• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

Forever84

We import everything, of course it's more expensive here.

You think their groceries are cheap but that's because it's the supermarket chains which muscle in and under pay farmers is the reason why they can keep it low. Minimum wage for city workers, cheap wage for farmers?

If you like it so much, u r free to migrate, nobody will stop u

Rhinehardt

Are majority of singaporeans willing to give up eating out? Minimum wage will hardly affect the wages of those middle/upper income families, which are the majority of population in Singapore, while substantially increasing the cost of living for them. Not to mention, prices of houses will go up too.

The middle class numbers are lower than you think. A huge percentage of Singaporeans received the previous GST voucher.

Most of the middle income guys are foreigners like Ramesh with dubious degrees, or those who studied here leeching tuition grant and free PR.

Gabriel_23

Here we go again " do you want your mac to costs $20 blah blah blah " strawman argument again...........

Sent from Samsung SM-J5007 using GAGT

PeanutButtor

As long u have pappy cronies spread across sector and resonate with pappy, they are not going to merciful. Listen to kee chiu audio.

Rhinehardt

We import everything, of course it's more expensive here.

You think their groceries are cheap but that's because it's the supermarket chains which muscle in and under pay farmers is the reason why they can keep it low. Minimum wage for city workers, cheap wage for farmers?

If you like it so much, u r free to migrate, nobody will stop u

That’s bs because high rent is causing good and services to be more expensive here instead. Wei you think their Farmers in India or China ah? They have laws to ensure fair compensation.

Rhinehardt

Here we go again " do you want your mac to costs $20 blah blah blah " strawman argument again...........

Sent from Samsung SM-J5007 using GAGT

Also, when I bought Maccas there the prices are about the same as in Singapore. :D

hmsweethm

There should be.

Normally minumum wages are to help and protect the working class people who are uneducated or old folks.
And most employers are maybe SME.
Miw always say cannot have min wages as it reduce sg competitiveness.
They have all the resources to check if the SMEs are profiteering too much and exploiting socially.
Yes business need profits but they also need to be socially responsible.
Then SME bosses kaopeh cannot hire locals and need foreigners.
And hiring foreigners can be further fleece by SME.

Miw should amend those rules such as declaring items such as cars as company operating cost. There should be a limit of charging cars under company operating cost. It’s a loophole.
Pls admit that rental is the main biz cost.
Rental is the killer in business.

It’s time for the million dollar ministers to think out of the box to help the people, instead of only concern of their own salary.

fox1

Ok lah, minimum wage protects low educated workers. Give them at least $20 per hour.

But those earning $3500 etc, may have to wait longer or pay a little more at restaurants as those minimum wage workers will have more disposable income and eat at similar restaurants.

:)

Rhinehardt

Ok lah, minimum wage protects low educated workers. Give them at least $20 per hour.

But those earning $3500 etc, may have to wait longer or pay a little more at restaurants as those minimum wage workers will have more disposable income and eat at similar restaurants.

Frankly illogical argument that paying minimum wage will result in longer waiting times and pay more.

It’s more than likely that you will wait longer and find roaches in your food when you pay people below living wages.

Or shoddy worksmanship when you hire “cheap” bangla

jacko123

Quite obvious TS has ZERO econs knowledge and don't really know what's currently happening to Australia.

fox1

Frankly illogical argument that paying minimum wage will result in longer waiting times and pay more.

It’s more than likely that you will wait longer and find roaches in your food when you pay people below living wages.

Or shoddy worksmanship when you hire “cheap” bangla
Why illogical leh?
You tried buying masks lately?
More money chasing for limited masks. What's the resulting situation?

So if there's minimum wage, means more disposable money to spend on limited goods/services.

Ethan_

Not expert or taking sides, but think think its rather funny to observe that many have quite a negative view of something that have already been in practice and working in other places for so long, kpkb how it would affect their pocket.

Yet they happily and (perhaps) blindly embrace local system many new and bold ideas that successfully bite their pocket hard.

They seems so blind to own issues, yet so busy picking on others' problems. Think mentality wise, many cannot even trust themselves to know what's right, let along their words on others.

Its perhaps little wonder why local system all along (seems) don't trust the people to know what's right, often rather preferred to choose and decide for the people instead. :s22:

Rhinehardt

Why illogical leh?
You tried buying masks lately?
More money chasing for limited masks. What's the resulting situation?

So if there's minimum wage, means more disposable money to spend on limited goods/services.

Yeah right, the pricing of food in restaurants is determined by many factors such as competition besides labour costs, the prime factor is usually rent itself which is excessive and it’s funny that the government isn’t curbing this but chooses to undervalue labour instead.

Rhinehardt

Quite obvious TS has ZERO econs knowledge and don't really know what's currently happening to Australia.

You don’t need to be an economist to recognise what just and right.

And haven’t you read my original post?

. Even former Gic chief economist Lam Keong Yeoh thinks it’s ridiculous not to pay people minimum wage in the most expensive city.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.