Wine

hkm520240

anyone keen on a saturday dim sum lunch with wine? i know it's quite impromptu but let me know. it will be a white wine themed lunch. anyone can join in as long as you bring a bottle.

the theme was thinking of was 'Sauvignon Blanc Throwdown'.

I like dim sum but this weekend I have visitors. If is next week I should be able to join.

stayhappy21

ikileo

i edited the excel sheet price list, broke it down by country on each tab, ranked them by price and made a green mark on the ones i think are good wines. these are my opinions and i didn't take price into consideration as we all have different budgets.

but this would be a good time to get some sauvignon blancs for next saturday's dim sum.

download link: Download NWWE 2012 Sales List - Edit.xlsx from Sendspace.com - send big files the easy way

ikileo

I like dim sum but this weekend I have visitors. If is next week I should be able to join.

sure.

Asia Grand - Odeon Towers
Dim Sum Brunch/Lunch
Time: 11.30am
Theme: Sauvignon Blanc Throwdown

Sauvignon Blanc is easily one of the most drunk white wines these days. They are very accessible and approachable wines without breaking the wallet. While NZ has made waves with their SB, we also cannot forget the traditional home of SB which is in the Loire Valley, notably Sancerre & Pouilly Fume. Bordeaux typically blends their SB with semillon to make their bordeaux blancs.

Old world countries like Austria (in small quantities) and Italy also make SB especially in the Friuli region up north. Other than that, SB has found a lot of life in new world countries including Chile and South Africa.

Guidelines
I would like for this Sauvignon Blanc Throwdown to celebrate the diverse range of Sauvignon Blanc with a mix of popular new world producers and old world ones as well, blinded of course.

Whoever is attending (open to all) we would have to confirm the number and split us down the middle so that half brings new world and the other half brings old world. Let's keep it to good producers so kindly avoid all the mass produced SB you see everywhere.

I won't put a price minimum because I would assume that those interested wouldn't bring a generic $25 NZ Sauvignon Blanc.

but this is open to anyone and everyone surfing the forums and you are welcome to bring a +1 (an additional friend) along to join in. your +1 can choose to bring a bottle of SB if he/she likes, but not compulsory.

Please let me know ASAP so i can make a reservation as their dim sum is usually fully booked.

ikileo

any other takers?

so far only got hkm & starhappy. would like to get more.

looiwte

I should be ok for that.

Btw anyone want to pool for a case of the Rioja offer by WEA?
I want two.

Let me know by today then.

Btw Cornerstone are having many pre-arrival offers on good Italian producers.
I don't order from them often due to unfavourable location and hours, but don't think I can resist this time:

Quintarelli (Veneto / Amarone)
Brigaldara (Veneto / Amarone)
Biondi Santi (Montalcino / Brunello)
Altesino (Montalcino / Brunello)

momo38

I should be ok for that.

Btw anyone want to pool for a case of the Rioja offer by WEA?
I want two.

Let me know by today then.

Btw Cornerstone are having many pre-arrival offers on good Italian producers.
I don't order from them often due to unfavourable location and hours, but don't think I can resist this time:

Quintarelli (Veneto / Amarone)
Brigaldara (Veneto / Amarone)
Biondi Santi (Montalcino / Brunello)
Altesino (Montalcino / Brunello)

I will take 2 bottles of rioja. Anyone else?

ikileo

give me a bottle of rioja too if we can make the minimum 6. i wanna see how they compare with more traditional rioja producers.

ok i'll put u down for the dim sum. got +1?

hi momo, you wanna join us for the dim sum?

momo38

give me a bottle of rioja too if we can make the minimum 6. i wanna see how they compare with more traditional rioja producers.

ok i'll put u down for the dim sum. got +1?

hi momo, you wanna join us for the dim sum?

Cant join for dimsum as have plans liao.
Maybe ur burger event? Or is thatnover :)

hkm520240

That Rioja - Bodegas Darien Reserva was featured in March Decanter Panel tasting and scooped the Decanter award at highest score of 19pts with a list price of £13.50-£13.59. So I think the selling price here is on the high side and I am little doubtful if it deserve such a high rating. Well I will take 1 bottle (so we can meet the 6 bottles order?) to find out myself.

For next Sat dim sum I will have +1 (non wine drinker)

ikileo

That Rioja - Bodegas Darien Reserva was featured in March Decanter Panel tasting and scooped the Decanter award at highest score of 19pts with a list price of £13.50-£13.59. So I think the selling price here is on the high side and I am little doubtful if it deserve such a high rating. Well I will take 1 bottle (so we can meet the 6 bottles order?) to find out myself.

