At 31, moving out of my family home saved my mental health

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

mummynew

He moved out because he didn't have a good relationship with his family, and his parent's home was way too small for four adults. If he had rented an apartment with roommates, he might very well have faced similar tensions regarding chores and cleanliness, but he wouldn't be asked where he was going late at night and what time he would be back.

Anyway, living with parents is common in places where there's a housing crisis, like SG (which is just one crowded city) and increasingly quite a few European countries.

this kind of crammed situation is best to shift out once can afford else sooner or later violence will like 100% arise.

coyote

At >35 (some probably even >40), the person mental health is not saved because every BTO balloting failed as HDB did not build enough for all the singles demand...

Even more stressed as housing get more and more expensive each year...

You were encouraged to get married and apply for BTO as young as possible. You did not get married is not government's fault right? If you cannot afford to buy, you could still rent a house or even a room also.

BradenHeat

Yeah... let's hope in future the reverse won't happen with u crawling to ur kid asking for shelter or help...

Not saying u r wrong but great u taught ur kid a lesson if indeed he was in the wrong to begin with...

All the while singles from 35 can ballot for bto... they are considering lowering the age now... probably cuz of the backlash about not enough flats for the demands and the waiting time is so long for the flats to be built by then the single already 45 or perished due to existing conditions...?

Single parent family?
suat la... looking at how he post, he still thinks he is relevant by being [ alpha ] .
Folks who BTO earlier as couples, also divorced earlier.

the numbers dont lie and neither is the number of reported problems, be it local or foreigners...

its just sad that GDP above all else, and everything aside, produced midwits like them to just comment, in one shot ......

BradenHeat

For my chewren, next time if they contribute money ish OK lar.

But limpeh will not tahan if:

1. Don't wash own clothes and underwear, only throw in laundry basket and expect them magically washed, dried, iron.

2. Pangsai toilet stain dont clear

3. Brush teeth make whole sink wet

4. Eat already don't clear and wash up the dishes

5. Body foam shampoo use finish already never bother to buy, expect magically top up.

6. Shoes never put properly and anyhow throw at the door

7. Whole day use the aircon and don't even bother to offer help with electrical bill.

How to tahan as parents?
this is fair point, at least , being self sufficient to certain point.

however, alot of the boomers, got kids = must treat me as god and continue to burn unwanted resources be it mentally or physically [ money and stuff ].

oh well

Linguist

You were encouraged to get married and apply for BTO as young as possible. You did not get married is not government's fault right? If you cannot afford to buy, you could still rent a house or even a room also.
High cost of living not govt fault? High public housing not govt fault? High transport fee not govt fault? High breakdown freq of train not govt fault? High environmental pollution and increase in pests not govt fault? Massive crowd due high population not govt fault?

r2K8VVw.png

suat la... looking at how he post, he still thinks he is relevant by being [ alpha ] .

the numbers dont lie and neither is the number of reported problems, be it local or foreigners...

its just sad that GDP above all else, and everything aside, produced midwits like them to just comment, in one shot ......
Alpha to the kids... beta to the wife...?

65% fault... nothing can be done... kym?

Lance321

He can. It's fine. I got 4 kids. But I raised them to be wise and reasonable. So I know they won't. Because they know I did it for their good. I don't let such unnecessary fears keep me from doing what's right, for them.
I hope you didn't teach them to be 1-dimensional, pretentious and presumptuous people.

MoeLanYong

It's not - and never - about me being alpha. It is about teaching a child.

養不教,父之過
教不严,师之惰

You never heard of 三字经?

Lifeinmotion

"Leave no one behind"

"“We, the citizens of Singapore, pledge ourselves as one united people,
regardless of race, language or religion,
to build a democratic society based on justice and equality so as to achieve happiness, prosperity and progress for our nation.”

“Early in 1963, I thought the best way to give everyone, including our harbour workers, a stake was to give them a good home.” 

“We will offer those who work hard houses that they can pay for by instalment. When they retire they can own the houses.”

"4% will be held back, and 40% can be used for HDB home purchase. No Singaporean will lose out on his HDB home because he was born later or got married later."

coyote

High cost of living not govt fault? High public housing not govt fault? High transport fee not govt fault? High breakdown freq of train not govt fault? High environmental pollution and increase in pests not govt fault? Massive crowd due high population not govt fault?

r2K8VVw.png

Alpha to the kids... beta to the wife...?

