champagne_0910
TL;DR
Can we talk about more important issues like AHPETC?
good attempt at trolling..
+1 for TS nonetheless..
TL;DR
Can we talk about more important issues like AHPETC?
wait, pap again? Seriously? Why don't you tell us Why minimum wage would world for a small, open, global economy like Singapore?sighhh. some policies that work for the whole world just wont work for Singapore according to pap.
many of the countries with minimum wage also have high unemployment rates...sighhh. some policies that work for the whole world just wont work for Singapore according to pap.
a "minimum wage" for those 2 industries are necessary because the people who slave in them are underpaid and underappreciated.but the Pap has alrdy implemented minimum wage leh.. they call it progreesive wage blah blah n implemented it for the cleaning n security industry... so how? Lol
not to mention million dollar minimum wage for pap ministers.
look at this the other way. Some countries have ridiculous minimum wages and hence they have higher job losses.many of the countries with minimum wage also have high unemployment rates...
Let me put a nail to this coffin. I am sick of hearing people saying rot about how populist, myopic measures like Minimum Wage will "help the poor" or how "sinkies must help sinkies"
1. Minimum Wage is a broad net to ensure workers get a certain $ per hour.
2. This will invariably rise to cost pressures for businesses. Note that the bedrock of our economy are SMEs. With high rental fees, our businesses will be further stretched.
3. If you apply Minimum Wage to all, even Foreign Workers will be entitled to it. We simply cannot afford it.. Do you want your healthcare costs to further spike? A large part of healthcare workforce comes from 3rd world countries.
4. If you apply Minimum Wage to only Singaporeans, employers will be forced to either employ even Foreigners or resort to some form of automation (not billion dollar Robots)
5. Our country is small, with no natural resources. We survive because of our competitive edge. Minimum Wage wipes off that form of competitiveness.
6. Minimum Wage should not be the target of our generation.. If you are already earning "minimum wage", you should further upgrade your skills / qualifications to earn more than that.
7. " but it helps the poor". This argument holds no water. If you want to help the destitute (eg, family with disabled adults and young schooling children), applying broad minimum wage results in very little direct financial assistance to the intended family. What you should do is have higher taxes for people like Gerald Giam and offer direct subsidies / handouts for families via means testing.
8. Minimum Wage is an extremely myopic but populist campaign topic. It has been used ad nauseum overseas.
9. We are not a resource rich state like Scandinavia or Australia. We simply cannot afford to have minimum wage and YET survive when our ASEAN neighbors are clawing ahead.
10. Before someone kpkb say only PAP ibs put down minimum wage, I am a WP supporter in aljunied for the longest time but I have faith WP core cadre will not support this stupid Gerald Giam's lofty dreams.
Sent from yo momma using GAGT
instead of simply saying they are invalid, could you at least lend some credibility to your statement by pointing out why?Very, very easy to say that, but very, very hard to do. If you are not already aware, the government and ministries have been trying to do that for a long time.
And we do not and cannot survive on wage competitiveness. A big reason why I do not think even high-tech manufacturing is viable here in 20 years' time.
I do not agree that minimum wage is a viable long term solution but the reasons you outlined above are mostly invalid.![]()
but the Pap has alrdy implemented minimum wage leh.. they call it progreesive wage blah blah n implemented it for the cleaning n security industry... so how? Lol
not to mention million dollar minimum wage for pap ministers.
Gd or not gd
Let them debate it out in parliament instead brushing it aside
7. " but it helps the poor". This argument holds no water. If you want to help the destitute (eg, family with disabled adults and young schooling children), applying broad minimum wage results in very little direct financial assistance to the intended family. What you should do is have higher taxes for people like Gerald Giam and offer direct subsidies / handouts for families via means testing.
Sent from yo momma using GAGT