.

I was initially thinking of a particular detailer Ac*** that does Ceramic Pro 9H doing like up to a max of 11 layers but we all know the law of diminishing returns. There's actually so many layers or so many things you can do onto something before it becomes a complete waste of effort/time.

One more I am looking at is Jer** De****. Friend's recommendation since he done it for his Q3 and I can see the results.
Jerga? :s13: :s13: :s13: Spend your money elsewhere better. I saw the end result on my friend's car, nothing impressive and the first run was quite shoddy, he has already since sold his Mazda3 and moved on to Mini Cooper.

Any shop that can offer unlimited touch ups, and guarantee for 10 years in Singapore weather.... I think it's kind of telltale to avoid. :s13:

xiaosen

Jerga? :s13: :s13: :s13: Spend your money elsewhere better. I saw the end result on my friend's car, nothing impressive and the first run was quite shoddy, he has already since sold his Mazda3 and moved on to Mini Cooper.

Any shop that can offer unlimited touch ups, and guarantee for 10 years in Singapore weather.... I think it's kind of telltale to avoid. :s13:
Got any to recommend? Shortlisted vexxx also. Using nasiol

Sent from OnePlus KB2000 using GAGT

EJB

How much are these roughly?

I'm very skeptical when they say more than 3-4 layers.. or warranty 2-3 years :s13: Anything more than 3-4 layers no point.. any timeline more than 1 yr is just marketing gimmick and more excuse to charge you more $$$.

For those longer warranty ones, if your paintwork gloss meter drops, they will do "maintenance" for you. But some brands will charge you, some is free.
It's not how many layers, it's also surface prep work, they do the paint correction, claying to remove the dirt and grime or they just wash and coat?

Then all the imperfections are coated over then if you don't cure, and coat again, then it's just imperfections upon imperfections.

2 coatings with paint correction already took 27 hours for my ride, 3-4, 11 coatings, how long? Half a day? Doesn't this sound shady or too good to be true. :s13:

I spoke with some detailers, they don't even have a proper workflow or surface prep steps before coating.

EJB

Got any to recommend? Shortlisted vexxx also. Using nasiol

I visit Smart Details @ Synergy@KB. Look for Raymond. I send back yearly for him to maintain and re-coat. Just re-did it last week after 1.5 years (due to covid + I changed jobs).

I spoke with a fair bit of mobile groomers, and have tried some with brick/motor shops, quite disappointing results. Most are hit-n-run types of business, they assume they do the basic, is all you need.

Paid $980 for a titanium coating before also at EA Detailer, the end result was so bad. I couldn't even see anything done to the car, it just felt like a car wash done only. After some discussion they promised to redo, and during waiting for a timeslot for their 'master' polisher to be available, I found that they missed coating some parts of my ride during regular washes. :s13: :s13:

Some others tell me, no clay no polish, just wash, and coat, $200-300. Wow, their integrity is really that much...

Some tell me huh coat liao won't smooth one, paint correction is not possible at that price, blah blah blah.

BS max. Some detailers don't even know what they are doing :s13:

myviowner

I visit Smart Details @ Synergy@KB. Look for Raymond. I send back yearly for him to maintain and re-coat. Just re-did it last week after 1.5 years (due to covid + I changed jobs).

I spoke with a fair bit of mobile groomers, and have tried some with brick/motor shops, quite disappointing results. Most are hit-n-run types of business, they assume they do the basic, is all you need.

Paid $980 for a titanium coating before also at EA Detailer, the end result was so bad. I couldn't even see anything done to the car, it just felt like a car wash done only. After some discussion they promised to redo, and during waiting for a timeslot for their 'master' polisher to be available, I found that they missed coating some parts of my ride during regular washes. :s13: :s13:

Some others tell me, no clay no polish, just wash, and coat, $200-300. Wow, their integrity is really that much...

Some tell me huh coat liao won't smooth one, paint correction is not possible at that price, blah blah blah.

Many lured to the low prices for caating services. In FB, saw one quoted $198... haha.

xiaosen

You using pure or syncro?

EJB

You using pure or syncro?

Gyeon Quartz for coating.

How good the product is, also depends on how good the groomer is able to do it properly. You can claim to use the best, but then anyhow do, good also become lousy.

Just like buying top wagyu/kobe beef, but cook until the beef is all hard and over done, or fry with rice, you're just wasting the materials.

Finbias

It's not how many layers, it's also surface prep work, they do the paint correction, claying to remove the dirt and grime or they just wash and coat?

Then all the imperfections are coated over then if you don't cure, and coat again, then it's just imperfections upon imperfections.

2 coatings with paint correction already took 27 hours for my ride, 3-4, 11 coatings, how long? Half a day? Doesn't this sound shady or too good to be true. :s13:

I spoke with some detailers, they don't even have a proper workflow or surface prep steps before coating.

This is so true

Have done a couple of ceramic coatings now (much easier to wash myself and I like the gloss shine), there is big difference between the detailers. And tbh even if you go to a good shop, unless the boss oversees the work sometimes can get the worker doing your car just doesn't do a good job or doesn't have good detailing experience

mel1888

This is so true

Have done a couple of ceramic coatings now (much easier to wash myself and I like the gloss shine), there is big difference between the detailers. And tbh even if you go to a good shop, unless the boss oversees the work sometimes can get the worker doing your car just doesn't do a good job or doesn't have good detailing experience
Yea. I have done all kinds of coating & all level of prices...TBH none met my expectations. I found something missing or part not done right. I dun sit there monitor them bec i find it waste of my time.

EJB

This is so true

It's the delivery overall. I've seen Smart Details boss personally attending to my ride, rectifying the issues I highlighted upon collection and checking and no grumbles either.

