• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

redsparrow

Minimum wage distorts the invisible hand! *gasps*

But in all seriousness, I think there needs to be some safeguards (safety nets?) for the most needy. If not the inequality that results will be extremely destabilising and the whole capitalistic house of cards will come tumbling down.

stillgottheblues

If minimum wage is introduced, that would also mean that things are going to get more expensive. A good example is HongKong where min wage is introduced.

Why do we need to introduce min wage? I guess the main reason is to help the poor to survive. If that is the case, it is more worthwhile to implement different tiers of GST where lower GST (e.g. 3%) is for necessities e.g. rice, veges etc. As for those luxury brands, GST of 10% can be implemented.
It shouldn't be that difficult to implement lower GST for those necessities e.g. rice sold in NTUC since almost every product sold in NTUC has a barcode, where prices are already coded.

We can remove GST for basic necessities but increase luxury stuff to 9%. It's a better solution.

AbsolutelyDaiquiri

I will get your dad to clean your mum up after I have finished in her.

So? Did you even read, kumgong?

If a cleaner and a Barista BOTH earns $10 an hour, which idiot would still choose to be a cleaner?

Capitalism your **. I already said, Singapore depends heavily on imports and investors. Who in the right mind will be willing to invest in your country if they already know that it is against their own benefits. You talk so much, why dont you set up companies and start paying your employees a "minimum wage".

Easy talk from a peasant class

And you're so high class that you make derogatory comments about someone's parents?

Sent from 10 Grimy Digits using GAGT

Mage

You are a ******* retard.

Why do I need to come up with the solutions? I am not the one begging for a minimum wage, unlike the peasants, you being one of them.

Go end your dog life lah :s13:

Why don't you show your qualifications instead of just spouting rubbish and insults from your mouth.

You sound like a classic case of the Dunning-Kruger effect. Probably read wikipedia and think you know everything :s13: :s13:

cherry6

In America, the average minimum wage is 7-8 USD/hour. While a Venti cup of Starbucks costs around 7 USD and a Extra Value Meal at Macdonalds cost about 6 USD.

America is one of the biggest exporters in the world, thus, they can afford to sell Starbucks and Macdonalds at the price of their minimum wage.

In Singapore, almost EVERYTHING is imported. So what should we set the minimum wage to be, like 9-10 SGD? And when we finally have the minimum wage being implemented, should business owners also increase the price of their products? Those sinkies that say no, then explain who should bear the cost of raising their employees' pay?

I believe such sinkies are also expecting ginna pis who are doing simple jobs like working part-time in a mini-mart and giving out flyers to be earning 9-10 SGD an hour? While cleaners and plumbers who are doing menial jobs, earning the same as those ginna pis?

When those who used to earn peanuts for simple part-time jobs are now earning as much as those blue-collared job workers, do you think those blue-collared job workers would still want to continue doing what they are doing?

America is already a good example of how the "minimum wage" has been killing jobs. People who were once lazy to work, are now trying to find easy job that pays them as much as what the rest of the nation are earning, while those who are earning a slightly higher pay, now feels that it's unfair that they are earning as much as the rest who are doing a lot lesser work than them. People are quitting their "professional jobs" to work in jobs that are less taxing for the same pay.

So if you think that minimum wage is good? You must be retarded to think so :s13:

Singapore has minimum wage lah, just that in the case of Singapore, the gahmen is effectively paying for it (by topping up wages to a minimum amount).

Many other means tested t&c apply though.

Singapore also has the Singaporean phantom worker scheme where many employers hire relatives / Singaporeans just to register on employee nominal roll with some salary but minimum work, the man objective being to ba able to employ foreign work permit holders of either an adequate headcount (menial jobs mostly) or else at a work permit levy discount because their SG: foreigner headcount ratio is 'good'.

Sure Win Bo?

And you're so high class that you make derogatory comments about someone's parents?

Sent from 10 Grimy Digits using GAGT

High class? Since when did I make such claims?

It's just that I just dont belong to the same low class as him or you :s13:

Why don't you show your qualifications instead of just spouting rubbish and insults from your mouth.

You sound like a classic case of the Dunning-Kruger effect. Probably read wikipedia and think you know everything :s13: :s13:

Show my qualifications to prove what? That I have more earning power?

Why are you so mad? Because I hit the nail on the head, is your inner peasant acting up?

Sure Win Bo?

Singapore has minimum wage lah, just that in the case of Singapore, the gahmen is effectively paying for it (by topping up wages to a minimum amount).

Many other means tested t&c apply though.

Singapore also has the Singaporean phantom worker scheme where many employers hire relatives / Singaporeans just to register on employee nominal roll with some salary but minimum work, the man objective being to ba able to employ foreign work permit holders of either an adequate headcount (menial jobs mostly) or else at a work permit levy discount because their SG: foreigner headcount ratio is 'good'.

Singapore has minimum wage? Implemented on Foreign Workers sibo? Since when, can show proof bo? MOM's website?

cherry6

Singapore has minimum wage? Implemented on Foreign Workers sibo? Since when, can show proof bo? MOM's website?
https://www.workfare.gov.sg/Pages/CalculatorEmployee.aspx
go key in $800 salary, 40yrs old, employee. Gahmen will give u $50cash and $75 in CPF so final 'salary' is $925 based on this rough example.

