Should there be a minimum wage?

• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

Dougiehowsia

Precisely why minimum wage is bad. If a cleaner is earning 10 bucks now, and after minimum wage is introduced, the cleaner would rather quit his/her job to work in Macdonalds or give out flyers instead. Because who would want to clean toilets and floors when they can do something simpler and less dirty for the same salary. In the end, Who will takeover those Singapore's cleaner jobs after they all resigned? I certainly hope it would be those Liberals who keep screaming "UNFAIR UNFAIR".

You clean then

.看你的头.

Precisely why minimum wage is bad. If a cleaner is earning 10 bucks now, and after minimum wage is introduced, the cleaner would rather quit his/her job to work in Macdonalds or give out flyers instead. Because who would want to clean toilets and floors when they can do something simpler and less dirty for the same salary. In the end, Who will takeover those Singapore's cleaner jobs after they all resigned? I certainly hope it would be those Liberals who keep screaming "UNFAIR UNFAIR".

You forget that with minimum wage, cleaners will be paid the same 10 bucks per hour

And if you can't find workers at your asking pay, you jolly well increase it and eat the higher costs; this is capitalism

smh

Sure Win Bo?

And lets face it, what is the percentage of revenue used for wages in retail, service sector where skills are more easily learned?

Irrelevant question. It could be 50%, 40% or even a mere 10%, but so what?

All companies are only concerned about making money. You want to force them to earn lesser? Simple, they will take their business elsewhere. Nobody can confirm that by paying $10 per hour to a promoter will net back a $50 renuve anyways. If the promoter doesnt sells a piece of clothe every hour, can his salary be forgone?

spiritual84

The problem with you, ts, is that you don't regard cleaners and low-skilled workers as human. You only care about your own cheap food and cheap stuff

Sent from Juno using GAGT

Sure Win Bo?

You clean then

I will get your dad to clean your mum up after I have finished in her.

.看你的头.;115047235 said:
You forget that with minimum wage, cleaners will be paid the same 10 bucks per hour

And if you can't find workers at your asking pay, you jolly well increase it and eat the higher costs; this is capitalism

smh

So? Did you even read, kumgong?

If a cleaner and a Barista BOTH earns $10 an hour, which idiot would still choose to be a cleaner?

Capitalism your **. I already said, Singapore depends heavily on imports and investors. Who in the right mind will be willing to invest in your country if they already know that it is against their own benefits. You talk so much, why dont you set up companies and start paying your employees a "minimum wage".

Easy talk from a peasant class

Ubi_Warrior

One problem is that you need to pay too much for people doing too simple jobs

Sent from ... using GAGT

Pay too little for required jobs and too much for pen pushers and paper shufflers.

Sent from From an alternative perspective! using GAGT

runicz

If there's min wage introduced, all the cleaners rather go be baristas or serve Macdonalds than doing their lowly job of picking up after others.
Macdonalds and cleaners got so much different meh in terms of pay distance? Do you even know any one working there as full time? If you dont, you shouldnt bother talking abt whats good or bad for them, just make you even more stupid than when you are so mad at me.
I really cannot see how min wage will tempt all the cleaner to jump over the mac donalds and fast food, when they are clearly 2 different industry with different job scope and 2 job that only allows 3 rice bowl per day with completely no QOL.(even in a prosperous singapore)

If a worker's pay were to increase another $3-4, you bear the cost?
What? Again still with your persistent discussion of implementing minwage, means enforcing employers to pay a min of $8-$10? To a point a minwage that result in a double increase in cost of our starbuck?
Really so stupid sia you, till now didnt even see what i was telling you that is irrelevant... :s22:

Bro tell you, a sane person only share similar idea to your nonsensical propaganda when he works at ST.

Typical apolitical moron hehehe. The only way people like you work, go sign up as grassroot. :s13:

samloi

Irrelevant question. It could be 50%, 40% or even a mere 10%, but so what?

All companies are only concerned about making money. You want to force them to earn lesser? Simple, they will take their business elsewhere. Nobody can confirm that by paying $10 per hour to a promoter will net back a $50 renuve anyways. If the promoter doesnt sells a piece of clothe every hour, can his salary be forgone?

Why irrelevant. The question is whether its possible or not possible.
If part 2 of the answer is definite, then why not bring back the slavery system since you cannot guarantee making a profit even with 0dollar wage?

Sure Win Bo?

