Xiaomi Redmi Note 2

JuXn5566

For those who wanted the prime to be launched, i dont see much of the upgrade from normal to prime. It's not like prime got 3gb ram, it's just 0.2Ghz increase in cpu speed and 32gb storage. 16gb internal is more than enough for most ppl as there's microsd expansion too. Can save the money for bigger microsd card.

Sent from Xiaomi MI NOTE LTE using GAGT

whoooo

For those who wanted the prime to be launched, i dont see much of the upgrade from normal to prime. It's not like prime got 3gb ram, it's just 0.2Ghz increase in cpu speed and 32gb storage. 16gb internal is more than enough for most ppl as there's microsd expansion too. Can save the money for bigger microsd card.

Sent from Xiaomi MI NOTE LTE using GAGT

ur usage is like mine , min. but for those who fully utilize their phone 16gb is not enough. I got colleague that uses up all the 32gb on their phone for apps and stuff. so diff pp diff usuage diff req lor

kazuki666

I noticed they just uploaded a 5.11.1 for download. Strange. I thought usually its every Thursday???

01asdf

Lol. Dumping ground again. Throw 16gb at us. Haha Redmi Note 2 Pro, the metal version with fingerprint scanner likely to hit before Christmas in china else they will push to new year. Prime if come to sg most probably $270. Haha tio mark up so high. Even the 16gb so expensive.

I thought even the export sets are also around that price? Am I missing something here?

kazuki666

Lol. Dumping ground again. Throw 16gb at us. Haha Redmi Note 2 Pro, the metal version with fingerprint scanner likely to hit before Christmas in china else they will push to new year. Prime if come to sg most probably $270. Haha tio mark up so high. Even the 16gb so expensive.

I read some comments it may not be fully metal, some parts of the external still plastic. Strange build...

So I have another 1-2months to play with my Prime before jumping boat to Pro. :D

Actually so far I think the Prime at $280 is pretty much no complain le lor. At least for me, it serves me well enough, though the initial stage of the flashing of firmware and gapps were quite painful for a newbie...
32gb which I don't have to worry about installing too many apps and games. The processing speed so far is quite ok for the few games I play. So I say I am a satisfied customer, and probably won't turn my head back to getting from the ever slow and limited selections with the Mi sg le... :p

aogiliu

Anyone using Poland ROM for redmi note2 ?

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 2 using GAGT

halocast

at the price of 229.

really hands down cannot beat on value..

is there any other phones at similiar pricing with better or equivalent specs?

Lamwm

When using 2 sim, one sim will be 4G and the other become connect to 2G. I notice on my redmi note 2 prime, the sim that connect to 2G take much longer time to connect. Sometime it takes as long as 10 min to detect the signal. I wonder whether it is our Singapore 2G network issue or phone issue.

hlw8888

i wonder how much internal storage space is left for installation of apps? 12gb?

clay9477

I thought even the export sets are also around that price? Am I missing something here?

Lol you buy from taobao still cheaper. If you got relative go china just ask them to help you get a prime $220 sgd only. Lol.

clay9477

When using 2 sim, one sim will be 4G and the other become connect to 2G. I notice on my redmi note 2 prime, the sim that connect to 2G take much longer time to connect. Sometime it takes as long as 10 min to detect the signal. I wonder whether it is our Singapore 2G network issue or phone issue.

Not for me. Takes a min only. What rom you using?

clay9477

i wonder how much internal storage space is left for installation of apps? 12gb?

Lol. 16gb actual storage you can use is around 11~10.3gb onwards. With apps getting bigger in size lol 16gb won't last you longer. For 32gb, free space is 26~25.8gb. Don't ask me why the space so weird despite both using the same rom.

clay9477

Btw, there are a few types of configuration one can get. For screen is 3 kinds, Tianma(most freq), AUO, BOE. For ram, 3 kinds, Hynix, Samsung, Elpida. For camera for both front and back only two choices, oflim or sunny. For my prime configuration is tianma, elpida and ofilm.

01asdf

Lol you buy from taobao still cheaper. If you got relative go china just ask them to help you get a prime $220 sgd only. Lol.

Sounds tempting but then there's the hassle of getting it usable in sg? Sounds pretty cheem for a noob user all that fiddling about with the rom install and whatnots ...

How hard is it actually? Coz I happen to be going over next week lol

laironpark

Sounds tempting but then there's the hassle of getting it usable in sg? Sounds pretty cheem for a noob user all that fiddling about with the rom install and whatnots ...

How hard is it actually? Coz I happen to be going over next week lol

If you are going to China, beware of a fake ones that are being sold openly in some shops.

If you are not into rooting or installation of custom rom, then you can use it as any other phone. The only thing is that China set do not come with google play store. You need to download the Google Installer app from the xiaomi market. This app will then give you access to all the google apps including google play store. That is all about it.

BTW, if you are getting the 16GB, get the FDD LTE version for RMB899. 32GB Prime is in FDD LTE version. FDD LTE works with all local telcos in SG.

Edit: One more thing, if you get a china set, warranty only covers in china, not singapore.

clay9477

If you are going to China, beware of a fake ones that are being sold openly in some shops.

If you are not into rooting or installation of custom rom, then you can use it as any other phone. The only thing is that China set do not come with google play store. You need to download the Google Installer app from the xiaomi market. This app will then give you access to all the google apps including google play store. That is all about it.

BTW, if you are getting the 16GB, get the FDD LTE version for RMB899. 32GB Prime only comes in FDD version. FDD LTE works with all local telcos in SG.

Edit: One more thing, if you get a china set, warranty only covers in china, not singapore.

No lah. Prime is also FDD LTE. Lol flash gapps very easy one no issue. Lots of guides on MIUI forums. Lots of users internationally too. Now flash gapps is no longer via installer. Just go opengapps download the file and flash via twrp, safest and easiest.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.