Why we should go EV - another perspective

SecretAgent

Do also consider the aftersales services for ev too. Best is to ask around owners their AD and servicing, aftersales repair t&c etc blah blah... This kinda thing boh daiji time is fine.. but if comes to problems how long turn around time they promised and also loan vehicle if any.. During sales stage.. the SA usually sweet talk you and sing bird song... But can they follow up with their own servicing side if you need to go back.

Remember... Outside workshops, even if they can do your EV... It will void your warranty.

Ev cannot buy one lah! Think twice!

raintr33

Do also consider the aftersales services for ev too. Best is to ask around owners their AD and servicing, aftersales repair t&c etc blah blah... This kinda thing boh daiji time is fine.. but if comes to problems how long turn around time they promised and also loan vehicle if any.. During sales stage.. the SA usually sweet talk you and sing bird song... But can they follow up with their own servicing side if you need to go back.
Remember... Outside workshops, even if they can do your EV... It will void your warranty.

You are also SA ah?

EJB

How do they void the EV warranty? Under what circumstances? Just by virtue of servicing outside, or repairing outside or?

Not trying to be defensive, cos so far I only deal with ICE, I never dealt with EV, so am keen to know more on this before the plunge in 2030 if I decide EV instead of ICE.

SecretAgent

How do they void the EV warranty? Under what circumstances? Just by virtue of servicing outside, or repairing outside or?

Not trying to be defensive, cos so far I only deal with ICE, I never dealt with EV, so am keen to know more on this before the plunge in 2030 if I decide EV instead of ICE.
Brother... You got all the time until 2030 to find out about this....

Ev cannot buy one lah! Pls dun!

EJB

Brother... You got all the time until 2030 to find out about this....

Ev cannot buy one lah!
I know la, but sooner later also need, so start finding out now before getting culture shock.

For ICE I know I can do anything including service outside, no issues. EV I not sure because there are so many electronics in it, maybe AD does lock down because of this.

However, we also hear that EV no maintenance needed, but TEK has a servicing schedule for their MX-30, so I just curious about others. No doubt, matter of time, they will find ways to milk from EV owners over servicing and repairs, but have to see how far.

I only need 1 more car change then I no longer need to drive liao. For now, largely is for parent's comfort when they go out or when they need to go medical. By then I also retire le... so last car... either ICE or EV.

SecretAgent

I know la, but sooner later also need, so start finding out now before getting culture shock.

For ICE I know I can do anything including service outside, no issues. EV I not sure because there are so many electronics in it, maybe AD does lock down because of this.

However, we also hear that EV no maintenance needed, but TEK has a servicing schedule for their MX-30, so I just curious about others. No doubt, matter of time, they will find ways to milk from EV owners over servicing and repairs, but have to see how far.

I only need 1 more car change then I no longer need to drive liao. For now, largely is for parent's comfort when they go out or when they need to go medical. By then I also retire le... so last car... either ICE or EV.
Nissan nv200 with those tailgate ramp!

Petrol some more not clucking like diesel.. I see people use that to carry old people... Can apply for handicapped lot too!

Don't trouble yourself and elderlies with cramp doors.. jitao push up the ramp into the rear they also soong. You don't have to fold unfold wheelchairs too.

I am serious!

Ev = no go!

EJB

Nissan nv200 with those tailgate ramp!

Petrol some more not clucking like diesel.. I see people use that to carry old people... Can apply for handicapped lot too!

Don't trouble yourself and elderlies with cramp doors.. jitao push up the ramp into the rear they also soong. You don't have to fold unfold wheelchairs too.

I am serious!

Ev = no go!
Haha... they prefer higher , nv200 cannot go fast... when they not riding with me, I still wanna use the car for to/fro work and going out :s13:

ZhuTou!

Depends on which ev. Normally modern ev gear oil no need change. Just need to take care of coolant. Ev have 2 coolant, for HV batt and electric motor. The rest same like ice. Brake fluid, steering fluid thats all. Then plus the usual wear n tear like brake pad, rotor etc lor. Nothing much to service de.

Parts may have long waiting time. Not sure abt other brands but byd chao chao need to wait 3 mths for parts. China seafreight to sg at most 1 mth. Seriously i duno why they need 3 mths. So if possible avoid byd better.

EJB

Depends on which ev. Normally modern ev gear oil no need change. Just need to take care of coolant. Ev have 2 coolant, for HV batt and electric motor. The rest same like ice. Brake fluid, steering fluid thats all. Then plus the usual wear n tear like brake pad, rotor etc lor. Nothing much to service de.

Parts may have long waiting time. Not sure abt other brands but byd chao chao need to wait 3 mths for parts. China seafreight to sg at most 1 mth. Seriously i duno why they need 3 mths. So if possible avoid byd better.
I think EV adoption rate is low so parts maybe still need to ramp up production? Given that their EVs mostly have self-driving modes, so accident or damage probability is lower compared to ICE where vehicle is human driven.

