Xiaomi MiTV2 help

ferocity

Interested in getting the mitv 3 60 inch but can anybody explain to me how the mitv bar functions? Since all the connectors and ports are on the bar itself, does it mean the tv does not work as a standalone without the bar? I have my own home theatre system and separate android tv box, so i really dont need the tv bar at all. But if the mitv only works when connected to the bar, then it renders my HT and tv box redundant.

Lobang.Queen

Interested in getting the mitv 3 60 inch but can anybody explain to me how the mitv bar functions? Since all the connectors and ports are on the bar itself, does it mean the tv does not work as a standalone without the bar? I have my own home theatre system and separate android tv box, so i really dont need the tv bar at all. But if the mitv only works when connected to the bar, then it renders my HT and tv box redundant.

you connect your HT and TV box via the sound bar. The connectors and ports are all on the bar just so that the TV panel can be made as slim as possible so when you mount it on your wall or furniture, only the main signal/power cable is seen.

ferocity

you connect your HT and TV box via the sound bar. The connectors and ports are all on the bar just so that the TV panel can be made as slim as possible so when you mount it on your wall or furniture, only the main signal/power cable is seen.

But then the bar itself can both function as a smart tv box and soundbar. Connecting an external HT and tv box to it feels kinda "draw snake add legs" isnt it? I would prefer one or the other and i can understand the merits of such design where you have the screen and board separately, but if everything die die have to go through the bar to work, then i think this creates alot of equipment redundancy issues.

i1magic

Please refrain from posting in this thread if you do not have anything to offer besides "MiTV has no warranty in Singapore"

Everyone here already knew this from the start. Else we will not be in this thread

The title of the thread is "Xiaomi Tv 2 help"

Please stop derailing the discussions here. I've already reported this to the moderators and I hope you refrain from replying unless you have something useful to add. Thanks!

Guys can we please go back to topic and just ignore non-xiami posts.

BTW on the MiTV3, youtube 4k content works really nicely :()

edit: Some lovely 4k K-pop examples Bambino! DalShabert Stellar SixBomb

Wah ..... your Mi TV 3 is how much inches?

Is the playback on YouTube smooth?

i1magic

But then the bar itself can both function as a smart tv box and soundbar. Connecting an external HT and tv box to it feels kinda "draw snake add legs" isnt it? I would prefer one or the other and i can understand the merits of such design where you have the screen and board separately, but if everything die die have to go through the bar to work, then i think this creates alot of equipment redundancy issues.

Yes. I know where you are coming from.

AFAIK, Mi TV 3 MUST use with the soundbar. If you want to use your own HT and android TV box, get Mi TV 2.

i1magic

Mitv3 60inch with tv bar included selling at $1499 on qoo10. Store pickup available. Limited time deal. Not sure how reliable this seller is though.

0EClP0g.jpg

Wah lau .... don't poison me leh. I am hoping that my Mi TV 2 55" can last me 10yrs. LOL!

mazzel

Wah lau .... don't poison me leh. I am hoping that my Mi TV 2 55" can last me 10yrs. LOL!

Haha don't worry, if you ever feel like you need an update, just buy a new MiTv soundbard (maybe soundbar 4 or 5 at that time :D).
I don't think that there is a big difference in point of picture quality, as both MiTv2 and MiTv3 use LG (3) and/or Samsung (2) pannels :)

zhuozhi211

audio out without tv on?

Hi Mi TV3 owner can you advise if you can play audio out from the soundbar without switching on the TV?
Say if you have a bluetooth player connected to the Mi TV3, and you just play a disc, does the audio come out without the TV on?

i1magic

Coming in to clear cobwebs. Usually nobody post anything is a good sign that it is running fine.

Upz for sharing.

i1magic

echutah

Yes. The video is laggy. Bo bian one. The last Firmware 1.1.70, was the last firmware that YouTube video could play smoothly on it. I don't know what is the cause.

But if you were to use Kodi to watch YouTube video, the video will be smooth. Strange right?

hmm ic.. yeah i think cos mitv not using android, so maybe got compatibility issue

are you able to watch youtube videos in 4k in Kodi?

i1magic

hmm ic.. yeah i think cos mitv not using android, so maybe got compatibility issue

are you able to watch youtube videos in 4k in Kodi?

I feel that Mi TV's scalar seems quite good. So even for video that is 720p, I find that the quality is not bad. So didn't bother about 4K video playback on Kodi.

ugene

how you watch youtube on mitv3?

Native Youtube (using the apk) will sometimes be laggy because the app tries to use hardware acceleration but the driver support seems broken on current MiTV firmware (1.2.0 and 1.2.11). However this is the only way to access 4k content on Youtube currently

For smooth Youtube you can use the Kodi youtube addon (limited to 1080p). However, make sure you disable hardware acceleration in Kodi if you are not rooted. Also not the addon is not updated by the current author and this is the fix (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IYVJeOFUkOo)
Snapshots
TjWy6Ve.jpg
oqcqX06.jpg

or Use a Chromecast (also limited to 1080p) also very smooth

I alternate between the three methods depending on my mood

Bonus TwitchTV snapshot running on Kodi on the MiTV3:

eiFsLHe.jpg

ugene

Hi Mi TV3 owner can you advise if you can play audio out from the soundbar without switching on the TV?
Say if you have a bluetooth player connected to the Mi TV3, and you just play a disc, does the audio come out without the TV on?

I tested this with a2dp sink mode on
LVldwKs.jpg

Results:

Unable to pair device(phone) with MiTV soundbar if TV is off or TV is in standby mode.

If device is ALREADY paired, I am able to play music to the MiTV Soundbar IF it is in standby mode, but NOT if it is off.

TL:DR You can play music in bluetooth a2dp sink mode if the devices have already been paired and connected, and if the MiTV is not off (either ON or in Standby mode)

mazzel

Seriously? Did they change the soundbar so much?
The MiTv2 Soundbar is also a bluetooth speaker and is always usable, as long as it is connected to the power plug.
But I guess the MiTv3 soundbar is quite different...
I'm using my soundbar as a sound system for my phones, tablets and my laptop also...

ugene

Seriously? Did they change the soundbar so much?
The MiTv2 Soundbar is also a bluetooth speaker and is always usable, as long as it is connected to the power plug.
But I guess the MiTv3 soundbar is quite different...
I'm using my soundbar as a sound system for my phones, tablets and my laptop also...

Yeah in MiTV2, the Soundbar is... for a lack of a better word just a Soundbar.

In MiTV3, the SmartTV processor+ram+flash memory, the dvb-c tuner, the video+audio interfaces are all taken out of the TV and integrated into the Soundbar.

e.g. For the MiTv2 you plug your hdmi/vga etc into your TV whilst MiTv3 users plug inputs into the Soundbar.

Which is also why the MiTV3 panel is significantly slimmer than that of the MiTV2

MiTV2 TV's rear:
MiTV-2-13.jpg

MiTV3 Sound bar:
mitv3-specs-input.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.