Xiaomi Mi Max

Oinkize

Pua ** I collected my 64gb version from simder, brought home run cpu-z. It shows sd 650, how arh?

Knn now i need to go and download and check see if got kena cheated!!!

Ps but processor showing octa core wor... 650 is just hexa core right?

deuces

11kf6g5.jpg

fawq2w.jpg

bosses, so is 652?

pilico

Those who use simder phone with modified rom 7.3.14. Did your phone crash(restart) without any reason?

My phone crashes 5-7 times within 5days, i have no idea what is causing it as it happened with different scenerios.

Don't know whether it is a hardware or software issue.

lumpyme

i performed the miui 8 upgrade to latest version then after that all links opened in chrome browser will automatically divert to open in xiaomi browser

reset the defaults, set back and reboot
now whenever i press home, instead of using google now launcher it launches xiaomi launcher

reverting back to miui 7.

maxlovely

Better flash to official China now. It takes less than 30 mins

Those who use simder phone with modified rom 7.3.14. Did your phone crash(restart) without any reason?

My phone crashes 5-7 times within 5days, i have no idea what is causing it as it happened with different scenerios.

Don't know whether it is a hardware or software issue.

Oinkize

I think many pages back, some members had mentioned it but never show method. OK la, I will do up the steps now for the benefits for all members.

Basically it is to put the phone to EDL mode (Emergency download mode) and flash using miflash beta. I believe the shops do it this way to flash the phone to "global rom". OK info as per below.....

==============================================
NOTE: TRY AT YOUR OWN RISK.

1. Download the preferred official fastboot from for the XiaoMi MI Max.

2. Download and install the official miphone aka miflash from here. This will install the neccessary drivers for detection.

3. Download and install the miflash beta from here. This will be used for flashing the fastboot rom. The installer will installed as XiaoMiFlash

4. Unzip the fastboot rom

5. Run the XiaoMiFlash as administrator. Click on select and point it to the root folder of the unzipped fastboot rom. e.g. C:\fastboot_rom_folder_name. After that on the bottom right, check on "clean all" options.

6. On your phone, get to developer mode to enable USB debugging. This step might not be necessary though, but before my phone gotten into boot loop after flashing from Mi PC suite, i did enable.

7. Turn off your phone. Press and hold vol+, vol- and power button to get to EDL mode. Note that the screen will not show anything, you will know it has power on as it will have vibration upon bootup.

8. Connect phone to PC, wait for it to detect and install the necessary drivers. Refresh on XiaoMiFlash and your phone should show up, e.g. COM1. If it does not show up, try refreshing a few times, else disconnect and reconnect your phone.

9. Click on flash and wait. This part a bit scary, you can only see the progress on your computer as the phone screen won't show anything!!

10. After success, unplug and reboot your phone by holding on to the power button. The phone will be setting up itself to the new rom. After which, enjoy the newly flash rom.

==============================================

Cheers!

Will this work from the modified global ROM to the new rom?

Will all data be wiped?

maxlovely

So long the rom on the device has edl mode, you can enter edl mode to flash to any rom.
Data will be wipe.
Edl is Emergency download mode.

Will this work from the modified global ROM to the new rom?

Will all data be wiped?

Oinkize

So long the rom on the device has edl mode, you can enter edl mode to flash to any rom.
Data will be wipe.
Edl is Emergency download mode.

Thank you for the reply.

I shall wait for the global beta miui 8 and then flash...

11th July.

9 more days!!!

Oinkize

Yesterday just applied for bootloader unlocking.
If approve liao i straight flash.
Hope this is a software problem.

Need to unlock bootloader to flash using the steps shown a few posts above?

i1magic

Can be done.. Mine ex Sony z ultra is thinner and not so bendable

Z Ultra is Sony's flagship Z-series lineup leh, of course they will integrate some good materials in it and Sony emphasizes on quality built-quality too.

Sent from my Rice phone using GAGT

To be fair. If Mi Max were to be thicker, it'll not sell well liao. Because the feeling when using it will be bad.

So to make the experience using the phone good, it has to be thin enough, due to the screen size.

To make a thin object (with internal component) able to resist bending, it'll be a very difficult task. To make it stronger, will need to increase material used, which will compromise other aspect.

If the phone is bent and it stays bent, then jialat liao. But if it can get back to original state, personally I find ok.

I already said, bendable but flexible is ok.

Sony Z Ultra bend test :

I think anybody uses enough strength will be able to bend and break any phone. So flexible is good.

I also want to rephrase to make a think item resistance to bending and yet have to balance all the functional features + low cost, will be a big challenge.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.