We better have kids...

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

eflash

I'm sure edmwers have lots of money to retire, more than they can spend in their life time hiring a helper and a private nurse simultaneously ...

Sorry to say, the strongest female nurse couldn't lift up my mother... Hiring nurse is very expensive in Singapore ... Helpers are cheaper but do you count on your helpers to remember what medicines your parents or yourself take when we are at age 65 or 75?

one eg.
3 levels of medications prescribed to prevent inflammation.

Level 1 Anti inflammation medication cause gastric, so doctor prescribed level 1 anti acid for level 1 anti inflammation med. In case level 1 anti acid not work, doctor prescribed level 2 anti acid, gaviscon as next level of protection.

If level 1 don't work, go
Level 2 anti inflammation drug and it caused nausea, so doctor prescribed level 2 anti vomit med.

If level 2 don't work, go
Level 3 anti inflammation drug caused nausea and shared the same anti vomit drug with level 2.

Doctor prescribed 3 levels of anti constipation medication
Level 1 is liquid
Level 2 is pills
Level 3 is physically applied to the butt...

Can we still follow such complication instructions when we are 65? How about 75?

Do we still have the same sane mind to decipher at 65 or 75? Or we expect the stay in helper to do that? If the stay in helper is not smart enough, we hire a stay in helper and a stay in nurse? Because the nurse probably couldn't lift us up when we are immobile at 65 or 75? How? Check ourselves into folks home as last resort? Then it only matters the children visit us at the home from time to time, so that those caretakers will not bully us when nobody's watching.

Disclaimer: just an opinion piece. Individuals are free to choose their ways of life. 🙏

My grandma in law was fortunate to have a grandson who's a doctor specialising in geriatric to take care of her.

Anyway no matter how much care one have, in the end, one still have to go...

kensk76

I kind of pity single child in a family. The burden will be great in the future.

coyote

I kind of pity single child in a family. The burden will be great in the future.

Had a friend who is single child and very stressful at the end journey of his parents staying overseas... Then again he is the super smart and super tough kind... He needs no sympathy. Just shoulder on.

logitek

LMAO ts post is a good advertisement for conscripting sinkie females to do nursing / care-giving for national service and not sinkies to have more kids.

Our apocalyptic TFR also factually indicates that ts's belief / views / messaging on kids is a declining one.

:vijayadmin:

fandango

Yes. There's no guarantee in life. If you don't try, chance is zero. If you try and impart your good quality, chances are 70% good, 30% bad, I'm just guessing. I saw all those good friends with good qualities, their children all turned out good. I'm encouraged.
What good qualities you have?

My own good quality is my feet very big. Size 12. Some say kkj size correspond to feet size.

VIPHUAT888

I'm sure edmwers have lots of money to retire, more than they can spend in their life time hiring a helper and a private nurse simultaneously ...

Sorry to say, the strongest female nurse couldn't lift up my mother... Hiring nurse is very expensive in Singapore ... Helpers are cheaper but do you count on your helpers to remember what medicines your parents or yourself take when we are at age 65 or 75?

one eg.
3 levels of medications prescribed to prevent inflammation.

Level 1 Anti inflammation medication cause gastric, so doctor prescribed level 1 anti acid for level 1 anti inflammation med. In case level 1 anti acid not work, doctor prescribed level 2 anti acid, gaviscon as next level of protection.

If level 1 don't work, go
Level 2 anti inflammation drug and it caused nausea, so doctor prescribed level 2 anti vomit med.

If level 2 don't work, go
Level 3 anti inflammation drug caused nausea and shared the same anti vomit drug with level 2.

Doctor prescribed 3 levels of anti constipation medication
Level 1 is liquid
Level 2 is pills
Level 3 is physically applied to the butt...

Can we still follow such complication instructions when we are 65? How about 75?

Do we still have the same sane mind to decipher at 65 or 75? Or we expect the stay in helper to do that? If the stay in helper is not smart enough, we hire a stay in helper and a stay in nurse? Because the nurse probably couldn't lift us up when we are immobile at 65 or 75? How? Check ourselves into folks home as last resort? Then it only matters the children visit us at the home from time to time, so that those caretakers will not bully us when nobody's watching.

Disclaimer: just an opinion piece. Individuals are free to choose their ways of life. 🙏
Children are not our insurance to old age.

The best is provide them till they graduated and come out to society.

Whether they are filial or not, I have no expectation as long as they don’t borrow money and drag us to their problem.

