• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

SimilanJ

Wages are not able to be fair at Singapore because there are many who live at Malaysia.
How does one able to compete with someone live and spent with multiplier effect 3x at their hometown?

Also, this is applicable to PR who permanently stay at JB but working as PMET at Singapore.
Their professional able to accept 3k salary (around 9k Malaysia ringgit) and live comfortably, but can Singapore Engineer live comfortably with 3k salary in Singapore? Education cost at Singapore is so much higher, end up those who graduate in Singapore will have much more loan with them as well.

So, I believe PAP must review their policy of allowing PR who permanent stay in JB to work in Singapore.
WP and SP have some levies, which can be further controlled. PR basically treated same as locals, but without those burdens.

I Guess it is only fair if we’re allowed to vote for MP at JB if PAP like to grant PR to JB people.

In short, PAP make it so unfair and implementation of minimum wages is not feasible at Singapore.

~Dragonite~

Explain to me how minimum wage will make the pie bigger, cause it sounds to me like only redistributing the pie, ie zero sum game.

because the pie isn't just 3 people - consumer, worker & business owner

the pie has more than 3 people. other parts of the pie are stuff like
- logistics
- product wastage
- electronic / water / utility bills
- management inefficiencies

minimum wage is just increasing the worker's slice of the pie.

it doesn't mean that just because you increase their slice of the pie you decrease the worker & business owner's slice. it's still possible to decrease wastage in other areas to maintain everyone's slice.

Poomer

My point is I'm coming from neutral side. I'm not saying minimum wage is good or bad. But the argument must cover all angles from demand supply to price. But my gut feel is cost will definitely increase mah. Tio bo? Then who absorp the cost??? You raise $1 sinkies will kpkb. Then I absorp the cost??? Government pay??? Then money fall from sky izzit??? Then 9% GST more kpkb. It's a double whammy loh. That why I said DON'T ANYHOW ISSUE BLANK CHEQUES...

so you feel is right that companies pass costs to consumers but keep quiet when they lower costs and maximise profits by hiring foreigners?

govt already say irregardless, gonna have 9% gst sooner or later.

miketay90

for the middle class, yes the key thing to focus now is how we are going to compete with the world and how locals can have a level playing field.

but for the struggling class earning under 2 or even 3k, i wonder how they survive.

I do not think that the opposition should focus on minimum wage now, as implementing them would not solve the problem, which is the diminishing size of the middle class (of which a portion are SME bosses). Having a minimum wage won't push those at the bottom into the middle class, but instead squeeze the middle class more and further widen the gap between upper class and middle class. At least, that's what I think.

icansing

Let's do something radical n capped the profit of companies at certain percentage..The rest of it goes to staff wages.

This should minimize rich b poor gap. The rich still able to earn money based on revenue n the poor n middle classes will also share the money .

fox1

again answer is simple

1) if costs go up, price goes up, consumer pay higher price. consumers not affected. then obviously sinkies are rich enough yet still always demand cheap stuff.

2) if cost goes up, prices goes up, consumers not willing to pay higher price. profits drop. then management needs to find a way how to keep costs lower without exploiting their lowest wage employees.

3) if costs goes up, prices remain same, consumers not affected. company only earn less profits. who gives a fug?
1. Then consumption level drops
2. Then cashflow level drops
3. Then sustainability level drops

All the above make companies rethink why they take the risks doing business.

Try and see if you understand what I'm saying.

:)

~Dragonite~

1. Then consumption level drops
2. Then cashflow level drops
3. Then sustainability level drops

All the above make companies rethink why they take the risks doing business.

Try and see if you understand what I'm saying.

:)

nope i prefer being a PCW and spewing whatever comes into my head

Shinta

Tldr, misleading argument here guys. Don't waste your time

Sent from Song Bo using GAGT

xiongzzz

Lower Ministers pay, lower FT's pay and govt top up a bit. Like that should be good enough liao.

Sent from Realme RMX1921 using GAGT

Velana

I do not believe "minimum wage" solves problem, the problem is controlling cost.

If we let housing/coe run based on free market, and do not control it, then having minimum wage do not solve anything.

You get more, but you also pay more. what's the point?

liteScribble

I think min wage aint going to help.. look at the countries that have min wage..

We need to look into something more radical like UBI type program where the money comes out from govt. I honestly rather pay more taxes than see the price of coffee increase.

When the govt increase taxes, the not so well to do might not be as affected as the middle and upper class. At the same time coffee remains the same price so they should have more purchasing power.

And sorry to all the andy lau and jeff benzos here.. but we need to tax the whales a hella a lot more.

sanzhu

Dun waste time

Nothing will happen

Status quo remains

Ignore the noise of jam tarts

Shinta

Mp min 15k, u no kp.
Cleaner all these u KP, Jin bo liao ts

Sent from Song Bo using GAGT

Extech

Right now Singapore is actually using the Workforce Income Supplement Scheme (WIS) which goes around the tune of about 300 million/year for over 300k low income Singaporeans aged 35 years and above. Jamus is just arguing for businesses to foot the bill instead of the government to do so.

Poomer

which ish why u need to extend it to all including FW. bring them up to sg standards and compete, not making sinkie go down to their lvl, becos sinkies can never be down to their lvl. u cant fight bolehland 3:1 or tiongs 5:1, they will always settle for lower wages to outdo u.

once u got a blanket min wage, then the ground ish levelled. if u are a coy owner and there ish a sinkie who ish born and breed here, understand the local situation, vs a tiong or **** who just arrived and cant speak local languages? u pay both the same min wage, but u still got to pay extra for levies and lodgings for the tiong or ****?

if u are the boss, which one u choose? the choice ish pretty clear. :s22:

this ish why min wage need to cover all. including FW, make them compete at sg lvl, not their 3:1 or 5:1 lvl. :s22:

the main beneficiary is the 10% lower income group Singaporeans and you want to give half a million foreign maids and construction workers the same benefit? :s22:

theMKR

Cleaning contract, nowadays super competitive la.

Need to put man hours, cleaning supplies and equipment, inspection, QoS....

If u dun meet, kenna fine aka LD.....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.