Thus, MOM is saying that formally there is no minimum wage law, but MOM will top up wages with tax payer's $$$ so low skill workers don't complain , vote opposition / join union to kpkb and demand minimum wage.

xcodes

I believe such sinkies are also expecting ginna pis who are doing simple jobs like working part-time in a mini-mart and giving out flyers to be earning 9-10 SGD an hour? While cleaners and plumbers who are doing menial jobs, earning the same as those ginna pis?

When those who used to earn peanuts for simple part-time jobs are now earning as much as those blue-collared job workers, do you think those blue-collared job workers would still want to continue doing what they are doing?

Minimum wage can be defined differently depending on different jobs/roles/industry and the skillset required of them ... who say it has to be the same across all categories leh?

#ballislife

i mean obviously min wage will be difficult for a small country like us....even if we are considered a stable developed country.

but.....

for eg....10 yrs ago work as waiter is $8/hr. now don't be surprised quite alot restaurants also pay $8/hr. who knows still got $7 or less even.

so this is fine and all for this type of job....but then now, 10 yrs later, prices of common things like macdonald/movies/transport is not the same lei!

so i feel at least 1 side of the equation has to give........

runicz

just for ur info, you guys are actually debating with fox1's clone, so expect your mum to get dragged in. good luck folks.

i doubt he even have a relevant local diploma in the subject, but wants to act all smart alec like a pro economist making up things no other economist have never discussed about.
i feel so degraded just by reading his wannabe elitist post lol. he thinks im sad becus he scold my mum and how smart he think he is, i just feel that i met a really stupid person. :D

also quite surprised he havent uplorry, spamming report buttons once every few days..

BTW TS, im not even talking to u, so dont u quote me, you silly 90 iq, unlesss u want a few more reports :o

Shdwfalcon

I prefer the existing condition.
Those who never study hard do low level job.
If everyone want to become manager sit inside air con room, who are going to repair electricity, plumbing, collect plate and etc ?
Nope. The real root cause is because technical and skilled jobs are looked down upon, unappreciated, and seen as low class, thus severly underpaid and treated like ****.

This is the reason why Singapore is moving backwards instead of forward, and can never truly progress into the next era.

Rainowar

In America, the average minimum wage is 7-8 USD/hour. While a Venti cup of Starbucks costs around 7 USD and a Extra Value Meal at Macdonalds cost about 6 USD.

America is one of the biggest exporters in the world, thus, they can afford to sell Starbucks and Macdonalds at the price of their minimum wage.

In Singapore, almost EVERYTHING is imported. So what should we set the minimum wage to be, like 9-10 SGD? And when we finally have the minimum wage being implemented, should business owners also increase the price of their products? Those sinkies that say no, then explain who should bear the cost of raising their employees' pay?

America is already a good example of how the "minimum wage" has been killing jobs. People who were once lazy to work, are now trying to find easy job that pays them as much as what the rest of the nation are earning, while those who are earning a slightly higher pay, now feels that it's unfair that they are earning as much as the rest who are doing a lot lesser work than them. People are quitting their "professional jobs" to work in jobs that are less taxing for the same pay.

So if you think that minimum wage is good? You must be retarded to think so :s13:

How much are ah bu nehnehs from india paid to be vp svp?
Pls advise dont always say rainowar stir shiet

Shdwfalcon

Security guards and cleaners.

Progressive Wage Model is a guideline based implementation, aka serve only as a guideline for employers to follow, but employers can always refuse to follow.

Iirc, Singapore's Minimum Wage is enforced, and is not guideline based.

MW can co-exist with PWM, by the way.

kopi22

i mean obviously min wage will be difficult for a small country like us....even if we are considered a stable developed country.

but.....

for eg....10 yrs ago work as waiter is $8/hr. now don't be surprised quite alot restaurants also pay $8/hr. who knows still got $7 or less even.

so this is fine and all for this type of job....but then now, 10 yrs later, prices of common things like macdonald/movies/transport is not the same lei!

so i feel at least 1 side of the equation has to give........
True. Even without minimum wages salaries still won't grow much comparing to inflation. With or without min wages, things are getting more expensive anyways. Sad...

Sent from The Lost HSR using GAGT

satayxp

Isnt america booming now? even trump also take credit for it
mai self pwn reh

Ubi_Warrior

Nope. The real root cause is because technical and skilled jobs are looked down upon, unappreciated, and seen as low class, thus severly underpaid and treated like ****.

This is the reason why Singapore is moving backwards instead of forward, and can never truly progress into the next era.

These are the hard truths!

Sent from From an alternative perspective! using GAGT

Sure Win Bo?

https://www.workfare.gov.sg/Pages/CalculatorEmployee.aspx
go key in $800 salary, 40yrs old, employee. Gahmen will give u $50cash and $75 in CPF so final 'salary' is $925 based on this rough example.

Thus, MOM is saying that formally there is no minimum wage law, but MOM will top up wages with tax payer's $$$ so low skill workers don't complain , vote opposition / join union to kpkb and demand minimum wage.

So, what's your point? It's NOT an enforced law towards Employers.

Sure Win Bo?

Minimum wage can be defined differently depending on different jobs/roles/industry and the skillset required of them ... who say it has to be the same across all categories leh?

What defined differently? Minimum wage is the minimum amount that all employers need to pay their employees. Any Employer can pay they employees as high as they want, as long as it is above they minimum amount that they are required to pay

How much are ah bu nehnehs from india paid to be vp svp?
Pls advise dont always say rainowar stir shiet

What's the purpose of the question? Even if I am able to answer your question, it will have no relevance to the topic

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.