The problem with you, ts, is that you don't regard cleaners and low-skilled workers as human. You only care about your own cheap food and cheap stuff

You are a ******* dumbass. This has nothing to do with my impression of blue-collared workers. Take your whiny little ass somewhere else to complain.

Ubi_Warrior

QFT

Dont want to pay for services they require. Its laughable how folk look at wages.

Class all jobs that dont need "degree" as useless.

Therefore pay should be peanuts as they havent had to study.

Sent from From an alternative perspective! using GAGT

runicz

You are a ******* dumbass. This has nothing to do with my impression of blue-collared workers. Take your whiny little ass somewhere else to complain.

you just kind of implied your impression with blue-collar is abnormal from a humanised point of view, sub human like u shouldnt discuss politics openly, if you are in USA, you would had been shot. lol

Sure Win Bo?

Macdonalds and cleaners got so much different meh in terms of pay distance? Do you even know any one working there as full time? If you dont, you shouldnt bother talking abt whats good or bad for them, just make you even more stupid than when you are so mad at me.
I really cannot see how min wage will tempt all the cleaner to jump over the mac donalds and fast food, when they are clearly 2 different industry with different job scope and 2 job that only allows 3 rice bowl per day with completely no QOL.(even in a prosperous singapore)

What? Again still with your persistent discussion of implementing minwage, means enforcing employers to pay a min of $8-$10? To a point a minwage that result in a double increase in cost of our starbuck?
Really so stupid sia you, till now didnt even see what i was telling you that is irrelevant... :s22:

Bro tell you, a sane person only share similar idea to your nonsensical propaganda when he works at ST.

Typical apolitical moron hehehe. The only way people like you work, go sign up as grassroot. :s13:

Are you ******* retarded? It's not even about the difference in their pay currently. It is about both of them, after minimum wage, earning the same ******* amount. Who the **** in the right mind will continue being a cleaner? If I am earning $10 an hour washing toilets or picking rubbish, why would I continue such a dirty job when I can be in an air-conditioned fast food restaurant earning the same amount an hour?

Why are you so dumb, can you tell me?

You maths seem to be really poor. I pity your parents wasted their money to send a clown to you to school, when you still cant do simple addition and multiplication :s13::s13::s13:

samloi

As usual, the mother father insults come in again.....lolx

Getting out of this thread

delceer

Implying that plumbers and electricians in Singapore provides cheap services. Not the case. Very often value for money is low, there's no regulation. Standards are non existing. Many older folks get ripped off for shoddy work.

You try to call plumber or electrician at OZ then talk. :s13:

leaving_footsteps

Do you actually know why the Gov is against min wage? Their explanation is very different from yours leh.

runicz

Are you ******* retarded? It's not even about the difference in their pay currently. It is about both of them, after minimum wage, earning the same ******* amount. Who the **** in the right mind will continue being a cleaner? If I am earning $10 an hour washing toilets or picking rubbish, why would I continue such a dirty job when I can be in an air-conditioned fast food restaurant earning the same amount an hour?
Dont talk about blue collar la u inhumane piece of shyt, you know nuts about them
$10 per hour? u sure either one earn anything near that? go suck my dick :s13:

Why are you so dumb, can you tell me?

You maths seem to be really poor. I pity your parents wasted their money to send a clown to you to school, when you still cant do simple addition and multiplication :s13::s13::s13:

look at this inhumane beast, raging with keyboard. :s13:

delceer

Its not that bad.

I change brakepads/rotors myself. Rim/tyre/stereo/headunit also change myself. Servicing i send to agent cause still under warranty.

I can do simple plumbing/electrical/mechanical work also. Bigger jobs need to call certified electrician cause of insurance. I also try to cook myself although its cheaper to just eat out even if it cost like 15dollars per meal. I fly all the time and find that many fresh food gets thrown into the bin.

Really respect you.
I can't do it.
I know nut in DIY.

.看你的头.

So? Did you even read, kumgong?

If a cleaner and a Barista BOTH earns $10 an hour, which idiot would still choose to be a cleaner?

Capitalism your **. I already said, Singapore depends heavily on imports and investors. Who in the right mind will be willing to invest in your country if they already know that it is against their own benefits. You talk so much, why dont you set up companies and start paying your employees a "minimum wage".

Easy talk from a peasant class

Do you even know what you're talking about you numbskull

Basic economics, if demand is greater than supply prices will rise and vice versa; minimum wage only provides a price floor

And if those 'investors' don't give a fucc about worker welfare they can jolly well GTFO and let others take their place

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.