[GE2025] Punggol GRC

matrix05

just like hsk when he was last minute thrown to east coast…
wonder if gan got chance to last till next election to retire or not…

EC fell for DPM + PM- designate. GKY (66yo) has shorter runway, max 1 term (72yo), zero chance returning as SM or what not.

algerr

if the resident dun take this chance. next round they will likely be spilted out again. nobody always comes over and give u a choice.

Correct. It's not going to be like Bukit Batok SMC whereby it still stays around for 2 elections before absorbed into GRC

Next election, they may likely do another precise cut(GaryM) based on the results to benefit the incumbent which is what's happening to MP-BH currently after Oppo failed their bid during past 2 attempts.

At least, if Oppo wins this time, it will be harder for EBRC to do precise cut.

If u look at the contesting map with WP, the areas are quite close to each other which means...

xdivider

Good.... thatz doing homework.

If she is put up by PAP in my GRC I still won't vote for her. I will actually rate her lower than sewerage rats.....
thats why she suan sxl gky is the stranger.........

Philipkee

because he knows deep down..

it is a big battle ground..

just liked 2011...how PAP lost Aljunied...

but of this time round the stake is higher.....since GKY is DPM! :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
Should have put LHL. Ultimate of ultimate stake

If he wins, WP is defeated
If he loses, he becomes undisputed PM with no SM looking over him

carlongerdidu93

491893677_18501642676031918_5238786496667397126_n.jpg

491893786_18501642688031918_5042978364782231146_n.jpg

491895101_18501642706031918_6200476524107270471_n.jpg

491893080_18501642724031918_4447103409096718853_n.jpg

491895683_18501642781031918_2164133549937310576_n.jpg

491894167_18501642826031918_7299907859246554185_n.jpg

491894101_18501642853031918_6448889287670184832_n.jpg

491894476_18501642808031918_3181590731258791320_n.jpg

491893410_18501642799031918_4026632416433047410_n.jpg

Edwin Koo's FB Post:

The third WP rally was held at Yusof Ishak Secondary School field at Punggol GRC, an open field surrounded by new HDB flats. Having highrise flats around a rally site usually makes capturing an aerial view of the turnout easier. However, the newer BTO HDB flats are designed with very limited common corridor spaces. There were not many openings which overlook the spaces outside. It would not have been possible to get an aerial shot unless a kind and gracious resident opens up his or her doors to give me a vantage point. But then, something magical happened.

As I got lost in the maze of corridors looking for an opening to shoot the crowd below, I decided to thicken my skin and ask a resident for access.

So a special shoutout to Jason of Punggol Block 314B for being that kind soul to open his doors for me to capture the first photograph of this series. In the midst of busy family life (dinner, tidying the house, getting kid to shower), he and his wife showed me to the different rooms with different windows overlooking the WP rally. They even gave me a can of ice-cold 7-Up before I left. Such graciousness is something that money cannot buy. And such graciousness is what makes me proud to call Singapore my country, my home. Thank you, Jason and family.

#ge2025 #stepup #singapore #mothershipsg

krikering

Don't understand at all why ppl say they like or respect him etc. all I remember is how he gives useless replies or just look at LW when difficult questions was raised on live TV during COVID.
Actually I don't like this method of giving PAP MPs DPM titles so that they can influence voters in a GE, DPM Salary over 5 years cost how much of taxpayers' money. Somemore, GKY past few years practically MIA and ORD Mode liao. He already expressed his intention of wanting to retire, and not wanting to be DPM.

Anyway, I think the cabinet/government requires trimming and cutting down on expenditure funded from taxpayers' money.

I think we average around 3 - 5 ministers per ministry right?

40% of parliament MPs are ministers or similar positions e.g MOS/Mayors, etc.

Sun Xueling is at MHA (4 ministers), and MSF (3 ministers, 1 SPS).
Janil P is at MDDI (4 ministers) and MOH (4 ministers).
GKY is DPM (1 other DPM), and at MTI (5 ministers).

Maybe they should reform it and then either 1 minister, drawing 1 salary, running 1 ministry. OR, hire as many person as you want and call them all ministers but they all split that same 1 salary per ministry.

No point of the 2011 white paper (with all the ministerials salaries' review by Gerald Ee, etc.) If they can just keep inflating headcount and add onto the expenditure.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-was-due-in-2023-deferred-says-chan-chun-sing

The one in 2023 got deferred.

Anyway the rank-and-files working at Civil Service earn so little and OT alot due to the red-tape/bureaucracy, etc. while the top management get paid so much.

No wonder you see so many people working in the civil service quitting.

Hear that even in the SAF a lot of regulars are quitting in past 5 years due to lack of pay increases.

Then the remaining work get shared amongst those remaining which again lead to more regulars quitting.
The lack of NS-eligible males due to our dwindling population pays a big part too.

This vicious cycle continues, whilst those generals continue to draw high salaries while waiting for the chances to parachute as a PAP MP or inside a GLC.

NTB2DO

Nothing that's why I feel punggol voters don't have much to be angry about.
I believe (or hope that) when we vote for opposition parties, we vote to effect real checks and balances on the ruling party (don't just let ruling party ownself check ownself).

Though it's true that many had voted against PAP because they were angry with PAP.

sg-united

so u expect bloomers to be around in another 40 years? like elon musk says one. many amdk still collect social welfare in the usa at 400 years old? :ROFLMAO:
It will take time. There are around 1.07m people who are age above 60. These are eligible voters.

40 years means 8 GEs to be held.

40 years later is also around the time whereby many HDB will go into zero values.

jericho75

It will take time. There are around 1.07m people who are age above 60. These are eligible voters.

40 years means 8 GEs to be held.

40 years later is also around the time whereby many HDB will go into zero values.

once bloomers gone likely another 2 erections only. better ask grassloots give ginseng to bloomers so they will be around for a long time

Spirax

Many new citizens, PR, FT, Malaysian in punggol

I think he also got shocked why so few pure sinkies

Carnage

I believe (or hope that) when we vote for opposition parties, we vote to effect real checks and balances on the ruling party (don't just let ruling party ownself check ownself).

Though it's true that many had voted against PAP because they were angry with PAP.

Don't underestimate the power of anger. The reason why Trump won is because there was an outpouring of negativity towards the Democrats.

waiken

i have always said this... the moment they took Tharman out to be a symbolic President, they have lost all rights to say or hint that any of them is indispensable. hello? who is GKY compared to Tharman? hello?

if GKY goes and sg really suffers it is just bad contingency planning on PAP's part.
still sinkies fault 🙄

ShinnAsuka

Actually Sun Xueling's quote of "We do not need strangers to come to Punggol" really did GKY a discredit.. it is so obvious that GKY come to Punggol last min.. yet she made such a remark.. I know she wanted to target WP but it will also backfire against GKY.. seems like she is not politically astute.. unless she indirectly buay song GKY come Punggol to snatch credit.. then it makes sense..
Maybe because they not good friends?

joke aside, it seems that miw are not really united, seem to do things on their own?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.