For next Sat dim sum I will have +1 (non wine drinker)

stuff is always expensive here in SG unfortunately. i did a rough calculation. by the time you convert to SGD, add GST and alcohol tax, it's about $36+ even before shipping and retailer margins. so i feel it's about there lah.

on a side note, i drank my 2006 LE SUGHERE
DI FRASSINELLO, which is the 2nd wine of the Rocca di Frassinello in Maremma, Tuscany.

I drank their 3rd wine last year and loved it so much and this was no different. it tasted on some level similar to the 3rd wine but this was more structured and more depth.

Sangiovese 50%, Cab 25%, merlot 25%. the sangio character comes out a lot more. very delicious and reflects the terroir of the place with beautiful olive and red fruit characters.

drank it at Pietro Italiano Ristorante on Jalan Kelulut near Jalan Kayu. Relatively new place. this was the chef who used to help Buono in serangoon gardens, but now got his own place. moderate prices, daily specials and delicious food. I would highly recommend the place. corkage is waived for the first 2 bottles if your tables has a total bill of $100 (which is easy to hit as long as u get a starter and main and dessert). the subsequent bottles will be at $20.

their wine list is not very marked up either.

u can buy the Rocca di Frassinello wines from one of my fave distributors 'Water & Wine'. you can email them for their price list. I believe the 2nd and 3rd Rocca di Frassinello wines were around $50 or under.

looiwte

OK we have a case! Orders went through, will notify once stocks arrive.

Yeah, sometimes when comparing overseas prices I tend to sian x 1/2. And most of time nobody even brings in these smaller labels for us to try. So I'm thankful for small mercies :) And let some of the more adventurous importers earn a bit.

Hmm, not tried Rocca di Frassinello wines, quite medium-sized producer in Maremma, slightly south and further inland than Bolgheri. They have the same owner as Castellare di Castellina in Chianti Classico, and this project is a collaboration with Lafite. Sounds interesting, I find Sangio + Bordeaux blends tend to be dominated by the Bordeaux varieties in the early stages.

ikileo

the wine on tap looks interesting, plus its a white wine with skin contact, hence the orangue hue!

on a side note: who went down to the Crystal wine fair? how was it?

Recap on dim sum lunch/brunch this coming sat.
- ikileo +1
- ikileo friend
- hkm +1
- looiwte +1
- starhappy

current at 8 pax. we can get another 2 more if anyone else is interested.

ikileo

OK we have a case! Orders went through, will notify once stocks arrive.

Yeah, sometimes when comparing overseas prices I tend to sian x 1/2. And most of time nobody even brings in these smaller labels for us to try. So I'm thankful for small mercies :) And let some of the more adventurous importers earn a bit.

yup do let us know when to transfer the funds to you. actually whatever price u see overseas, just multiply by 1.07 (GST), plus $8 for alcohol tax. Per unit shipment in reefer air conditioned containers would be about $1 per bottle. Then add the margins of importer and retailer. It's about there loh...

Hmm, not tried Rocca di Frassinello wines, quite medium-sized producer in Maremma, slightly south and further inland than Bolgheri. They have the same owner as Castellare di Castellina in Chianti Classico, and this project is a collaboration with Lafite. Sounds interesting, I find Sangio + Bordeaux blends tend to be dominated by the Bordeaux varieties in the early stages.

yup, so far i've had good experiences with this producer, which was also one of my first maremma wines. the sangio does come out more for the Le Sughere and its 3rd wine i drank last year.

yamashita

Just a notice to thread participants here, no discussion of commercial nature, e.g. selling, buying, mass ordering, is allowed in The 'Makan' Zone.

The rules and regulations for the forum is 'sticked' on the first page and I assume all forum users are aware of it.

Any violation of the rules and regulations will lead to account infraction and repeated infraction will lead to suspension of forum privileges.

ikileo

Just a notice to thread participants here, no discussion of commercial nature, e.g. selling, buying, mass ordering, is allowed in The 'Makan' Zone.

The rules and regulations for the forum is 'sticked' on the first page and I assume all forum users are aware of it.

Any violation of the rules and regulations will lead to account infraction and repeated infraction will lead to suspension of forum privileges.

hi yamash|ta, thanks for the reminder.

are we then allowed to post discounts/lobangs that we find? because i think this is something the wine community is always looking out for.

on aside note, do you enjoy wine?

looiwte

Oops sorry yama****a for the infraction. Will be more prudent next time.

I think sharing lobangs should be ok, as long as it is obvious you are not a merchant.
For MO next time we should just go by PM.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.