Why we should go EV - another perspective

2wiremodem

Btw, I know some ev is everything control (by eg air con) their dashboard, if that display fails, mean whole thing cannot function? Anybody got experience parking the car under direct sun in open cp for few hrs? I scare the heat will damage all the instrument and displays.

Looking out for next poss ev car in coming mths.
Don't think EV are that vulnerable. Display fail at most certain things cannot use but still can drive the car.
No issue parking under direct sunlight in open car park for whole day for the past 1 year.

Driving lexus ev.

raintr33

Don't think EV are that vulnerable. Display fail at most certain things cannot use but still can drive the car.
No issue parking under direct sunlight in open car park for whole day for the past 1 year.
Driving lexus ev.

If display fails, mostly affect the accessories like music, radio, aircon, navigation, bluetooth bah. Other system setting isn't used daily so should be ok if can't use for days or months.
But I think aircon can still control using mobile app?

There is a separate display for the dashboard, if this fails then really can't drive the car liao.

rizhal

estrangable

yeah it's

EV S$0.665 Per Kilowatt-hour ($)​

today...just checked the APP

is it the same everywhere - SP, shell and etc? Sorry noob here. recently got an EV but most of the time i am charging the vehicle at home. The rate is about 28 cents using SP services. Was suprised when i saw the rate at 66 cents when i was trying to charge at KKH.

dev_stg_prd

is it the same everywhere - SP, shell and etc? Sorry noob here. recently got an EV but most of the time i am charging the vehicle at home. The rate is about 28 cents using SP services. Was suprised when i saw the rate at 66 cents when i was trying to charge at KKH.
what I mean is even before the road tax and this current 66 cents rate.. costwise it's almost the same( an understatement) as hybird already

Vehicle TypeEnergy Cost per UnitEfficiencyCost per km (S$)
EV ( most Cat A ev )S$0.665 / kWh5.8 km / kWh0.1147
Hybrid ( Niro )S$2.30 / litre25 km / litre0.092

SecretAgent

How much you all average? Mine is 15.8kwh/100 without factoring in phantom losses which will be about 6.32km per kWh or probably about 6km pe kWh after those unaccounted losses

raintr33

My condo using Busway ev at 45 cents, cheaper than those HDB charging stations. So I would try to charge only at home. Landed gets the best deal since no markup from residential electricity rates but need to spend 2.5K to install charger at home.

EJB

My condo using Busway ev at 45 cents, cheaper than those HDB charging stations. So I would try to charge only at home. Landed gets the best deal since no markup from residential electricity rates but need to spend 2.5K to install charger at home.

IIRC. Audi Q4 comes with charger.

ZhuTou!

U charge at home better. Outside u can even see 80 cents, depends on which provider. There are cheaper one as well, like 55 cents etc.

ZhuTou!

what I mean is even before the road tax and this current 66 cents rate.. costwise it's almost the same( an understatement) as hybird already

Vehicle TypeEnergy Cost per UnitEfficiencyCost per km (S$)
EV ( most Cat A ev )S$0.665 / kWh5.8 km / kWh0.1147
Hybrid ( Niro )S$2.30 / litre25 km / litre0.092
When u look at ev, dont look at the fuel saving. Most of the saving will go to pay the extra road tax. What u save is the maint cost compare to ICE.

If u wanna compare to hybrid, the selling price is alr huge diff. U are alr paying more for a hybrid when u buy it. Say for prius, it is consider under lower end hybrid and it cost close to 200k? An average lower end ev cost like 160k and there are even cheaper ones around. So u pay more for a hybrid and u need to pay for the usual ICE maint every 10k, 40k, 100k servicing etc. Hybrid has a self charging battery which will cost low few k for replacement as well.

Hybrid is the worst car to buy in sg for normal driver. Firstly, u pay alot more compare to ICE when u buy it. Secondly, as a normal driver, u wont hit a high annual mileage so your fuel saving is only that much. This is why phv/taxi use hybrid to drive. Their mileage is very high so they save alot from there. They make full use of the hybrid system.

