We better have kids...

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Spectre007

your mother how heavy? strongest female nurse also cannot lift up, gotch so kua zhang or not? :s11:

aarontansp

I'm sure edmwers have lots of money to retire, more than they can spend in their life time hiring a helper and a private nurse simultaneously ...

Sorry to say, the strongest female nurse couldn't lift up my mother... Hiring nurse is very expensive in Singapore ... Helpers are cheaper but do you count on your helpers to remember what medicines your parents or yourself take when we are at age 65 or 75?

one eg.
3 levels of medications prescribed to prevent inflammation.

Level 1 Anti inflammation medication cause gastric, so doctor prescribed level 1 anti acid for level 1 anti inflammation med. In case level 1 anti acid not work, doctor prescribed level 2 anti acid, gaviscon as next level of protection.

If level 1 don't work, go
Level 2 anti inflammation drug and it caused nausea, so doctor prescribed level 2 anti vomit med.

If level 2 don't work, go
Level 3 anti inflammation drug caused nausea and shared the same anti vomit drug with level 2.

Doctor prescribed 3 levels of anti constipation medication
Level 1 is liquid
Level 2 is pills
Level 3 is physically applied to the butt...

Can we still follow such complication instructions when we are 65? How about 75?

Do we still have the same sane mind to decipher at 65 or 75? Or we expect the stay in helper to do that? If the stay in helper is not smart enough, we hire a stay in helper and a stay in nurse? Because the nurse probably couldn't lift us up when we are immobile at 65 or 75? How? Check ourselves into folks home as last resort? Then it only matters the children visit us at the home from time to time, so that those caretakers will not bully us when nobody's watching.

Disclaimer: just an opinion piece. Individuals are free to choose their ways of life. 🙏
Good luck to the DINKS

diequick

I'm sure edmwers have lots of money to retire, more than they can spend in their life time hiring a helper and a private nurse simultaneously ...

Sorry to say, the strongest female nurse couldn't lift up my mother... Hiring nurse is very expensive in Singapore ... Helpers are cheaper but do you count on your helpers to remember what medicines your parents or yourself take when we are at age 65 or 75?

one eg.

Level 1 Anti inflammation medication cause gastric, so doctor prescribed level 1 anti acid for level 1 anti inflammation med. In case level 1 anti acid not work, doctor prescribed level 2 anti acid, gaviscon as next level of protection.

Level 2 anti inflammation drug and it caused nausea, so doctor prescribed level 2 anti vomit med.

Level 3 anti inflammation drug caused nausea and shared the same anti vomit drug with level 2.

Level 1 is liquid
Level 2 is pills

Can we still follow such complication instructions when we are 65? How about 75?

Do we still have the same sane mind to decipher at 65 or 75? Or we expect the stay in helper to do that? If the stay in helper is not smart enough, we hire a stay in helper and a stay in nurse? Because the nurse probably couldn't lift us up when we are immobile at 65 or 75? How? Check ourselves into folks home as last resort? Then it only matters the children visit us at the home from time to time, so that those caretakers will not bully us when nobody's watching.
Nt sure the age of patient and what sort of meds taken.

Lets say 70+. The merdeka/pioneer gen doesnt have concept of exercise, weight loss, diet. Gen X and younger does, so i would think we r betta off. If any1 currently 50s and overweight, pls pls work on ur legs and remove excess body weight. Still got 10-20 years to avoid burdening the children/nurses.

Pill box (nt the machine gun posts) are available. what u need is a 4 box one (per day). Not sure got level 1/2 type meds. Painkillers? level 1 pain is paracetamol, level 2 is tramadol, then gotta feed another med to prevent nausea. idk gt lvl 3 against inflammation.

btw, if u watch Kdrama, Korea dispense meds by the consumption in clear plastic. So its like a.m. consume, 1 pack, p.m., night. Though i m nt sure abt chronic diseases or those > 30 days to 90 days.

Just take the meds, with label intact, ask helper to write in their language (dosage/frequency), pack 7 + 1 dose. Buy pill cutter also. Pack, take picture. Ask the pharmacist, "if overdose how"? As in ur case, if misjudged level, give level 2 instead of 1, how? Miss dose, do not "make up for missing dose".

Constipation meds, Sugary syrup, Sennosides(dark **** green tablet 2 at night) ,suppository (keep in fridge, put in butt), run. All cannot be used long term. If use long term, i can almost guarantee u, will need to take iron tablets/B12. i dun have a gd solution nor u shld take this as med advice. Poop is from fibre. Get rid/reduce fibre (nt more!). idk if still can eat eggs/meat, and if my theory is correct, eating eggs/meat ==> less poop but old pple baru think they always need to go (or full of crap!). Read up on MMC. Keep meals at least 4 hrs apart. Avoid calories in b/w meals, if stop MMC, + fibre somewhere in there, with fermentation, gas and bloat, stomach discomfort. A gd gauge to use the 3, is maybe like someone having the same diet/qty of food, if they go avg, once / day, then if 2 consecutive days patient neber go, then use.

Checking in hospital/long term nursing home, is not viable. The ratio is 1:8 or 1:4. Cost aside, if need to go, means need to go. Someone on the throne for 10-20 mins, + need to change. Besides, notice the gov encourage to recuperate at home?

