Xiaomi Redmi Note 2

kazuki666

I would say:

* 50% chance it is a fake. China is very good at making fakes.
* 25% chance that it is real, but second-hand. In which case, the battery draining issue is a typical symptom of an old battery.
* 25% chance that it is real and brand new. Then you need to charge it full overnight for several days so that the battery can calibrate itself and give you more accurate readings.
Sibeh sian lor. Before I sleep I will off the data and Wi-Fi, this new battery will turn up around 90% when I wake up next morning. The original battery which swell up I no choice but to stop using, it will remain 100% after I wake up. No change of firmware or new apps, only this battery...
TL thing is Mi Singapore still refuse to reply my request to buy an original battery from them....

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 2 using GAGT

tanchoo1

Sibeh sian lor. Before I sleep I will off the data and Wi-Fi, this new battery will turn up around 90% when I wake up next morning. The original battery which swell up I no choice but to stop using, it will remain 100% after I wake up. No change of firmware or new apps, only this battery...
TL thing is Mi Singapore still refuse to reply my request to buy an original battery from them....

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 2 using GAGT

This has been almost the perfect phone, except that Mi refuse to sell the battery standalone.

I would even say this is misleading advertising because when they marketed the phone, they said it has a removable battery. What's the point of having a removable battery if you cannot buy official spare batteries from the official store?

They kept reminding us to use only official batteries; but kinda ironic if you can't even buy them from the official store, ain't it?

Then they said it's because they don't have the SKU for the standalone battery. What nonsense. Note 2 is one of their best selling phones ever. So why do they not sell the standalone batteries? They had standalone batteries for the Redmi 1/1S/2.

Finally of course they will just ignore you. At which point it's time to give up. Because honestly? They just want your battery to die, where you are then forced to buy another (Mi) phone.

An ugly episode to an otherwise almost-perfect phone.

Mi, you screwed up there.

whoooo

No lah. He has been very helpful in providing f/w updates. Except that 7.5 seems to be china stable and not global stable so wanting to confirm before i flash.

Lol i too sensitive on a blue blue Monday lol, i flash liao no problem

tanchoo1

Interesting. I have not been receiving ota updates. After 7.5 we will be waiting for miui 8.

The OTA updates are pushed in batches. If you're impatient, you can update it manually by downloading the updates yourself.

amazingone

This has been almost the perfect phone, except that Mi refuse to sell the battery standalone.

I would even say this is misleading advertising because when they marketed the phone, they said it has a removable battery. What's the point of having a removable battery if you cannot buy official spare batteries from the official store?

They kept reminding us to use only official batteries; but kinda ironic if you can't even buy them from the official store, ain't it?

Then they said it's because they don't have the SKU for the standalone battery. What nonsense. Note 2 is one of their best selling phones ever. So why do they not sell the standalone batteries? They had standalone batteries for the Redmi 1/1S/2.

Finally of course they will just ignore you. At which point it's time to give up. Because honestly? They just want your battery to die, where you are then forced to buy another (Mi) phone.

An ugly episode to an otherwise almost-perfect phone.

Mi, you screwed up there.
Been there, done that.

Also notice that they are not selling Redmi Note 2 accessories anymore. They are clearing stock by selling them at just $1. So, no way they are going to sell the battery.
Redmi Note 2 is just an interim to the Redmi Note 3, so accessories for the RMN2 will only be available in limited amount as Xiaomi will discontinue the Note 2 with the arrival of Note 3(which they have already did).

Sent from my Rice phone using GAGT

tanchoo1

Redmi Note 2 is just an interim to the Redmi Note 3, so accessories for the RMN2 will only be available in limited amount as Xiaomi will discontinue the Note 2 with the arrival of Note 3(which they have already did).

Yes, unfortunately XM kinda messed up that one.

The Redmi Note 3 was originally supposed to be called the Redmi Note 2 Plus or similar. Because it's really just a minor upgrade, not a major one.

Unfortunately, that of course meant that people thought the Redmi Note 2 is an inferior phone.

It isn't. I acually prefer the Redmi Note 2 over the 3 because (a) it actually allows dual sim PLUS micro-SD at the same time, and (b) metal body, though looking cool, feels cold to the touch.

But of course I understand why many would prefer the 3 over the 2.

kazuki666

Do any of you face the below issues for your Redmi Note 2?

When I plug the phone to a laptop, I can see internal memory and files. But I noticed my memory card is zero. I can go into the folders and see files, but it says available memory is zero, thus cannot copy paste any files in. When I go to the phone setting to check out the storage, the memory card's memory is zero too. But when I use the explore app, I can see and open the files in the memory card. I took the memory card out from the phone and plug into the laptop directly, the situation is the same. Can see files, but available memory is zero. I am very sure there is more than enough memory space, but some how it is not detecting. This is not a new memory card.

What could be wrong, and how can I rectify it???

amazingone

Yes, unfortunately XM kinda messed up that one.

The Redmi Note 3 was originally supposed to be called the Redmi Note 2 Plus or similar. Because it's really just a minor upgrade, not a major one.

Unfortunately, that of course meant that people thought the Redmi Note 2 is an inferior phone.

It isn't. I acually prefer the Redmi Note 2 over the 3 because (a) it actually allows dual sim PLUS micro-SD at the same time, and (b) metal body, though looking cool, feels cold to the touch.

But of course I understand why many would prefer the 3 over the 2.
Yeah, the Redmi Note 3 originally was supposed to be called 'Redmi Note 2 Pro' but in Xiaomi's view, the upgrade to a premium metal body and a fingerprint sensor would be a major upgrade for the Redmi Note series so it will warrant a new digit for it, thus the '3'.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.