Wireless IP Camera thread

IntimacyR

do contact us at 65623390, we assist u over remote after office hours.

Thumbs up for marix post sales support. Off office hours, forget to get the guy's name, helped me patiently, explained step by step on how to go about setting up the wireless and realized that it's my SSID with "&" that caused the problem. Thank you for the effort!!

user109s

Jovision IPcam Issue

My cousin bought a Jovision IPcam H300 because he was told no setup is needed. He couldn't set it up and questions went to no answer from the sales guy. For few weeks, no goal to get it works so I borrow his IPcam to check. I have 4 different brands of IPcam and believe me, I lost of a lot hair initially to set them up. :s42:

So I thought it shall be easy to setup this "bug" also. Well, I was seriously wrong because this "bug" is nothing that I see before.. The common IPcam's setting will has ip address & ports. I'm sure most of you know what I'm talking about.

The Jovision H300 uses cloud technology which is similar to Dlink, I think. I first time see this type, and yes you can static the ip and that's it, NO port! The only so call port is called "cloudEE media port" and its port value is nothing other ports can input. Because the value simply too high.

I have pulled my hair again to set it up. For about a week I tried, I found it's software is proprietary. As usual, it has its own search tool to config the ipcam. I left it most of the setting at default. I used its own apk app to setup on my Samsung S4. The setup is simple, in theory you only need the device ID, user name & pswd and that's it.

I have tried to connect it with my S4 and it didn't work, even though with a new version app from Jovision site. I also tried "Ipcam viewer" and others, they will not work on H300.

I found out only windows PC & laptop run w/o problem. I connected the H300 to my laptop with a 3G router. I used my PC to setup and installed its client software. Wa lah.. I can see the picture of the cam. This is the only successful setup but all in windows environment.

I thought may be, just may be the H300 Android app is not compatible with Jellybean. Well, I tried it on my Samsung S2 and same problem, couldn't login.

Anyone has successful get the cloud IPcam works? For example Dlink? :s12:

mg_lim

Any bought Sineoji PT331V ?
I test the response very fast almost no lag.
I bought the PT331V at Sitex. Following are problems I encountered:
1. Alarm will stop randomly after working fine for some hours (happened 3 times in 7 days).
2. Alarm triggered video recording worked once and never work again, even after rebooting and resetting to factory default.
3. Video recording will stop when SD card is full and the previously recorded video files cannot be seen in the video browser window. Need to reboot camera to restart recording and see the previously recorded file list again.

I have sent a few emails to Sineoji support but they do not seem to be able to answer my problems.

My recommendation: don't buy from unknown brands and newly released products! My lesson learned: buy only well reviewed products.

user109s

See if you can ask for a replacement, it shall still under warranty. I think Challenger is selling this brand.

cptow1

1. Alarm will stop randomly after working fine for some hours (happened 3 times in 7 days).
2. Alarm triggered video recording worked once and never work again, even after rebooting and resetting to factory default.
3. Video recording will stop when SD card is full and the previously recorded video files cannot be seen in the video browser window. Need to reboot camera to restart recording and see the previously recorded file list again.

I have sent a few emails to Sineoji support but they do not seem to be able to answer my problems.

My recommendation: don't buy from unknown brands and newly released products! My lesson learned: buy only well reviewed products.

Thanks for the info.

I have a vstarcam T7838WIP for sale......less than one month old.
Anyone Interested let me know.

geckoSG

Lemon set perhaps, ask for replacement. But thanks for your review on the product.

salmonella

Hi. I'm new to ip cameras, and need one to monitor baby.

From the last two pages, is the vstarcam t8738wip model recommended for this?

I see that local distributor-supported models are 179 at challenger. And I see someone trying to organise a mass order slightly cheaper at 16x. But how does the mo work out when the camera is available on qoo10 for 13x?

Are there any other recommended models?

geckoSG

Hi. I'm new to ip cameras, and need one to monitor baby.

From the last two pages, is the vstarcam t8738wip model recommended for this?

I see that local distributor-supported models are 179 at challenger. And I see someone trying to organise a mass order slightly cheaper at 16x. But how does the mo work out when the camera is available on qoo10 for 13x?

Are there any other recommended models?

Qoo10 r non recognised sellers, local distro n factory wouldn't give any support or info if you call them. I m doing MO based on 50 units quota tat I need to fulfill from distro of mixed models. Anyway, i've reached my MO is closed as I've consolidated enuff buyers. So, you can get from Challenger or Distro at their published pricing.

