• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

fox1

Heh, seems to read like you are gov spokesperson about minimum wage on EDMW.

PS: not saying they don't make sense, just saying these are kind of like gov rationale on minimum wage.

:)

satayxp

but the Pap has alrdy implemented minimum wage leh.. they call it progreesive wage blah blah n implemented it for the cleaning n security industry... so how? Lol

not to mention million dollar minimum wage for pap ministers.

arm4da

sighhh. some policies that work for the whole world just wont work for Singapore according to pap.
many of the countries with minimum wage also have high unemployment rates...
but the Pap has alrdy implemented minimum wage leh.. they call it progreesive wage blah blah n implemented it for the cleaning n security industry... so how? Lol

a "minimum wage" for those 2 industries are necessary because the people who slave in them are underpaid and underappreciated.

Montoya

so you're advocating for 1st world living, 3rd world celery??

Arsene_Wenger

Let me put a nail to this coffin. I am sick of hearing people saying rot about how populist, myopic measures like Minimum Wage will "help the poor" or how "sinkies must help sinkies"

1. Minimum Wage is a broad net to ensure workers get a certain $ per hour.

2. This will invariably rise to cost pressures for businesses. Note that the bedrock of our economy are SMEs. With high rental fees, our businesses will be further stretched.

3. If you apply Minimum Wage to all, even Foreign Workers will be entitled to it. We simply cannot afford it.. Do you want your healthcare costs to further spike? A large part of healthcare workforce comes from 3rd world countries.

4. If you apply Minimum Wage to only Singaporeans, employers will be forced to either employ even Foreigners or resort to some form of automation (not billion dollar Robots)

5. Our country is small, with no natural resources. We survive because of our competitive edge. Minimum Wage wipes off that form of competitiveness.

6. Minimum Wage should not be the target of our generation.. If you are already earning "minimum wage", you should further upgrade your skills / qualifications to earn more than that.

7. " but it helps the poor". This argument holds no water. If you want to help the destitute (eg, family with disabled adults and young schooling children), applying broad minimum wage results in very little direct financial assistance to the intended family. What you should do is have higher taxes for people like Gerald Giam and offer direct subsidies / handouts for families via means testing.

8. Minimum Wage is an extremely myopic but populist campaign topic. It has been used ad nauseum overseas.

9. We are not a resource rich state like Scandinavia or Australia. We simply cannot afford to have minimum wage and YET survive when our ASEAN neighbors are clawing ahead.

10. Before someone kpkb say only PAP ibs put down minimum wage, I am a WP supporter in aljunied for the longest time but I have faith WP core cadre will not support this stupid Gerald Giam's lofty dreams.

Sent from yo momma using GAGT

Selfishhhhhhhhhhhh

tutukueh

Very, very easy to say that, but very, very hard to do. If you are not already aware, the government and ministries have been trying to do that for a long time.

And we do not and cannot survive on wage competitiveness. A big reason why I do not think even high-tech manufacturing is viable here in 20 years' time.

I do not agree that minimum wage is a viable long term solution but the reasons you outlined above are mostly invalid. :o
instead of simply saying they are invalid, could you at least lend some credibility to your statement by pointing out why?

Wealthy2

Its not stupid on advanced economy.

Btw the 2% unemployment is exaggerated. At least 10% under 30 unemployed for more than 6 months.

PAP telling u cannot is for their own agenda of cheap workers.

flybynight

This looks good

357806.gif

Arsene_Wenger

That is called dignity for Minister

CAShop

If U have friends with Maid just ask them if they are willing to pay the maids minimum wage. Case closed

Stoneman

This benefits gov and businesses. What abt the common ppl? A liveable wage please!

RedRedWine

Totally same as u TS but this is edmw such posts are wasted

Here can only discuss things in black and white so the the bashing will continue and can generate post count

Eternal-fire

7. " but it helps the poor". This argument holds no water. If you want to help the destitute (eg, family with disabled adults and young schooling children), applying broad minimum wage results in very little direct financial assistance to the intended family. What you should do is have higher taxes for people like Gerald Giam and offer direct subsidies / handouts for families via means testing.

Explain this, if rich people have higher taxes, then why should overseas companies invest in Singapore if you are charging them skyhigh taxes. Plus why would overseas millionaires want to migrate to SG since it's a tax haven currently?

Without such people how can we progress economically, since now we are overdependent on foreign investments? As you said we have no natural resources, how can we progress from here without foreign investments if they avoid us because of taxes.

So how is having higher taxes for the rich any difference from having a minimum wage?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.