TLDR; solution is nt to have kids, take care of urself, dont be too heavy/high BP, prioritise on ur legs, educate urself abt diet/exercise, maybe fasting (its best to fast when u dont have to).

Monstruo^

You don’t know TS is working for Ministry of Birth? His KPI is to increase TFR.:crazy:
How come this JHK keeps talking about giving birth ah? I’m very puzzled leh. So strange and creepy. Lmao.

Ijit he last time nobody wants then when finally get married and have kids then he feel damn bless, so started urging people to have kids ah? If not, no sane people keep doing this and repeating this over and over again in almost every post.

Monstruo^

Have kids doesn’t mean they can support you and or are willing to support you
It is 2025 now, not 1980s
TS expects his kids to stay at home when they are in their 40s to look after him?

who brings in the dough then?
Lol then if the kids did not give a hoot about him when they grow up, then how? Start a mega thread on edmw? Lmao.

So his intention and motive to raise kids ish just for them to take care of him? Like that call love kids meh. So suay man his kids.

1982-1994

Based on my diet plan, the top anti-inflammatory foods I regularly consume are:
---

✅ 1. Avocado

Rich in monounsaturated fats, vitamin E, and glutathione

Reduces CRP (C-reactive protein) levels

Excellent for gut and joint health

---

✅ 2. Tomato Paste / Sun-dried Tomatoes

High in lycopene, a potent anti-inflammatory antioxidant

Especially effective when cooked or concentrated (like in paste)

May reduce inflammation linked to metabolic syndrome

---

✅ 3. Psyllium Husk

Improves gut health, reduces intestinal inflammation, and enhances insulin sensitivity

Indirectly lowers systemic inflammation through better digestion

---

✅ 4. Chia Seeds (when included)

Loaded with omega-3 ALA, which directly reduces inflammation markers

Also provides fiber and polyphenols

---

✅ 5. Fatty Fish (e.g., Salmon, Dory, Prawns, Mussels)

High in omega-3 EPA & DHA

Clinically proven to lower IL-6, TNF-α, and CRP

Especially strong when replacing chicken or red meat

---

✅ 6. Turmeric (with Black Pepper)

Contains curcumin, a powerful anti-inflammatory compound

Enhanced absorption with black pepper’s piperine

---

✅ 7. Blackberries / Raspberries / Blueberries

Rich in anthocyanins, which combat oxidative stress

Shown to reduce inflammation in cardiovascular and metabolic diseases

---

✅ 8. Apple Cider Vinegar (ACV)

May reduce post-meal glucose spikes and gut inflammation

Helps maintain blood sugar stability

Though my wife doesn't eat like me

Monstruo^

As a half caregiver and supporter to a parent, I know what TS is trying to say. But his mindset and method to tackle the issue I’d say is strange and illogical, and comes with a lot of assumptions.

His solution is to have kids to tackle the mentioned issues, which I totally disagree because it will not help solve the issue.

TS’ point ish to have kids (and as many) so that the kids will visit them at nursing home, because there comes a day when medicine prescribed to patient ish too much for caregiver to manage, as caregiver can grow old too, then the caregiver may not be able to remember well and give to the patient to eat. So next step is to check the patient in to nursing home and hospice and such so that these places will help take care of patient, AND THEN TADAH KIDS JUST VISIT THE PATIENT GAO DIM. Lmao.

Assumption 1:
1) TS assume that all kids in the world or in Singapore are brought up equally, shown with all the tender loving care at home, received university education, and all are responsible and kind and willing to sacrifice time to take care of parents. Also assume all kids’ nature when young and in adulthood = kind, caring, patient, willing to do everything for parents.

Assumption 2:
2) TS also assume all parents are educated, have patience, are compassionate, and are trained professionally to take care of their kids and groom their kids.

The above two assumptions of TS are totally not the case unfortunately.

Educated does not mean a person will want to take care of parents. It is not a guarantee. Not educated but got time also does not mean got heart to do so. Educated and got time also does not indicate the person thinks it is his or her responsibility to do so. Educated and got time and got heart also need professional help. Not a got kids mean all settled kind of thing.

I’d say if want to have kids, the intention should be because you love your partner and want a creation that involved you and her. Not because to get the kid to take care of both of you. Thereafter, please make sure you spend time and money to bring the kid up and offer resources to the kid. Please communicate with your kid and involve yourself and your partner in all the activities with the kid. Please don’t just focus on academics, but also teach the kid about kindness, find out his or her interests and strengths and weakness. So much to say here but you get the point.

Tenpai

You are too family oriented.
You need to have family to feel that you have meaning in life.
Fortunately or unfortunately, not everyone in the world needs to have family to have meaning in life because if so, there will be much fewer inventions in the world.
Not to mention some families are toxic and bring each other down

those of you who have toxic parents and/or siblings will understand

fandango

one eg.

Level 1 is liquid
Level 2 is pills

Disclaimer: just an opinion piece. Individuals are free to choose their ways of life. 🙏
Char siew chewren how?

samferguson

Have children or not is decided by nature one. Not some political chicken soup or motherhood statement. Human civilisation is primed for a major reset. Wait for WW3 aftermath and survive first then say. AMTF 🙏

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.