Normally MO requires a commitment of quantity, if you cannot reach that quantity, you do not get that pricing, its as simple as tat for MO.

:)

orpisia

Emeritus Honorary Member
hi, what kind of camera can i install as surveillance for hdb corridor?

geckoSG

Make sure u get either hdb or town council approval first. Can't remember which one. U need something waterproof. Indoors will have higher chances of short circuiting if u r exposed to rain droplets. With extreme weathers nowsaday, dun play play

salmonella

Qoo10 r non recognised sellers, local distro n factory wouldn't give any support or info if you call them. I m doing MO based on 50 units quota tat I need to fulfill from distro of mixed models. Anyway, i've reached my MO is closed as I've consolidated enuff buyers. So, you can get from Challenger or Distro at their published pricing.

Normally MO requires a commitment of quantity, if you cannot reach that quantity, you do not get that pricing, its as simple as tat for MO.

:)

Oh, were your units supported by local distributor?

salmonella

Aside from the vstarcam 8738wip, what other makes/models are recommended for monitoring baby? Wants:
Remote Android phone/tablet support
Motion detection
Ptz
Dunno what else.

Or is there an ip camera mart where we can go and test the different models?

Dr_ARCHer

Aside from the vstarcam 8738wip, what other makes/models are recommended for monitoring baby? Wants:
Remote Android phone/tablet support
Motion detection
Ptz
Dunno what else.

Or is there an ip camera mart where we can go and test the different models?

You need to be a little more specific about your usage. Monitoring of baby.... is he/she a newborn? Are you looking to monitor the baby from work or home? Is it daytime or nighttime monitoring? Are you monitoring the cot severe the baby sleeps or the room where you baby can crawl? Do you want to record the images as moving video?

I have well over 30 different cameras and all can suffice as baby monitors. However they all have different capabilities. Some allows you to view in total darkness, requiring you to have an IR light source. Others come with an in-built IR light source. Some has pan and tilt capability. Others are fixed view only. Some has optical zoom. Others have digital zoom only. Some allows recording to NAS. Some records to an SD card.

I started using IP cameras as a replacement of the audio only baby monitor when my eldest daughter was born. She is now over 7 years old. And this has become a hobby bordering on obsession.

salmonella

You need to be a little more specific about your usage. Monitoring of baby.... is he/she a newborn? Are you looking to monitor the baby from work or home? Is it daytime or nighttime monitoring? Are you monitoring the cot severe the baby sleeps or the room where you baby can crawl? Do you want to record the images as moving video?

I have well over 30 different cameras and all can suffice as baby monitors. However they all have different capabilities. Some allows you to view in total darkness, requiring you to have an IR light source. Others come with an in-built IR light source. Some has pan and tilt capability. Others are fixed view only. Some has optical zoom. Others have digital zoom only. Some allows recording to NAS. Some records to an SD card.

I started using IP cameras as a replacement of the audio only baby monitor when my eldest daughter was born. She is now over 7 years old. And this has become a hobby bordering on obsession.

Thanks! Part of the problem is that I don't know enough to answer the right questions. So:
- Newborn
- monitor at home (night) and at work (day)
- for now, baby sleeps in a cot. But it won't take long before she's out and about. I figure that I might as well get a camera that will continue working... unless the recommendation is otherwise
- in future when it is no longer required as a baby monitor, perhaps it can be reused to monitor the driveway
- record to nas or using Foss software is preferred; my nas runs debian Linux.

Once again, thanks!

Dr_ARCHer

Thanks! Part of the problem is that I don't know enough to answer the right questions. So:
- Newborn
- monitor at home (night) and at work (day)
- for now, baby sleeps in a cot. But it won't take long before she's out and about. I figure that I might as well get a camera that will continue working... unless the recommendation is otherwise
- in future when it is no longer required as a baby monitor, perhaps it can be reused to monitor the driveway
- record to nas or using Foss software is preferred; my nas runs debian Linux.

Once again, thanks!

For newborn, IR capability is probably most important as you want to be able to view your baby in complete darkness. Newborn means the baby is unlikely to be up and about for the next few months, so a fixed lens IP camera will suffice. However, one with pan and tilt may be more 'future' proof as you can pan/tilt it and be able to have a wider field of view.

