Will making

henrylbh

I see, my concern is my sibling will try to challenge the will to get my hdb flat, claiming that he is the occupier. Another thing is I need the law firm to provide witness as I can't find anyone to do so for me. Parents passed on, and I'm not comfortable with asking relatives or friends. My relatives are overseas anw.

If you have made a valid will, your sibling will not succeed in challenging your will whatever the circumstances. You can engage any lawyer to do the will and the cost should be less than $500 if your instructions are simple and clear. Making a will requires you to have in mind at least one executor/executrix and who will know about your will and who can safely keep the will. The law firm can act as witness but to engage the lawyer as executor, you need to pay extra and some lawyer may not even want to act. Nowadays, lawyer also cannot be trusted. Executor can keep the estate to himself. Best is to approach the charitable institution/s that you will donate to to ask for their lawyers to help and you might even get free service including executing the will to the last. Not all your assets will be covered by will eg your CPF. Make a CPF nomination or it will go to your sibling automatically.

My cousin had a will prepared by a law firm on behalf of her mother naming my cousin as the executrix Upon the mother's death she turned to me to find a lawyer to apply for probate. I read the mother's will and it was a mouthful. The will had executrix name wrongly written (and then correction initialed) and she told me that surprisingly her elder sister also had another original identical will of her mother :unsure: I suggested she go back to that lawyer to apply for probate. She said the lawyer not familiar in probate matters :D

henrylbh

I do not wish to trouble my friends as I know for sure my sibling will attempt to challenge the will (not like he will succeed), he will go all the way out to wrack havoc. Anw my friends are all married with their own commitments, its best if I can leave itcto a professional like a law firm.
Don't worry about your sibling. Just make sure the will is proper. How are you sure that the executor will not makan or keep all to himself :D

wayne_ye

Hi , anyone knows what happens if property of owner sells everything and given away till nothing in her name. What happens to the Will?

cablemaster2000

I would much rather not include charitable organizations in the will. xxx in their scumbag past, was known to force sell flats and kick widows out to get their share of their monies.

If you are married and the money is going to spouse and kids only, having a will is not really necessary. You only need a will if your wife dont get along with your parents and your parents need your support, for example, but your spouse better be aware and not get surprised by the will.

If all you have is CPF,insurance, HDB and a few bank accounts in low thousands, hiring a lawyer to draft a will is overkill.

And if you do draft a will, do be careful if you change your mind, as the LKY/Oxley saga has shown, if you have more than one will, you risk a Game of Thrones saga where your beneficiaries will fight over which will is the more valid one, so having a will can create more problems.

cablemaster2000

I cant find any article to back my point, so I am removing the name.

But know this, if you include any outside entity, especially one with in house lawyers, in your will, you better hire a lawyer to phrase the will properly.

A sloppy "10% of my estate" goes to some charitable organisation could force your grieving family to properly audit your asset to ascertain just how much is 10%, and sell your house to raise that 10% if you dont have that much in liquid cash. It's better if you just set aside a sum in separate account or a trust... so you better have a lawyer.

bearkia

Thanks, I just want to make very sure that there is no way my sibling can challenge my will and get a single cent out from me, especially my hdb house.
You might want to consider leaving him a single dollar only, so that your intend is clear and harder to be challenged. Though you wont want to let him to have even a single cent, this might help to protect your legacy.

henrylbh

Might as well state clearly in the will the named beneficiary will inherit every cent of the estate and not a cent is to be given to X however the will may be construed.

reddevil0728

You might want to consider leaving him a single dollar only, so that your intend is clear and harder to be challenged. Though you wont want to let him to have even a single cent, this might help to protect your legacy.
Can also state their name and put $0?

Squaredot

Swee lah, I like this :s19:

Squaredot

If you have made a valid will, your sibling will not succeed in challenging your will whatever the circumstances. You can engage any lawyer to do the will and the cost should be less than $500 if your instructions are simple and clear. Making a will requires you to have in mind at least one executor/executrix and who will know about your will and who can safely keep the will. The law firm can act as witness but to engage the lawyer as executor, you need to pay extra and some lawyer may not even want to act. Nowadays, lawyer also cannot be trusted. Executor can keep the estate to himself. Best is to approach the charitable institution/s that you will donate to to ask for their lawyers to help and you might even get free service including executing the will to the last. Not all your assets will be covered by will eg your CPF. Make a CPF nomination or it will go to your sibling automatically.

My cousin had a will prepared by a law firm on behalf of her mother naming my cousin as the executrix Upon the mother's death she turned to me to find a lawyer to apply for probate. I read the mother's will and it was a mouthful. The will had executrix name wrongly written (and then correction initialed) and she told me that surprisingly her elder sister also had another original identical will of her mother :unsure: I suggested she go back to that lawyer to apply for probate. She said the lawyer not familiar in probate matters :D
OMG OMG :s22:

henrylbh

I say now may cause some to make changes to their will :spin:

What if the testator dies together with all his beneficiaries.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.