65% fault... nothing can be done... kym?

High cost of living not govt fault? Gov can only mitigate. Can you ask Donald Trump not wage tariff war agaisnt the whole world, Singapore included?
High public housing not govt fault? A moderately increasing property prices ensure your asset is growing. You didn't buy 10, 20 years ago isn't government fault. Singapore's public housing is affordable with respect to Singaporean's high salaries.
High transport fee not govt fault? Public transport fee is moderate. Don't think you can say high.
High breakdown freq of train not govt fault? Yes! This is absolutely the Gov responsibility and they must fix it.
High environmental pollution and increase in pests not govt fault? Since when do we have high pollution and pest issue?
Massive crowd due high population not govt fault? This is typical of advanced economy like ours, do you expect New York, Tokyo to have low population? Please be reasonable.

Linguist

"Leave no one behind"

"“We, the citizens of Singapore, pledge ourselves as one united people,
regardless of race, language or religion,
to build a democratic society based on justice and equality so as to achieve happiness, prosperity and progress for our nation.”

“Early in 1963, I thought the best way to give everyone, including our harbour workers, a stake was to give them a good home.” 

“We will offer those who work hard houses that they can pay for by instalment. When they retire they can own the houses.”

"4% will be held back, and 40% can be used for HDB home purchase. No Singaporean will lose out on his HDB home because he was born later or got married later."
High cost of living not govt fault? Gov can only mitigate. Can you ask Donald Trump not wage tariff war agaisnt the whole world, Singapore included?
High public housing not govt fault? A moderately increasing property prices ensure your asset is growing. You didn't buy 10, 20 years ago isn't government fault.
High transport fee not govt fault? Public transport fee is moderate. Don't think you can say high.
High breakdown freq of train not govt fault? Yes! This is absolutely the Gov is responsible and they must improve.
High environmental pollution and increase in pests not govt fault? Since when do we have high pollution and pest issue?
Massive crowd due high population not govt fault? This is typical of advanced economy like ours, do you expect New York, Tokyo to have low population?
Work till u die/perish due existing condition... kym?

A lot of issues probably happened decade ago...eg public housing price and the start of so called "cooling measure"... and u saying all because of "current affairs" and nothing to do with their approach, solutioning and etc despite decade or years had passed... hail yeah...

titusilvering

At >35 (some probably even >40), the person mental health is not saved because every BTO balloting failed as HDB did not build enough for all the singles demand...

Even more stressed as housing get more and more expensive each year...

Wait till he no money no place to go see how he do

Lifeinmotion

“If we continue with the old rate of increase, by the year 2000, we will have over four million people, and overcrowding in our housing estates will return. We cannot allow that.”

Linguist

Be more positive about humanity bah.

I have many good friends and their parents sort of see me from small time and taking me like one of their own. Even till now, I still visit those who are still alive.

*my own house I welcome friends of my kids (during their teenage years) to stay over if they got serious conflicts at home and no place to run. My house used to be a 避难所 for troubled kids. Now these kids all big oredi and will visit me during CNY.
Wait till he no money no place to go see how he do
Have trust in humanity and find MP for a room to stay?

Some of them have many many rooms in their house...

coyote

Work till u die/perish due existing condition... kym?

A lot of issues probably happened decade ago... and all because of current affairs and nothing back then... hail yeah...

I was about to say, Singapore have very low poverty population percentage but which capitalist country can say they have no poor people? Work till you die/perish? Who?

Guess, I should just add you to the ignore list. I mean to hard to discuss on such level...

Linguist

I was about to say, Singapore have very low poverty population percentage but which capitalist country can say they have no poor people? Work till you die/perish? Who?

Guess, I should just add you to the ignore list. I mean to hard to discuss on such level...
Keep increase population to 6.11 million liao of course low poverty population percentage?

Do u have the figure of poverty/rich just on Sinkie population though?

I don't mind if u don't have the empathy for those who are suffering... u having the time of ur life and that's well for u and hope u are able to maintain that... always... else... orbigoot to u?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.