ZhuTou!

How much you all average? Mine is 15.8kwh/100 without factoring in phantom losses which will be about 6.32km per kWh or probably about 6km pe kWh after those unaccounted losses
Your car is tesla? For ev i only look at the total mileage travelled and the full tank cost. Thats all. I dont see how many km per kwh as i feel its not important. Your leg, aircon, speed, start stop traffic, will affect the fc. If i can run 400km with eco mode, i can also achieve 400km with sport mode. Ev and ICE consumption are diff style. This is why i dont see km/kwh.

dev_stg_prd

When u look at ev, dont look at the fuel saving. Most of the saving will go to pay the extra road tax. What u save is the maint cost compare to ICE.

If u wanna compare to hybrid, the selling price is alr huge diff. U are alr paying more for a hybrid when u buy it. Say for prius, it is consider under lower end hybrid and it cost close to 200k? An average lower end ev cost like 160k and there are even cheaper ones around. So u pay more for a hybrid and u need to pay for the usual ICE maint every 10k, 40k, 100k servicing etc. Hybrid has a self charging battery which will cost low few k for replacement as well.

Hybrid is the worst car to buy in sg for normal driver. Firstly, u pay alot more compare to ICE when u buy it. Secondly, as a normal driver, u wont hit a high annual mileage so your fuel saving is only that much. This is why phv/taxi use hybrid to drive. Their mileage is very high so they save alot from there. They make full use of the hybrid system.
new ICE cars(SUV) not many available already and as you can see the mileage cost is almost similar and to add the fact that EVs has no value ( just like phone ), as leat hybrid I still get back say around 8k. don't think the standard maintenance will cost me 8k

ZhuTou!

new ICE cars(SUV) not many available already and as you can see the mileage cost is almost similar and to add the fact that EVs has no value ( just like phone ), as leat hybrid I still get back say around 8k. don't think the standard maintenance will cost me 8k
Erm do u know that parf is your own money? U pay 100% ARF and get back only 50% of it. If u are taking loan, this ARF need interest as well. And no matter what, u will lose 50% ARF end of coe.

Say if u get back 8k, so your ARF is around 16k. In short, u are paying extra 16k when u buy the car at the start. Whole 16k will incurred interest as u are taking loan.

dev_stg_prd

Erm do u know that parf is your own money? U pay 100% ARF and get back only 50% of it. If u are taking loan, this ARF need interest as well. And no matter what, u will lose 50% ARF end of coe.

Say if u get back 8k, so your ARF is around 16k. In short, u are paying extra 16k when u buy the car at the start. Whole 16k will incurred interest as u are taking loan.
Exactly I get back $8k and EV most won't have except for Tesla.

ZhuTou!

Exactly I get back $8k and EV most won't have except for Tesla.
Ev no parf is due to govt give 30k or 40k rebates. I cant remember the exact figure. This rebates deduct off the ARF so the entire ARF become 0 for most cat A ev. This is why u never get back parf. 0 ARF means u never pay ARF from the beginning when u purchase the car. This is why u get nothing back.

To make it simple, ICE u pay the full 100% ARF in advanced but later u get back 50% only. Ev u pay 0 from the beginning. Now u understand?

snip82

Ev no parf is due to govt give 30k or 40k rebates. I cant remember the exact figure. This rebates deduct off the ARF so the entire ARF become 0 for most cat A ev. This is why u never get back parf. 0 ARF means u never pay ARF from the beginning when u purchase the car. This is why u get nothing back.

To make it simple, ICE u pay the full 100% ARF in advanced but later u get back 50% only. Ev u pay 0 from the beginning. Now u understand?
Actually if u think another way round.. govt offset the parf in earlier stage during purchase of the vehicle as it too expensive.. and taking in naming it rebates.

Just a question anyone know of EV that is already scrape? do the owner need to pay for the scrapping or removal of the battery (I dun think they can just crush the whole thing) . DO owner able to get money back for recycling or instead to paying for removing??

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.