I never found a need to record to NAS/memory card. This is because I use it more to check on my kids at specific times e.g. before school, while having lunch/dinner etc. Some people used it as a surveillance camera and record to NAS/memory cards for review later.

The more important thing is not about the camera but about the baby. One golden rule is to 'train' the baby to be able to fall asleep with someone being around. You find that once the baby can do that, it frees up your wife/your time to do other things. The camera allows you to be in another room and yet still able to see what your baby is doing. Also 'train' the baby progressively over the first few weeks/months so that there is no need for the night feed. Once the baby doesn't need the night feed, you find that an uninterrupted sleep through the night is definitely heavenly.

P.S. Most IP cameras with IR and PT functionality are similar, with the differences usually down to the recording functionality (NAS/memory card/none) and the mobile app. I use a 3rd party app called IP Cam Viewer that can work with almost all different brands/models of IP cameras.

P.P.S. If your wife is breast-feeding, she should observe her diet. Older folks like the new mothers to take plenty of ginger and spices, but these might get into the milk. So try to breast-feed first before taking the meals.

geckoSG

Oh, were your units supported by local distributor?

Yupz. My pricing is based on MO of 50 units. Anything less, dun expect them to give it to you at same price. Your best option will be challenger. My price is also due to me being an old customer of their company. They r the only local company that I know tat do full product test and get people like myself to test the products prior to launch/sell in SG. Not everything they will sell unless it works.

If you want to test, marix have online demos on low bandwidth. or u can visit them for a demo, funan n vivocity have demo units too. U can test other brands side by side.

NAS recording wise, VStarcam can't do it for sure. But their NVR is officially launch I heard by end of this year.

salmonella

Yupz. My pricing is based on MO of 50 units. Anything less, dun expect them to give it to you at same price.

Thanks. I'm not going to buy many cameras (start with 1; probably at *most* 3) so not very price sensitive if the camera is in the $17x range. More important to get the right one, I think.

For newborn, IR capability is probably most important as you want to be able to view your baby in complete darkness. Newborn means the baby is unlikely to be up and about for the next few months, so a fixed lens IP camera will suffice. However, one with pan and tilt may be more 'future' proof as you can pan/tilt it and be able to have a wider field of view.

I never found a need to record to NAS/memory card. This is because I use it more to check on my kids at specific times e.g. before school, while having lunch/dinner etc. Some people used it as a surveillance camera and record to NAS/memory cards for review later.

The more important thing is not about the camera but about the baby. One golden rule is to 'train' the baby to be able to fall asleep with someone being around. You find that once the baby can do that, it frees up your wife/your time to do other things. The camera allows you to be in another room and yet still able to see what your baby is doing. Also 'train' the baby progressively over the first few weeks/months so that there is no need for the night feed. Once the baby doesn't need the night feed, you find that an uninterrupted sleep through the night is definitely heavenly.

P.S. Most IP cameras with IR and PT functionality are similar, with the differences usually down to the recording functionality (NAS/memory card/none) and the mobile app. I use a 3rd party app called IP Cam Viewer that can work with almost all different brands/models of IP cameras.

P.P.S. If your wife is breast-feeding, she should observe her diet. Older folks like the new mothers to take plenty of ginger and spices, but these might get into the milk. So try to breast-feed first before taking the meals.

Lots of great info; much appreciated. Yes, IR and PTZ sound like good to add to the requirements. So, I just need to look for a HD camera with IR, PTZ, and good support for my smartphone/tablet viewing devices.

Which models do you think should make my shortlist?

I don't have any windows computers at home. If I need to record in future, do you know if there are any that support other softwre, like Linux?

Fuzzywuz

Hi Bro,
My friend installed many EasyN H3-186A. Very good picture quality and motion detection recording with sound. Also suitable for multiview on iphone and android. I suggest you call EasyN Singapore.

geckoSG

Salmonella, try to test out the demos yourself before you buy, thats my advise to everyone who wants an IP Camera. Check out distributors' product sites, etc. See the information they post online, if they dare to post real live streaming of a product, you can't be wrong about what you will get if you buy. Thats how I look at things. Like cars, you test drive it before you actually buy it.

BTW, avoid putting IR cameras within 5 metres to the baby. Try ceiling mount or to the further end of the table, I ain't fancy the power of the IR on these cameras.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.