Xiaomi Mi 5!

audiovideo

Singapore market is too small and saturated for them to expect an explosive growth, at most can be a testing market for their products.

Singapore market position is not about Big, is about quality
We have high concentration of rich people
so if a brand wana test the market, SG is a good choice of what rich people want. :D
looks like xiaomi might have been put off by the fact that there are too many ignorant in SG thinking rotten fruit means atas ... a serious sinkee mistake and sad reality

wildfaye29

Mi5 was approved by IDA in mid/late Feb, 1 mth aft Redmi Note 3.

Lets hope it goes on sale on 1st Wed of May.

animeonegai

Mi5 was approved by IDA in mid/late Feb, 1 mth aft Redmi Note 3.

Lets hope it goes on sale on 1st Wed of May.

please don't kid yourself. what are the chances of you getting it by then?

By then the hype has died down and all switched to import from elsewhere. :s13:

warr

Many People here care about face more, thus brand, but have little indepth knowledge. Plus, the lack of adventurous spirit and being different won't do well for xiaomi. And that anti-chinese mindset. Chinese brand like Huawei xiaomi has good potential. Think about Samsung LG 15 years ago, people looked at them the same as they do to chinese brands now. Personally i think Huawei has better potential. It also designs its own chipset. just a matter of time after RnD bears fruit and good marketing improvrs its image.

audiovideo

Many People here care about face more, thus brand, but have little indepth knowledge.

but why so many youngsters also go for rotten fruit?
all kena brain wash badly.
even folks in IT, also kena spell :s22:
they know they are stupid to fall for it, though they also paiseh if kena questioned... but still they helpless

old folks or young students can say .. "don't know leh, people say good so I buy lor" .... but what about the adults?

cscs3

Many People here care about face more, thus brand, but have little indepth knowledge. Plus, the lack of adventurous spirit and being different won't do well for xiaomi. And that anti-chinese mindset. Chinese brand like Huawei xiaomi has good potential. Think about Samsung LG 15 years ago, people looked at them the same as they do to chinese brands now. Personally i think Huawei has better potential. It also designs its own chipset. just a matter of time after RnD bears fruit and good marketing improvrs its image.

You say it all. Look at good quality product 1 to 2 years back like Redmi 1, 1s and power bank. These are gone now a day. It is just reverse situation like Samsung, Huawei.

joetan84

Hi Guys, Just got myself the 32gb version but LTE on Starhub is highly unstable. It keeps getting disconnected. This does not happen if I stay on the 3G network. Any bros have any idea why is this happening?

denilson

Hi Guys, Just got myself the 32gb version but LTE on Starhub is highly unstable. It keeps getting disconnected. This does not happen if I stay on the 3G network. Any bros have any idea why is this happening?

change apn to shwap?

thewiseone

Its due to the firmware. With 7.2.6 u can still get 4G. Now at 7.2.8 I can only get 3G. This is a known issue reported at the official forum.

joetan84

Its due to the firmware. With 7.2.6 u can still get 4G. Now at 7.2.8 I can only get 3G. This is a known issue reported at the official forum.

:( shouldn't have hand itchy update the firmware. Wasted $30 to get my sim card replaced :(

thewiseone

Me too but I spent $8 instead for a prepaid SIM card to ascertain if my SIM card is faulty.

We will just have to be patient and wait for Xiaomi to fix this issue in future firmware releases.

:( shouldn't have hand itchy update the firmware. Wasted $30 to get my sim card replaced :(

cscs3

Me too but I spent $8 instead for a prepaid SIM card to ascertain if my SIM card is faulty.

We will just have to be patient and wait for Xiaomi to fix this issue in future firmware releases.

