Why we should go EV - another perspective

kebinu

ai zai, EV will have a lot on the road for sure. 40% of new cars are EV, sooner or later, EV will be at least 40% of the population within 10 years.
Actually if u think another way round.. govt offset the parf in earlier stage during purchase of the vehicle as it too expensive.. and taking in naming it rebates.

Just a question anyone know of EV that is already scrape? do the owner need to pay for the scrapping or removal of the battery (I dun think they can just crush the whole thing) . DO owner able to get money back for recycling or instead to paying for removing??
gov offset parf is for cleaner air in Singapore. most newer EV are around 2021 onwards, don't mention those dinosaur from before as EV are really bad before then.

btw, I don't believe we have to pay to scrap EV in the future, coz if anything, just trade in to dealers to exchange to new cars. paper value also can, or there will be business coming in to salvage and resell the batteries. it's good business coz I can say I buy $0, help you scrap for free.

LoUsyGamER

Just read from the ev group. Since ev only has ad to repair, prepare to wait a month or two for repair, like gearbox, battery and etc.

There are stockist for ice car, fast few hours get part and out of the workshop within a day. Even if I get a turbocharger from overseas, 3 days reached Sg and repair with a day. Some more cheaper than ad.

EV repair cannot fight ice repair in term of price and downtime.

Jirachi

Just read from the ev group. Since ev only has ad to repair, prepare to wait a month or two for repair, like gearbox, battery and etc.

There are stockist for ice car, fast few hours get part and out of the workshop within a day. Even if I get a turbocharger from overseas, 3 days reached Sg and repair with a day. Some more cheaper than ad.

EV repair cannot fight ice repair in term of price and downtime.
Gearbox? For EV?

LoUsyGamER

Gearbox? For EV?
EV has single gear or dual gear.

Like the byd atto 3 has single gear transmission gearbox that is integrated to the motor housing.

img-6801b.jpeg

Jirachi

EV has single gear or dual gear.

Like the byd atto 3 has single gear transmission gearbox that is integrated to the motor housing.

img-6801b.jpeg
Oh you were referring to the motor gears. My impression was the ICE gearbox which is way more complicated

EJB

You all hor... I MIA a day or two, you all call me until very shiok hor...

koster

Chased a SL7 this morning, cannot be he can only do 140 easily with it... either he pang chance or he don't dare to go faster...
He knows big brother @EJB Is big brother mah. Why dares challenge u?

RyanJ

was researching over the weekend

looking at recent news. seems like EV costs went up

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...ers-as-new-rules-drive-up-costs-say-operators

EV S$0.65 Per Kilowatt-hour ($)​

I think with this AC charging rate. is there still savings? or negligible comparing with Hybirds?

From since June, SP AC is now 70+ cents a kWh, my last recorded charging recently was $0.741/kWh

The DC rate is probably 80+ cents a kWh.

Other providers could be cheaper, not sure.

( For comparison SP home grid power is 30.03 cents/kWh after GST )

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.