JohnnySasaki
If everyone goes for upskilling, then it will be another race to the bottom.
You just wanna talk about minimum wage but don't wanna discuss about the cost. How is this even a discussion? Just begin unreasonable mah. You should cover all angles from demand supply and price tio bo?
As a consumer I gotta right to know if any party implement minimum wage what's the impact on the price mah. I paying more paying less paying more tax paying more GST etc etc etc... the possible effects go on. Like that then can discussion must have analysis.
DON'T ANYHOW ISSUE BLANK CHEQUE LAH... *face palm*
minimum wage wouldn't benefit locals at all
It will primarily benefit those low wage temp migrant workers...
Unless of course you raise the min wage to ridiculously high level, in which case, businesses will collapse
based on the proposal .. min wage for singaporeans only
you cannot abuse and switch to foreigner due to WP quota
the only reason they hire sinkie is because no quota .. if they can switch they would have switch .. with or without min wage

like how ? min wage is for singaporeans only why everyone thinks its for every worker in sg ?
Don't take about increasing cost with a min. Wage? If pay at min. Wage, cost won't increased? I armchio Liao.
To an employer, your cost will increase when garment impose a min. Wage. They can either pass on the cost or just reduce employees or absorb the cost. Long run, biz not efficient will fold up. Hopefully rent will reduce as lesser ppl want to rent. Mkt will start to adjust by itself.
But the leakage is the FW policy. Employers will just hire more FW and reduce sinkies.
Min. Wage is more of showing humanity to low wage workers. Some ppl earn few hundreds in this high cost cty. Whole Singapore might experience higher cost initially but garment will also give out lesser monetary assistance to these ppl.
But garment will lose out hor. Lesser levy to collect! Do garment publish how much levy they collected annually?
minimum wage wouldn't benefit locals at all
It will primarily benefit those low wage temp migrant workers...
Unless of course you raise the min wage to ridiculously high level, in which case, businesses will collapse
How competitive can a business be if it has to employ lowly educated persons by the truckload from the region to the extend that such practices are hailed by the international community as exploitation.
so fast show his true colors alr.
minimum wage is not to give the lower paid employees more money or higher salaries, but to ensure that they are a paid a fair wage
this is recognized by everyone who is talking for or against minimum wage.
the PAP has talked and discussed minimum wages before in parliament and even the newspapers has discussed about it before.
but there has NEVER been any discussion about, if the "cost" of increasing wages should be transferred to the consumer, or anyone besides the employer - simply because it should never be a question about WHO TO TRANSFER THE COST TO
what minimum wage does is to make it illegal to pay your employees a wage that does not allow them to live properly
this is why minimum wage is called minimum wage. it is the lowest amount that an employee can pay their workers.
dun come talk about "increasing costs" simply because if you are paying your employees minimum or above minimum wage, your costs would not have increased at all!
if you are paying your employees below minimum wage, then YOU need to pay your employees more.
even the PAP is able to recognise this and they themselves have stated that singapore does not have minimum wage because it would be set so low that it would be make setting a minimum redundant!
source https://www.ilo.org/global/topics/wages/minimum-wages/definition/WCMS_439072/lang--en/index.htm
https://www.todayonline.com/big-read/perennial-debate-singapore-minimum-wage
https://www.pap.org.sg/news/ge2020-news/why-no-minimum-wage/
He been living overseas for so long. He doesn't know how local conditions are

doesn't make sense though... if a company is looking for a cleaner, foreign worker no min wage vs local worker min wage, of course they'll choose to hire foreignerslike how ? min wage is for singaporeans only why everyone thinks its for every worker in sg ?
min wage will have to expand to all de. all nations doing min wage ish like that. u dun see FW competing with their locals uneccessarily.
their local coys will only switch to FW when really no one takes up the job.