We have alrdy plan our retirement and write a will so that our children won’t fight with inheritance.

jadedRomeo

We should but not for the reasons TS posted.
To all DINKS out there, how do you think the country will finance your retirement and health needs? Don't say your own money hor. Lol. Pls don't think oh I have insurance, cash savings. I planned ahead. Don't need anyone's help. :ROFLMAO:

EVERYTHING you own or will own will need to be financed. That money you're saving now, your assets, every services.

But there's a way to escape la. Just run off to another country.

Asphodeli

Lol then if the kids did not give a hoot about him when they grow up, then how? Start a mega thread on edmw? Lmao.

So his intention and motive to raise kids ish just for them to take care of him? Like that call love kids meh. So suay man his kids.
TS also support high HDB price wor

coyote

Children are not our insurance to old age.

The best is provide them till they graduated and come out to society.

Whether they are filial or not, I have no expectation as long as they don’t borrow money and drag us to their problem.

We have alrdy plan our retirement and write a will so that our children won’t fight with inheritance.

That's great. I shall do the same. Same for me. I only wished they will still visit me once in a blue moon when in folks home ...

Asphodeli

As a half caregiver and supporter to a parent, I know what TS is trying to say. But his mindset and method to tackle the issue I’d say is strange and illogical, and comes with a lot of assumptions.

His solution is to have kids to tackle the mentioned issues, which I totally disagree because it will not help solve the issue.

TS’ point ish to have kids (and as many) so that the kids will visit them at nursing home, because there comes a day when medicine prescribed to patient ish too much for caregiver to manage, as caregiver can grow old too, then the caregiver may not be able to remember well and give to the patient to eat. So next step is to check the patient in to nursing home and hospice and such so that these places will help take care of patient, AND THEN TADAH KIDS JUST VISIT THE PATIENT GAO DIM. Lmao.

Assumption 1:
1) TS assume that all kids in the world or in Singapore are brought up equally, shown with all the tender loving care at home, received university education, and all are responsible and kind and willing to sacrifice time to take care of parents. Also assume all kids’ nature when young and in adulthood = kind, caring, patient, willing to do everything for parents.

Assumption 2:
2) TS also assume all parents are educated, have patience, are compassionate, and are trained professionally to take care of their kids and groom their kids.

The above two assumptions of TS are totally not the case unfortunately.

Educated does not mean a person will want to take care of parents. It is not a guarantee. Not educated but got time also does not mean got heart to do so. Educated and got time also does not indicate the person thinks it is his or her responsibility to do so. Educated and got time and got heart also need professional help. Not a got kids mean all settled kind of thing.

I’d say if want to have kids, the intention should be because you love your partner and want a creation that involved you and her. Not because to get the kid to take care of both of you. Thereafter, please make sure you spend time and money to bring the kid up and offer resources to the kid. Please communicate with your kid and involve yourself and your partner in all the activities with the kid. Please don’t just focus on academics, but also teach the kid about kindness, find out his or her interests and strengths and weakness. So much to say here but you get the point.
You should note also he like his HDB flat to appreciate in value...

diequick

wahlaneh

You seem to have the mindset that your children is 100% going to take care of you

ashethen

Scared what?
Got humanoid robots to take care of us within the next 10 years

coyote

If he meant to have kids to help him in old age...
He better wake up his idea

How can he be sure the kids can sustain themselves?
How can he be sure the kids are not born with defects or mental issues?
How can he be sure the kids live long enough?
How can he be sure the kids take care of the parents when young?

So many uncertainties

Your questions have merits. Thing is, there's never any guarantee in life in all our decisions. We just take one step at a time.. but do we stop making important decisions just because of scaring of making mistakes, no? There are people dying on the road everyday around the world, do we stop driving our cars? No. But we do drive more carefully to avoid accidents.

Forest Gump said, life is like a box of chocolate. You don't know what you gonna get till you open it. The more recent example... Let me find and share the video from The last dance.

coyote

That's good qualities meh?

I knew it's not much. It is something. Oh my kids inherited the smart minds from me and my wife. They saw and preempt things before they happen.🙏

Eg. My 5 years old said, papa, I want 100+ also when his siblings done their swimming later. I asked why. He said, he had 100+ earlier after his swim, his siblings had 100+ the same despite they did not swim. So when they go for a swim later, he knew I will offer them 100+ also and so, he will want 100+ later also even though he is not swimming the second time.

I'm glad, he can see things coming and prempted it so that he will not be short changed.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.