Xiaomi's Routers!

gregory_choo

nah dun wanna spent more than $50 since i know i'm gonna get a better router upon recontract next year

importing from lazada and with no rating from the retailer = big no no :D

end of the day this router gonna be backup for me once i recontract :s12:

it is super safe buying from lazada. if something went wrong, just ask for refund, lazada will do it immediately and most likely give you $5 on top of full refund for their 'mistake'.

gravityz3r0

Hi, question to xiaomi USB wifi extender owners. Does it work when your MiHome app on your phone does not have a internet connection?

is there anyway to access the extender's web interface directly to set up manually like any other normal routers?

ahsiong

Mi Router 3G wireless is quite lousy, sold it after trying for a few days, weak even if only one wall between, disappointed by all the hype. This is with the original Mi firmware, after seeing the results, didn't bother with openwrt.

But if you want, checkout https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/network/wan/wwan/ethernetoverusb_rndis

or https://oldwiki.archive.openwrt.org/doc/recipes/ethernetoverusb_rndis

Yes agree that Mi Router 3G is quite weak in penetrating walls cos I had the same model too. hence decided to get the stronger Mi Router Pro to try and finally I got an acceptable signal in the room.

The Mi Router 3G itself has better spec than Mi Router 4. It is good enough if you have a small space with not many walls.

FreshGradDays

I bought a Mi router mini from Passion gadgets and it cant seem to pair with the mi wifi app, cannot get any internet connection as well. Can anyone assist with the setup? M1 fibre user

FreshGradDays

I bought a Mi router mini from Passion gadgets and it cant seem to pair with the mi wifi app, cannot get any internet connection as well. Can anyone assist with the setup? M1 fibre user

Self answered. Need to call M1 to ask them transfer the router permission to the new one. Please call 1627 for M1 fibre technical support

tckrto

Self answered. Need to call M1 to ask them transfer the router permission to the new one. Please call 1627 for M1 fibre technical support

The fibre modem and router no link leh. Once modem connected means u just need to connect router to access internet. If router not working means something to do with settings.

tanchoo1

I've been using the snapshot releases of the Openwrt firmware for Xiaomi Mi Router 3G (mir3g) and I'm very pleased with it. The wireless is more stable compared to 18.06.2.

tanchoo1

Not very big. 4rm hdb only.
I think because of the walls, my current asus 1200 router giving me disconnection and weak signals at far end.

Wondering if buy mesh router to replace the 2 will be the same. :o
You don't actually need a mesh setup. Few people in sg do.

My flat is similar sized to yours. I have two identical mir3g routers running Openwrt. I simply setup the second router to connect to the first one via 5GHz WiFi as a client, and it also acts as an AP for the rest of the house.

Thruput from the second router is between 60 - 90 Mbps. Good enough for anything.

Cost? $100 in total.

htngwilliam

My flat is similar sized to yours. I have two identical mir3g routers running Openwrt. I simply setup the second router to connect to the first one via 5GHz WiFi as a client, and it also acts as an AP for the rest of the house.

Thruput from the second router is between 60 - 90 Mbps. Good enough for anything.

Cost? $100 in total.

There will be 2 SSID?

tanchoo1

There will be 2 SSID?
Up to you how you wish to set it up. That's the beauty of Openwrt: it is extremely flexible.

If the 2nd AP has the same SSID as the first, there will be one SSID.

For me I set the 2nd AP with a different SSID so that I can control which AP each device connects to.

gregory_choo

Up to you how you wish to set it up. That's the beauty of Openwrt: it is extremely flexible.

If the 2nd AP has the same SSID as the first, there will be one SSID.

For me I set the 2nd AP with a different SSID so that I can control which AP each device connects to.

Another option is to get a dual band wifi repeater to work with the original router.

I bought a tplink wifi repeater for less than $50. The TPlink repeater connects to the router on 5GHz band and it repeats as a 2.4GHz AP.

I use different SSID for the repeater because it is easily for me to decide which one to connect to.

tckrto

Mesh starts selling black market from 200bucks sgd onwards

nickmx1896

Cost? $100 in total.

Is this like a repeater? I trying to improve the network in my gf's house (her room at far end of house cannot receive strong enough signal for gaming). Currently got two Singtel routers (the two previous gens) in her house not sure if can utilize them instead of paying for LAN wiring around the house. Any recommendations?

tanchoo1

Is this like a repeater? I trying to improve the network in my gf's house (her room at far end of house cannot receive strong enough signal for gaming). Currently got two Singtel routers (the two previous gens) in her house not sure if can utilize them instead of paying for LAN wiring around the house. Any recommendations?
Yes, my second identical router acts as a repeater. Basically it connects to the original router on the 5GHz WiFi band, and offers both 2.4GHz and 5GHz as an AP.

Most stock firmware on routers will be unable to do this though. That's why I sought out routers that runs Openwrt smoothly.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.