Should i go upstair and confront my neighbour?

Dracky

Get to know your upstairs neighbour first. If you are on friendly terms, everything is negotiable 好说.

If some random stranger come complain to me about noise, I will tell him it is not my problem.

DragonFire

Maybe weights machine. Later u hammer door a buff fellow with muscles of steel answer how?

hachi

But the poom poom sound quite random one. Like not really on specific timing. sometimes 11pm+ sometimes 12pm+. dont know what he doing. Where got people move furniture or diy furniture in the middle of night
No one in the fight mind would do that... Live top upper 3 levels?

cet87

My upstairs neighbour like to shift his flower pot at night, dragging the pot at room balcony.
I went up and slam their door, they opened and looked shocked.
I told them about the noise and since then, he only adjust at evening time.

jas1701

not sure abt new estate, matured estate at times u think is ur upper unit, actual fact could b upper 1 or 2 units away.

spinning_quirK

My neighbour comes home from work 2 am and will without fail deliberately slam his door at least 1 time a week.

My upstairs neighbour like to shift his flower pot at night, dragging the pot at room balcony.
I bang my neighbours' door and they got the cheek to get angry with me say they lose face because people may think the door banging is by loansharks

spinning_quirK

not sure abt new estate, matured estate at times u think is ur upper unit, actual fact could b upper 1 or 2 units away.
New estate is the same. HDB quality never changed, no prioritisation on noise mitigation despite the reality that HDB flats are packed like pigeonholes. The only thing to rely on is quality of neighbour.

kreja

Dont know the siao eh doing what at night. can hear like poom , poom poom sound at night close to a month already. Yesterday 3am+ i heard something metallic thing drop and make me wake up. The sound came directly right above my room ceiling. Annoying sia.

At night don't want sleep at there poom poom poom. don't know poom what bird. Almost every night cannot sleep properly...

I saw below my HDB also got this poster. I think other people also complaining already..
Got the urge want to go upstair and see what the siao eh doing..

Whats-App-Image-2024-02-13-at-9-08-27-PM.jpg
Why use confront? It sounds like you going in for a fight. People will get defensive. Should try to be more friendly and just understand 1st.

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
how u slam their door? it was opened?

oddbasket

Any update on TS's neighbours? All parties still alive and well I hope.

spinning_quirK

Why use confront? It sounds like you going in for a fight. People will get defensive. Should try to be more friendly and just understand 1st.
Agreed. Not all neighbours are high quality. Some, if you confront, they realise and will be profusely apologetic. Lower quality ones will talk back and challenge you. Will call police say you're harassing them at their front door. Will resume the noises when you return to your flat. I'm using real life example from Woodlands.

Best is to start nicely. Mention elderly, baby, draw out sympathy (even if you're DINK). Works better for more people, regardless of quality level.

(Actually don't mention elderly because elderly usually can't hear anything :o)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.