The other I mentioned earlier, even claimed they will get their master to do redo my coating, end up? The defects are still there, my original issue with sand blasting (due to re-spray of certain parts due to accident) and water marks are still there.

Took the key, and left, didn't bother to let their so-called master correct or redo further, it was going nowhere.

As a groomer, they simply have no eyes for details, I don't know why they call themselves 'detailer', when they pay no attention to details.

Yea. I have done all kinds of coating & all level of prices...TBH none met my expectations. I found something missing or part not done right. I dun sit there monitor them bec i find it waste of my time.
Try Smart Details, they don't over promise and very frank with how the delivery will be and what to expect. They don't promise me the skies when I asked on the delivery and tell me no surface prep needed before coating :s13:

I don't monitor, I just inspect before payment.

xiaosen

It's the delivery overall. I've seen Smart Details boss personally attending to my ride, rectifying the issues I highlighted upon collection and checking and no grumbles either.

The other I mentioned earlier, even claimed they will get their master to do redo my coating, end up? The defects are still there, my original issue with sand blasting (due to re-spray of certain parts due to accident) and water marks are still there.

Took the key, and left, didn't bother to let their so-called master correct or redo further, it was going nowhere.

As a groomer, they simply have no eyes for details, I don't know why they call themselves 'detailer', when they pay no attention to details.

Try Smart Details, they don't over promise and very frank with how the delivery will be and what to expect. They don't promise me the skies when I asked on the delivery and tell me no surface prep needed before coating :s13:

I don't monitor, I just inspect before payment.

Is it because you know the boss? lol. I found that there is always a few ppl get very good service from the vendor but others not getting it. Maybe he know you are pro in this area and cant bluff over. like for us we don't know what to take note when they hand over the car to us. :s22::s22::s22:

EJB

Is it because you know the boss? lol. I found that there is always a few ppl get very good service from the vendor but others not getting it. Maybe he know you are pro in this area and cant bluff over. like for us we don't know what to take note when they hand over the car to us. :s22::s22::s22:
The boss used to drive a Mazda also, but I also scrutinize his work before giving him the job. I spoke with him and he answered my questions properly and he showed me he knows what he is doing and what delivery condition is possible based on my demands.

And yes, I do know my stuff, but I also know what is possible to be done and he showed me he understands what I want and didn't bluff the skies to me to get my money. Honestly, my requirements are not that hard, and he didn't meet it, but he put in enough effort to try, which is something I like.

I no longer check after each maintenance he does for me, I collect, pay and go. For the other detailer that I paid $980 for, my friend who does her own car grooming, see my coating, she didn't even bother to check, she can tell me it's unevenly done just by glancing.

And for me to recommend, means they must be doing a good job, if not why would I want to do it, I don't make money from them. I just like a good honest shop who does their best, and not one that gets influencers to write about their service & methods, but I spot several typos and question marks, and know it's too good to be true.

I checked a lot via FB, chat with them, ask them questions, most can't reply and don't understand, just 'hit-n-runs' types of business. Good for those who just want a clean car and tell people they got coating done cheap. I want more than a clean car, I want a shiny, smooth, proper paint correction/cutting done and when I view from all angles, there isn't any blemishes.

xiaosen

The boss used to drive a Mazda also, but I also scrutinize his work before giving him the job. I spoke with him and he answered my questions properly and he showed me he knows what he is doing and what delivery condition is possible based on my demands.

And yes, I do know my stuff, but I also know what is possible to be done and he showed me he understands what I want and didn't bluff the skies to me to get my money. Honestly, my requirements are not that hard, and he didn't meet it, but he put in enough effort to try, which is something I like.

I no longer check after each maintenance he does for me, I collect, pay and go. For the other detailer that I paid $980 for, my friend who does her own car grooming, see my coating, she didn't even bother to check, she can tell me it's unevenly done just by glancing.

And for me to recommend, means they must be doing a good job, if not why would I want to do it, I don't make money from them. I just like a good honest shop who does their best, and not one that gets influencers to write about their service & methods, but I spot several typos and question marks, and know it's too good to be true.

I checked a lot via FB, chat with them, ask them questions, most can't reply and don't understand, just 'hit-n-runs' types of business. Good for those who just want a clean car and tell people they got coating done cheap. I want more than a clean car, I want a shiny, smooth, proper paint correction/cutting done and when I view from all angles, there isn't any blemishes.
bro can roughly share what you check? Or any place I can read up.

Sent from Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra using GAGT

EJB

bro can roughly share what you check? Or any place I can read up.

I check for blemishes, uneveness, smoothness, and scratches, I've seen coating done until it's rough, full of fine line scratches and cos the prep work wasn't done proper, all the blemishes were coated in.

xiaosen

I check for blemishes, uneveness, smoothness, and scratches, I've seen coating done until it's rough, full of fine line scratches and cos the prep work wasn't done proper, all the blemishes were coated in.

I Did once with mobile groomer, after coating there is fine line scratches. till now i scare already. want to look for 1 good one and do. :s12::s12::s12:

thanks bro for sharing.

xiaosen

Infact i shortlisted Vexxx and BX fXXXXXX XXXX. and now i considering Smart details also.

EJB

I Did once with mobile groomer, after coating there is fine line scratches. till now i scare already. want to look for 1 good one and do. :s12::s12::s12:

thanks bro for sharing.
Yeah and when I told some detailers about 'fine lines' they tell me, cannot fully remove one... I "...", bloody BS.

elf108

BP should be not bad, alot of good reviews.
But I only went there for washing n fumigation can't comment on coating.

xiaosen

BP should be not bad, alot of good reviews.
But I only went there for washing n fumigation can't comment on coating.
Ya I concern is the coating itself. The polish should be good.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.