It can take very long just like those problem in Redmi note 2 and note 3!

amazingone

India's Mi 5 pricing~
RUXdncgl.jpg

Sent from my Rice phone using GAGT

1 Ghz

The Chinese Xiaomi website explicitly mentions full netcom 3.0 which supports concurrent 4G/3G-voice, after the section on HD Voice.

http://www.mi.com/mi5/features

全网通 3.0 提升双卡信号质量

在全网通 3.0 时代到来前,每每进入网络覆盖不佳的区域时,主卡的通话质量尚且稳定清晰,副卡的表现却往往不尽人意。新的全网通 3.0 改变这一现状,当主卡支持移动、联通 4G 网络,副卡突破性的支持联通 3G 网络语音通话,双卡双待的通话信号质量因此有了更好的表现。

However, the Indian website doesn't mention concurrent 4G/3G-voice at all at http://www.mi.com/in/mi5/tech even though that particular page is clearly meant to be an equivalent version of the Chinese webpage.

Furthermore, it looks like the Chinese and Indian models support slightly different network bands. The Indian model drops CDMA support in exchange for FDD-LTE B5 band.

Chinese:

FDD-LTE (频段 B1,B3,B7)
TD-LTE (频段 B38,B39,B40,B41)
TD-SCDMA (频段 B34,B39)
WCDMA (频段 B1,B2,B5,B8)
GSM (频段 B2,B3,B5,B8)
CDMA1X/EVDO (频段 BC0)

Indian:

FDD-LTE: B1 / B3 / B5 / B7
TD-LTE: B38 / B39 / B40 / B41
TD-SCDMA: 1900 / 2000MHz
WCDMA: 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100MHz
GSM: 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900MHz

So we know hardware-wise, the Chinese and Indian models are different. I'm wondering if the international model of the Mi5 (assuming it's the same as the Indian one) will also allow concurrent 4G/3G-voice, or if it's only specific to the Chinese model?

If only the Chinese model supports concurrent 4G/3G-voice, this then raises the question of whether the global ROM itself will support this feature, or would we have to stick with the Chinese ROM and all its problems like missing Playstore? :(

cscs3

The Chinese Xiaomi website explicitly mentions full netcom 3.0 which supports concurrent 4G/3G-voice, after the section on HD Voice.

http://www.mi.com/mi5/features

全网通 3.0 提升双卡信号质量

在全网通 3.0 时代到来前,每每进入网络覆盖不佳的区域时,主卡的通话质量尚且稳定清晰,副卡的表现却往往不尽人意。新的全网通 3.0 改变这一现状,当主卡支持移动、联通 4G 网络,副卡突破性的支持联通 3G 网络语音通话,双卡双待的通话信号质量因此有了更好的表现。

However, the Indian website doesn't mention concurrent 4G/3G-voice at all at http://www.mi.com/in/mi5/tech even though that particular page is clearly meant to be an equivalent version of the Chinese webpage.

Furthermore, it looks like the Chinese and Indian models support slightly different network bands. The Indian model drops CDMA support in exchange for FDD-LTE B5 band.

Chinese:

FDD-LTE (频段 B1,B3,B7)
TD-LTE (频段 B38,B39,B40,B41)
TD-SCDMA (频段 B34,B39)
WCDMA (频段 B1,B2,B5,B8)
GSM (频段 B2,B3,B5,B8)
CDMA1X/EVDO (频段 BC0)

Indian:

FDD-LTE: B1 / B3 / B5 / B7
TD-LTE: B38 / B39 / B40 / B41
TD-SCDMA: 1900 / 2000MHz
WCDMA: 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100MHz
GSM: 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900MHz

So we know hardware-wise, the Chinese and Indian models are different. I'm wondering if the international model of the Mi5 (assuming it's the same as the Indian one) will also allow concurrent 4G/3G-voice, or if it's only specific to the Chinese model?

If only the Chinese model supports concurrent 4G/3G-voice, this then raises the question of whether the global ROM itself will support this feature, or would we have to stick with the Chinese ROM and all its problems like missing Playstore? :(

Believe this is control by firmware and not hardware?

audiovideo

3GB + 32GB?

ok for me
survive with my G2 2GB 32GB for 2yrs+
have to look at the price

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.