For the regular fluids I can understand it's periodic, but I've seen dealers specifying in mileage, like 10, 20, 30... so just wondering. Might be a milking scheme, but nothing we can do about it.

Seems like ICE is still a better choice for now.

ZhuTou!

I think EV adoption rate is low so parts maybe still need to ramp up production? Given that their EVs mostly have self-driving modes, so accident or damage probability is lower compared to ICE where vehicle is human driven.

For the regular fluids I can understand it's periodic, but I've seen dealers specifying in mileage, like 10, 20, 30... so just wondering. Might be a milking scheme, but nothing we can do about it.

Seems like ICE is still a better choice for now.
After the free servicing no need care the schedule. These are normal fluids. Outside workshop can change. Coolant just top up, no need flush if outside mech dun dare to touch it. No need go workshop so often de and no need to keep track of 10k km mileage.

Ice better or not is up to individual. Those never touch ev before will definitely say ice better. When first smart phone out in the market, nobody dare to buy coz comfort zone is better to them. Use nokia for years no issue so why switch to iphone? Same logic. U need to try then will know which is better for u.

EJB

After the free servicing no need care the schedule. These are normal fluids. Outside workshop can change. Coolant just top up, no need flush if outside mech dun dare to touch it. No need go workshop so often de and no need to keep track of 10k km mileage.

Ice better or not is up to individual. Those never touch ev before will definitely say ice better. When first smart phone out in the market, nobody dare to buy coz comfort zone is better to them. Use nokia for years no issue so why switch to iphone? Same logic. U need to try then will know which is better for u.
Phone is not that painful to change if I don't like it, so the adoption was slow but surely. Cars are different because of the way COE works and the hefty costs involved, is not like not happy can next day change one, sell the existing off.

So shopping for cars I usually do my homework before deciding. for me ICE is faster in the sense, I drive in, refuel, 5 mins I'm out. Repairs are fast also, and any workshop easily fixes what I need. EV to me is not so much about technology or saving the earth.

EV is nothing but just a gimmick to push for technology, unfortunately it comes with a lot of issues on its own as well. Right now I really don't see any benefit of owning an EV but if it comes to law and push, I don't have a choice eventually. So need to plan ahead, before EV takes over and no more ICE, should I change ICE or EV.... either way, I still need a car.

We are living in a fast pace country, so 5mins refueling definitely entices better. With ERP2.0 can't even enjoy the high torque of the EV, then no point also...

kebinu

Phone is not that painful to change if I don't like it, so the adoption was slow but surely. Cars are different because of the way COE works and the hefty costs involved, is not like not happy can next day change one, sell the existing off.

So shopping for cars I usually do my homework before deciding. for me ICE is faster in the sense, I drive in, refuel, 5 mins I'm out. Repairs are fast also, and any workshop easily fixes what I need. EV to me is not so much about technology or saving the earth.

EV is nothing but just a gimmick to push for technology, unfortunately it comes with a lot of issues on its own as well. Right now I really don't see any benefit of owning an EV but if it comes to law and push, I don't have a choice eventually. So need to plan ahead, before EV takes over and no more ICE, should I change ICE or EV.... either way, I still need a car.

We are living in a fast pace country, so 5mins refueling definitely entices better. With ERP2.0 can't even enjoy the high torque of the EV, then no point also...

what issues did you hear say?

the good things about EV is charging when parking, so generally, I have not run out of power in past 11 months yet. sometimes go below 20% (3 times?), but I'll get to charge quite easily. there's also super charger, plug in and get a lot of power in minutes.

ZhuTou!

I dont think the year 2030 ev thing will work. By then they will extend again.

EJB

what issues did you hear say?

the good things about EV is charging when parking, so generally, I have not run out of power in past 11 months yet. sometimes go below 20% (3 times?), but I'll get to charge quite easily. there's also super charger, plug in and get a lot of power in minutes.
Tyre wear faster, parts availability, and I have people already complaining about charging at my place.

I could ask my BIL and sis la since their family got 2 EV but they of course will say EV good, they stay condo...

kebinu

Tyre wear faster, parts availability, and I have people already complaining about charging at my place.

I could ask my BIL and sis la since their family got 2 EV but they of course will say EV good, they stay condo...

tyre wear depends on driving of course. my stock tyre for Tesla 3 can last longer than kia stinger 2.0.. :/

charging will be an issue if there's no fast charging and lifestyle is not suitable... of coz.

EJB

tyre wear depends on driving of course. my stock tyre for Tesla 3 can last longer than kia stinger 2.0.. :/

charging will be an issue if there's no fast charging and lifestyle is not suitable... of coz.
Charging issue is expected as ev adoption grows, that one matter of time one.

dev_stg_prd

silly question..

at NS highway,usually EV should go around what speed? ( based on battery depletion rate )

linzw00

Btw, I know some ev is everything control (by eg air con) their dashboard, if that display fails, mean whole thing cannot function? Anybody got experience parking the car under direct sun in open cp for few hrs? I scare the heat will damage all the instrument and displays.

Looking out for next poss ev car in coming mths.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.