whats the diff between mono and normal intake?

radish

Emeritus Honorary Member
for mono the same ppl will be with you all the way, stuck with jialat ppl it will be jialat.

and yes usually more siong units on the bright side u know wat will happen for the next 2 years. (y)

Emperor_Hippo

mono usually more siong unit selection?
mono intake usually means after bmt u stay in there until u ROD.

but i posted out after my mono intake to a completely different unit. so i kinda shattered the "once armour, always armour" myth.

but maybe i got lucky. in that pivotal moment when I was 18 - 我命由天不由我。

Joseph12

mono usually more siong unit selection?
Think mono means you are in that particular unit FOREVER
It can mean they post you to OCS etc but you'll go back same unit or post you to other courses

Which will be funny cos if you are an officer , you'll go back and "lead" same people who can be your classmates and they've been doing same shite for close to 1 year without your excellent leadership

madcampus

Nowadays still have MONO intake?? Where to find so many low-ses uneducated young punk in recent years?? Now kids mostly at least poly educated.

gilcrest

I think mono intake means sticking to the BMT unit without posting ,someone please correct me

Chiu mean commanders as well ? My era of mono intake means men that were either bo tak che aka Hokkien peng and others that dun fit mainstream education

gilcrest

Nowadays still have MONO intake?? Where to find so many low-ses uneducated young punk in recent years?? Now kids mostly at least poly educated.
Chiu be surprised that there are people who dun pass O's or N's let alone Diploma burnt midway

gilcrest

Think mono means you are in that particular unit FOREVER
It can mean they post you to OCS etc but you'll go back same unit or post you to other courses

Which will be funny cos if you are an officer , you'll go back and "lead" same people who can be your classmates and they've been doing same shite for close to 1 year without your excellent leadership
Unlikely for OCS, by the time they finish, men and commanded long operations while orificer still young green punk 2LT

1982-1994

Chiu mean commanders as well ? My era of mono intake means men that were either bo tak che aka Hokkien peng and others that dun fit mainstream education
Not sure about commanders ,only know my company had many commanders who came from JC one
Then men wise, many hokkien pengs,only support coy seems to be the educated ones
I was enlisted to tekong, ITE dropout,then went to SMM then got posted to 3SIR
Anyway, I think I was the last batch to be at bedok camp too

ninjaghost

ts foreigner???

mono intake don haf anywhere to go, so they will find way to keng during BMT period or trying to post out of their unit. Once the unit got shortage of man power after POP, the unit will recruit people from tekong include JC/Poly people. I'm one of the suay one post to an unit that i don wan inititally as a replacement. I think this is punishment to me, i trying to siam every potential chance to enter commander sch under leadership-batch scheme, in the end still kena xiong unit 😅 KNN~

Mono - your NS route already fixed
Normal - your NS route based on luck and performance.

Icestillwater

Normal intake means still have chance to change your life, can try to qualify for ocs and be a satki officer

Mono intake means to no chance to change your life liao, your path in life is cast in stone, it’s the end

Joseph12

Unlikely for OCS, by the time they finish, men and commanded long operations while orificer still young green punk 2LT
OK
Maybe you're right
But after being officer they don't have long before ORD anyway no matter where they go

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.